LibGuides: Asian Studies: Getting Started

Key Databases:

JSTOR

JSTOR collects high-quality scholarly journals and ebooks.

Select "Advanced Search" from the main menu.
Scroll down until you see a list of disciplines.
Select "Asian Studies."
You will be conducting a keywords search. View your options available from the pull-down menu: All fields, Author, Item title, and Abstract. Tip: Select "Abstract" unless you are specifically looking for the articles written by a particular author (Use Author option) or a specific article title (Use Item Title option). JSTOR is a full-text database, and you want to limit your search to the abstract field to manage the size of your search results making easier to browse them. You can combine keywords with an AND operator. Be aware that not all JSTOR contents index Abstract. If you are not getting good results, you can switch to All Fields search. The following is optional:
1. Select article.
2. Specify language.
3. Specify the range of publication dates.
4. Select the journal or book if you want to narrow by publication type.

Database Guide

Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts is an index to the world's scholarly literature in history. It covers the history of the world, including all countries, except Canada and the United States, for the period 1450 to the present. Works on Canadian and U.S. history are indexed in the ABC-CLIO database, "America: History and Life" The database indexes articles, book reviews and dissertations.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
ARTstore
The ARTstor Digital Library provides more than 1 million images with tools for teaching and research. Collections are comprised of contributions from outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, artists and artists' estates from all over the world. Collections encompass a wide variety of subject areas, including art, architecture, music, religion, anthropology, literature, world history, American Studies, Asian, Classical, Medieval and Renaissance Studies.
International Bibliography of Art
The International Bibliography of Art (IBA) is the definitive resource for scholarly literature on western art. IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA), and includes the most recent index records that were created by the Getty Research Institute as part of BHA. These records were created in 2008-2009, and cover scholarship up to 2009, including retrospective records for material published in previous years.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.

Featured Resources

China: Trade, Politics & Culture 1793-1980 This link opens in a new window
China: Trade, Politics & Culture provides access to manuscript material relating to the activities and observations of British and American diplomats, missionaries, business people and tourists in China from 1793 to 1980, together with rare periodicals, colour paintings, maps, photographs and drawings. All of the printed materials (including the typescript records of Chinese Maritime Customs officials) have been double-keyed and are full-text searchable.

National Population Census of China Database (2010)
This database makes available population data for all China, 31 provinces and centrally administered municipalities, and 2,872 county-level units. Fulltexts of published volumes and spreadsheets of numeric data can be downloaded.
China Data Online
This database provides comprehensive and updated information on China's economic development at national, provincial, city, county, and industrial levels, which include the following databases: (1) Monthly Statistics - provides the monthly macroeconomic statistics at national, provincial and city levels from 1998 to current; (2) National Statistics - provides statistical data of China from 1949 to current; (3) Provincial Statistics -provides the statistical data of all provinces from 1949 to current; (4) City Statistics - provides yearly statistics of prefecture and county level cities from 1996; (5) County Statistics - provides the yearly county statistics from 1997; (6) Industrial Statistics - provides monthly and yearly statistics by industries from 1999.
The Complete Classics Collection of Ancient China (Click "Go" for IP Address Access Option)
The Complete Classics was edited by Chen Meng-lei, a renowned scholar of the Qing Dynasty. The present digital edition includes the most seminal classics of Chinese literature and culture, from ancient China through the Qing Cynasty.
The Complete Classics in CD-ROM is also available in Multimedia Collection, 2nd Floor Mezzanine, Elizabeth Dafoe Library: AE 17 G8 2003 CD-ROM v.1-5
The Libraries acknowledges the support of Mar Foundation.

Contact Information

Emma Popowich

Email Me

Contact:

204-914-9379
Emma.Popowich@umanitoba.ca

Subjects: Asian Studies, English, French, Spanish & Italian, Philosophy