Skip to main content

Ninth International Indigenous Librarians' Forum 2015: Home

Home

International Indigenous Librarians' Forum History

Ninth International Indigenous Librarians' Forum 2015

Contact Information

Profile Image

Camille Callison
Contact Info:
204.480.1054
Links:

Profile & Guides


Gaitree Boyd 

 

 204-474-9183


1-800-432-1960 ext. 9183-- toll-free in Manitoba
 
1-888-216-7011 ext. 9183-- toll-free in Canada
 
 204- 293-6256 Mobile (text preferred)
 

9th International Indigenous Librarian's Forum (IILF)

 

Facebook Twitter

IILF 2015 - Crane - Top Sponsor

 

 

 

Eagle

 

 

Bear

 

Deer

Martin/Wolf

Fish/Turtle


 

Welcome

Ninth International Indigenous Librarians' Forum 2015

Welcome from the Covenor and Forum Chair

It is my honour to extend a warm welcome to all Indigenous library and information professionals to gather at the campus of University of Manitoba from 4 - 7 August 201 for the Ninth International Indigenous Librarians' Forum.

Calling Indigenous Knowledge Keepers & Allies to Share and Celebrate Indigenous Knowledge, Memory & Culture and Indigenizing Practice.

Vision of the International Indigenous Librarians’ Forum

We, as unified Indigenous peoples who work with libraries and information, will ensure the appropriate care, development and management of the Indigenous knowledge of generations past, present and future. Created at the 1999 Forum in Aotearoa, New Zealand

Purpose

The International Indigenous Librarians' Forum is held every two years for the purpose of providing a "focused exploration of the significant issues facing libraries and institutions that care for Indigenous and cultural information" (International Indigenous Librarians' Forum Proceedings, Te Rōpū Whakahau, 2001). It allows a meeting place for Indigenous librarians and information management workers to discuss, debate and describe their experience of working within the industry and their visions, hopes and expectations for the future.

An exciting programme has been planned with exciting speakers, panels, and opportunities for participants to give input into the discussions that will determine our future.

We look forward to welcoming the delegates to Winnipeg and to the University of Manitoba campus in August!

Convenor and Forum Chair: Camille Callison, Tahltan First Nation

Camille.Callison@umanitoba.ca for more information.

Welcome to the 9th International Indigenous Librarians' Forum

Convenor and Forum Chair: Camille Callison, Tahltan First Nation

Mauri Stone

9th Inernational Indigenous Librarians' Forum

Mauri Stone

The Mauri Stone

"The mauri stone, created especially for IILF, was carved by Bernard Makoare and formally blessed by the Taranaki elder, the late Te Ru Koriri Wharehoka. The stone is imbued with the mauri, or life principle, of the Forum and holds the essence of discussions. It will continue to spiritually bind indigenous peoples who attend each Forum. As such the mauri stone carries indigenous aspirations for a positive future. The mauri stone is presented to the hosting nation to hold in safekeeping, giving continuity to the aims and aspirations of the Forum." Excerpt taken from the document "International Indigenous Librarians' Forum 1999 - 2009 Background & Outcomes from Past Fora" Compiled by Wendy Sinclair-Sparvier and Hinureina Mangan, November 2008

Each host adds something to the Mauri Stone that represents the Host Indigenous people.

IILF Mauri Stone at IILF 2013 in Lummi Washington                                                                                                             Photo Credit Camille Callison

IILF Mauri Stone at IILF 2013 in Lummi Washington                                                                                                             Photo Credit Camille Callison

Contact Information

Profile Image

Camille Callison

Contact Info:
204.480.1054
Links:
 
 
 204-474-9183

1-800-432-1960 ext. 9183-- toll-free in Manitoba
 
1-888-216-7011 ext. 9183-- toll-free in Canada
 
 204- 293-6256 Mobile (text preferred)

Program

IILF 2015 Program

International Indigenous Librarians' Forum History

9th International Indigenous Librarians' Forum

List of Forums & Themes

List of International Indigenous Librarians’ Forums


1st International Indigenous Librarians' Forum November 1999 in Waipapa Marae, University of Auckland, Aotearoa Theme: "Toi te kupu, toi te mana, toi te whenua: Affirming the knowledge and values of indigenous peoples in the age of information"

2nd International Indigenous Librarians' Forum September 2001 in Jokkmokk, Sweden Theme: "Continuing to affirm the knowledge and values of indigenous peoples in the age of information"


 3rd International Indigenous Librarians' Forum November 2003 in Santa Fe, New Mexico, U.S.A Theme: "Closer to the fire: Ensuring culturally responsive library practices"


4th International Indigenous Librarians' Forum September 2005 in Regina, Saskatchewan Theme: "Keepers of knowledge"


 5th International Indigenous Librarians' Forum June 2007 in Brisbane, Australia Theme: "Culture, knowledge, future"


 6th International Indigenous Librarians' Forum
 Feburary 2009 in Ōtaki, Aotearoa
Theme: "Māku Anō e Hanga Tōku Nei Whare: Determining Our Future"


7th International Indigenous Librarians' Forum
April 2011 in Karasjok, Norway
Theme: “Indigenous Wisdom and Communication”


8th International Indigenous Librarians' Forum
May 2013 in Lumni, Washington, U.S.A.
Theme: “Honoring our Past: Nurturing our Futures”


 9th International Indigenous Librarians' Forum
August 2015 at Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada


Theme: “Anikoo Gaagige Ganawendaasowin”
As Keepers of Knowledge that came from the Creator and that we are tied to our mothers through the umbilical cord, it is the responsibility of each child to pass down this knowledge from one generation to the next generation. In Anishnabe the words; aniko means to “extend,” gaagige means “eternal,” and gaanawendaasowin means “keeper.”

IILF Past Forums

International Indigenous Librarians' Forum 1999 - 2009 Background & Outcomes from Past Fora
compiled by Wendy Sinclair-Sparvier and Hinureina Mangan, November 2008; IILF 2013 Outcome added by Camille Callison, August 2015
Introduction


The International Indigenous Librarians' Forum (IILF) was formed to address ways to foster and preserve language, traditions, culture and the values of indigenous peoples from all over the world. The Forum creates an opportunity to network and exchange ideas of best practices within libraries, museums, archives and educational institutions. The results will be the improvement of indigenous information, collection management and services to indigenous clients. The Forum provides a global network for sharing information and ideas.


The Mauri Stone
The mauri stone, created especially for IILF, was carved by Bernard Makoare and formally blessed by the Taranaki elder, the late Te Ru Koriri Wharehoka. The stone is imbued with the mauri, or life principle, of the Forum and holds the essence of discussions. It will continue to spiritually bind indigenous peoples who attend each Forum. As such the mauri stone carries indigenous aspirations for a positive future. The mauri stone is presented to the hosting nation to hold in safekeeping, giving continuity to the aims and aspirations of the Forum.
Hosting Nations, Forum Themes, Outcomes
1999 Aotearoa, New Zealand Affirming the Knowledge & Values of Indigenous Peoples in the Age of Information Created the vision: "We, as unified indigenous peoples who work with libraries and information, will ensure the appropriate care, development and management of the indigenous knowledge of generations past, present and future" (Te Rōpū Whakahau, 2001, p. 94).


 2001 Sweden Continuing to Affirm the Knowledge & Values of Indigenous Peoples in the Age of Information Created statements:


1. The indigenous librarians of this forum recognise the importance of language in relation to cultural identity and will inspire progress within our professions, whilst advocating for self-determination and control of indigenous knowledge.


2. This forum proposes that international guidelines and protocols be developed to guide libraries, archives and other information providers to assure that culturally responsive practices for indigenous people are implemented in their environment, services, programme, collections and staffing.


3. We as indigenous librarians seek to form alliances with other international indigenous bodies committed to nurturing indigenous youth.


4. We as indigenous librarians affirm our commitment to utilise our collective skills, values and expertise in both cultural and professional spheres to   strengthen indigenous youth.


5. As indigenous librarians, we state that the use of intellectual and cultural property in any medium, especially in light of the global instantaneous impact of the electronic environment, without the approval of all appropriate indigenous authorities is unacceptable.


    (International Indigenous Librarians' Forum 2001, 2002, p. 15) 2003 United States of America
    Closer to the Fire, Ensuring Culturally Appropriate Library Practices

    Created the manifesto:


     DRAFT MANIFESTO
1. International indigenous librarians believe all library information providers are a force for cultural and intellectual survival of indigenous people and   that  there exists a need for policies, procedures and practices within libraries, museums, archives and educational institutions that acknowledge  the  value of indigenous culture. Further, that these institutions should adopt culturally responsive guidelines to assure appropriate information services are provided.

2. International indigenous librarians support partnerships with library and information agencies in order to assure global initiatives are undertaken with emphasize the value of adopting culturally responsive guidelines for use by all library information providers. To implement these guidelines librarians and information providers must:


1. mobilize and bring together those who can translate guidelines into action


2. convince library information providers of the need for these guidelines


3. assure that culturally responsive guidelines become policy and standard practice


4. Issues faced by indigenous people are much broader than matters of policies, practices, and guidelines, however. Initiatives to exert control
   over their intellectual and cultural property, to retain language, to preserve cultural practices are equally important goals shared in common.


 Therefore, the need to understand these issues in relationship to library information services, the following set of principles apply:


1. traditional knowledge is the intellectual property of indigenous peoples

2. protection of their cultural heritage is the right of indigenous peoples

3. the primary rights of the owners of a culture must be recognized by library information providers, which should adopt strategies proposed in  Aboriginal  and Torres Straits Islander Protocols for Libraries, Archives and Information Services.


4. International cooperation is essential for finding solutions faced by indigenous people. The International Indigenous Librarians' Forum should be      established as a permanent Forum creating a global network for sharing information, ideas and practices. (Ongley, 2005, p. 10). Attachments to the manifesto include: Culturally Responsive Guidelines for Alaska Public Libraries; Aboriginal and Torres Straits Islander Protocols for Libraries, Archives and Information Services; and the Mataatua Declaration on Cultural and Intellectual Property Rights of Indigenous Peoples.


 2005 Canada The Keepers of Knowledge Created an action plan and rephrased the manifesto: Action Plan: Delegates to the 4th International Indigenous Librarians' Forum will contribute their energies to the following efforts over the next two years.


1. They will develop a Forum planning document to assist planners of future International Indigenous Librarians' Forums.


2. They will develop a strategy for continuing to include indigenous information workers from around the world in Forum gatherings.


3. They will collaborate with International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions' (IFLA) initiatives related to indigenous information services


4. They will take steps to document the history of the International Indigenous Librarians Forum.


5. They will work to review and, if appropriate, revise the initial documents arising from previous Forums, including the Vision, Goals, and Manifesto.


Proposal: Representatives to each conference would bring with them to the next conference books about the indigenous peoples of the country that they represent. These books would be presented to the host country committee at the conference. The host country would choose which library(s) these books would go to in the host country. For example: Representatives from Alaska could bring with them books about their indigenous cultures to donate to the Australian host committee. This would help to enrich the understanding of those cultures in Australia.
Book Acquisition: Conference representatives could acquire books through direct purchase, grants, tribal, corporate or personal donations or donations from the authors.

2007 Australia Culture, Knowledge, Future The Forum objectives:


1. To identify ways to improve library services for indigenous peoples 2. [blank on the website] ?


3. To discuss best practices for library services for diverse indigenous populations


4. To affirm the history, knowledge and values of indigenous populations


5. To promote partnerships to create a global network for sharing information, ideas and practices


6. To promote Aboriginal culture and heritage as an important foundation for promoting and protecting cultural lifestyles and values


7. To incorporate strategies to encourage participation for the Aboriginal community in their libraries


 2009 Aotearoa New Zealand Mākū Anō e Hanga Tōku Nei Whare - Determining our Future Outcomes to be determined by delegates.

  All of the information above was from http://www.trw.org.nz/iilf2009_outcomes.php


 2011 Karasjok, Norway Indigenous Wisdom and Communication
** No Information has been found on this forum – If anyone was there, please inform the organizers so we can update this document


 2013 Lumni, Washington, U.S.A. Honoring our Past: Nurturing our Futures


1. IILF is taking steps to continuing communication, extending its network and documenting its history using appropriately electronic vehicles.


a. Formation of a working group to discuss ideas Camille Callison, Valarie Kingston, Edel Olsen, Stewart Sutherland, Paul Diamond
b. Investigate possibility of joining ilams.org
c. Platform, Archival type page, Streaming live,
d. Communication
e. Timeframe
 f. Main contact from within each country


2. To develop a Forum planning document to assist planners of future International Indigenous Librarians' Forums


3.  Formation of a working group consisting o.f past organizing committee members Jody Gray, Glenn Taitoko/Hinureina Mangan, 
     Alana Garwood- Houng,  Liv Indi, Wendy Sinclair


4.. Remove the statement “those who have become minority peoples in their places of cultural origin” and let Indigenous peoples define themselves.


5. IILF agrees for the 9th IILF to be held at the University of Manitoba, Canada in August 2015.


References


Callison, Camille. Personal Notes from International Indigenous Librarians Forum 2013
International Indigenous Librarians' Forum 2001: Report from a seminar at Ajtte, Swedish Mountain and Sami Museum September 5-8, 2001. (2002). Jokkmokk, Sweden: Ajtee.
Ongley, D. (Ed.). (2005). International Indigenous Librarians' Forum III proceedings 2003. United States of America: American Indian Library Association.
Sullivan, R. (Ed.). (2001). International Indigenous Librarians' Forum proceedings. Auckland, New Zealand: Te Rōpū Whakahau.

IILF History

Cultural Protocols

9th International Indigenous Librarians' Forum

Cultural Protocols

 

ABORIGINAL STUDENT CENTRE

PAMPHLETS & LINKS OF INTEREST

Below are pamphlets and links of interest that may be of use to you.  Should you wish to add a link, pamphlet, or other information please contact us at asc@umanitoba.ca

PAMPHLETS

Aboriginal Student Centre

 

Aboriginal:

The University of Manitoba's Office of University Accessibility receives many requests, on a regular basis, for information on Aboriginal peoples' culture and traditional practices.  A series of 28 brief pamphlets have been created to help answer some of the most frequently ask questions. These pamphlets are in an Accessible PDF format

  1. Culture & Elders
  2. Code of Ethics
  3. First Nations People of Canada
  4. Circles, Eagles & Wheels
  5. The Métis: An Introduction
  6. The Métis: Early Origins
  7. The Métis: Birth of the Nation-1780-1821
  8. The Métis: Political Maturity and Dispossession
  9. The Métis: Losing the Land
  10. The Métis Removal, Resistance, Dispersal
  11. The Métis: The Forgotten Years 1885-1960
  12. Teaching from an Aboriginal Perspective: Theme 1
  13. Teaching From an Aboriginal Perspective: Theme 2
  14. Teaching From an Aboriginal Perspective: Theme 3
  15. Teaching From an Aboriginal Perspective: Theme 4
  16. Teaching From an Aboriginal Perspective: Theme 5
  17. Education and Aboriginal Peoples'
  18. Glossary of Terms - A to C
  19. Gossary of Terms - D to I
  20. Glossay of Terms - L to N
  21. Glossary of Terms - O to Z
  22. Smudging and Pipe Ceremonies
  23. Elder Protocols
  24. Place Names
  25. Foods and Herbs
  26. Health and Medicines
  27. Science and Technology
  28. Myths and Facts

 

Racism:

  1. Racism...Part 1
    Know The Facts About Aboriginal Peoples
  2. Racism...Part 2
    The Metis

 

LINKS OF INTEREST

 

Registration

Registration

To register please click on the logo or go to https://registration.plannersplus.ca/iilf/registration.aspx

Please contact Camille.Callison@umanitoba.ca if you would like us to email you a formal letter of invitation to this event.

Campus information

Campus Information

 

 

 

 

Getting Around Food Services

The Ninth International Indigenous Librarians' Forum will take place on the Fort Garry campus of the University of Manitoba.

University of Manitoba Fort Garry Campus Map and Tour

Map of the Libraries on the Fort Garry Campus of the University of Manitoba

All sessions will be taking place in the Elizabeth Dafoe Library.

If you are driving, check the first map above to locate the parkade. Visitor Casual Parking is available on campus.

There is a Starbucks at University Centre in the bookstore.

Breakfast/Lunch/Dinner:

If you prefer to have lunch elsewhere on campus please see other locations for on-campus dining.

 

Computer Access

Conference Housing at the University of Manitoba

The University of Manitoba is part of the Eduroam network.

Please inquire at the Registration Desk

Conferences & Short Term Stays

Conference Housing at the University of Manitoba

Presentations

Conference

Power Point Presentations and Proceedings 2015

These will be added after the International Indigenous Librarians' Forum August 4th to 7th 2015

Contacts

Contacts

Camille Callison

camille.callison@umanitoba.ca

   204.480.1054

 

Sponsors

Ninth International Indigenous Librarians Forum 2015

                                                   

Crane Top Sponsors

 

 

 

Eagle

 

 

Bear

 

Fish/Turtle


 

Deer

Deer

 

 

Accommodations

Accommodation

Accommodation Options:

You must book your accommodations directly with the sites below. 

University Campus

•   Arthur V. Mauro Hall - The building is described as suite style rooms; these rooms have two bedroom (one double bed in each room) with one shared washroom and kitchenette. Rooms are fully air conditioned, have a fridge and microwave.  Each building has a common area such as a lounge, equipped with a TV Cost is $81.59 per person/night/ (tax incl.) $69.00 before taxes.  For more information: http://umanitoba.ca/campus/housing/guests/conference.html

Here is the Portal URL address for registration.  

http://starrez-app.cc.umanitoba.ca/StarRezPortalConference  

•  Pembina Hall, University of Manitoba is a single room with a single bed, private washroom, and air conditioning. Cost is $81.59 per person/night/ (tax incl.) $69 before taxes. Each building has a common area such as a lounge, equipped with a TV.

For more information: http://umanitoba.ca/campus/housing/guests/conference.html

Here is the Portal URL address for registration. 

http://starrez-app.cc.umanitoba.ca/StarRezPortalConference  

       

Local Hotels located within 5 minutes of the University of Manitoba Campus

  • Best Western Plus Pembina Inn and Suites – 1714 Pembina – (204) 269-8888 or 1-877-269-8811 - $ 114.30 - $ 123.30 + taxes/night (includes full breakfast)
  • Refrigerator, computer jacks, coffee maker, iron and ironing board in every room
  • Complimentary Full Hot Breakfast 6am to 10am Eggs, Hash browns, Sausages, make your own Waffles
  • Fitness Center
  • Indoor Pool with Waterslide
  • Hot Tub
  • Handicap Facilities
  • Meeting Room
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking

Online booking URL: http://book.bestwestern.com/bestwestern/groupSearch.do?groupId=T87TA4T7

For more information  http://www.bestwesternpembina.com/

  • Canad Inns Fort Garry – 1824 Pembina – (204) 261-7450 or 1-888-332-2623 - $ 102.00 to $ 112.00 + taxes/night
  • Refrigerator, computer jacks, coffee maker, iron and ironing board in every room
  • exclusive use of the Nautilus exercise facility and Splasher’s Indoor Pool & Waterslide
  • Aaltos is a unique dining experience that offers traditional comfort food served up family style with all the trimmings
  • Tavern United “ New World” sports pub
  • Complimentary Airport Shuttle service

Please call 1-888-332-2623 or email sales@canadinns.com and mention the 9th International Indigenous Librarians Forum or IILF to book.

For more information www.canadinns.com

  • Four Points Sheraton 2935 Pembina Hwy (204) 275-7711 or (866) 716-8133 $125.00
  • Complimentary Wireless and High Speed Internet in all guestrooms and common areas
  • Complimentary 24 hour business center
  • Complimentary outdoor parking
  • Complimentary bottle of water in guestrooms, replenished daily
  • Complimentary 24-hour on-site fitness facility
  • Complimentary access to indoor heated swimming pool and hot tub
  • All rates are subject to applicable taxes; 8% PST, 5% GST and 5% Accommodation Tax. Rate is based on single or double occupancy, per room, per night. For every additional adult in the room to a maximum of four (2 queen room only), a $15 charge per night, per person will apply.
Please use this Reservation Link for guests booking at the Four Points by Sheraton Winnipeg South. 
https://www.starwoodmeeting.com/Book/IILF

For more information www.fourpointswinnipegsouth.com

Contact Information

Profile Image

Camille Callison

Contact Info:
204.480.1054
Links:
 
 
 204-474-9183

1-800-432-1960 ext. 9183-- toll-free in Manitoba
 
1-888-216-7011 ext. 9183-- toll-free in Canada
 
 204- 293-6256 Mobile (text preferred)