Skip to main content

Apps from the Health Sciences Libraries: Info

Library Apps

Below are a list of the most popular apps available through the Library via our subscriptions to online resources. Instructions for adding each app are provided.  

To find a convenient list of other free and paid apps recommended by the health sciences librarians and healthcare providers, visit the Mobile Toolkit

UpToDate

Type of App: Point of Care
Cost: Free
Availability: UM Faculty, Staff, and Students; WRHA staff; Manitoba RHA staff
Access: Using iTunes or Google Play for various smart phones and mobile devices

Clinical reference resource designed to provide quick access to synthesized medical information. Mobile app is available to UM faculty, staff and students; WRHA staff; Manitoba RHA.

Lexicomp

Type of AppDrug
Cost: Free
Availability: UM Faculty, Staff, and Students
Access: Using iTunes or Google Play for various smart phones and mobile devices
 

Full-text collection of 15 clinical drug information databases, and over 1600 drug monographs. Includes an excellent tool for checking drug interactions.  A limited number of accounts are available through Library's subscription. Due to limited number of licenses, the app access restricted to certain categories of health sciences students and to faculty. To access and install please read through the following and submit and application form:

Clinical Key

ClinicalKey LogoType of App: Point of Care
Cost: Free
Availability: UM Faculty, Staff, and Students
Access: Mobile friendly website which is optimized to smart phones

More than 1000 medical textbooks, acccess to fulltext journal articles, 

  1. Go the Health Sciences Libraries Database page A to Z listing
  2. Look for the link to Clinical Key in the Key Databases box
  3. Bookmark the URL to this mobile friendly website from any mobile device
  4. Alternatively, for iPhones add to your homescreen by tapping on the Sharing Icon and then Add to Home Screen.

 

 

FirstConsult

Type of AppPoint of Care
Cost: Free
Availability: UM Faculty, Staff, and Students
Access: Apple devices only using iTunes

A quick-reference clinical decision support resource that is incorporated into Clinical Key.  The app functions separately from the Clinical Key database.  First Consult looks like a textbook but “thinks” like a doctor.  Provides suggestions for history-taking, physical exam, labs, & differential diagnosis.  References link to high quality evidence & practice guidelines. 

  1. Go the Health Sciences Libraries Website
  2. Look for the link to Clinical Key in the Quick Links box in the centre of the page
  3. Once you are connected to Clinical Key, look for the Register link in the top right corner.
  4. Enter the required information and create a login and password for Clinical Key.
  5. Visit the app store and download First Consult. The app is free but you must enter the login and password you created in Clinical Key (step 4) to activate the app. 

Access Medicine

Type of App: Point of Care
Cost: Free
Availability: UM Faculty, Staff, and Students
Access: Mobile friendly website which is optimized to smart phones.

60+ medical titles including Harrison's Online, Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine, Current Medical Diagnosis and Treatment, Hurst's The Heart, Goodman & Gilman's The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, and the Lange educational library series.  

  1. Go the Health Sciences Libraries Database page A to Z listing
  2. Look for the link to Access Medicine in A Section
  3. Bookmark the URL to this mobile friendly website
  4. Alternatively, for iPhones add to your homescreen by tapping on the Sharing Icon and then Add to Home Screen.

 

Access Pharmacy

Type of App: Drug
Cost: Free
Availability: UM Faculty, Staff, and Students
Access: Mobile friendly website which is optimized to smart phones.

More than 30 references that are central to pharmacy education including the complete current edition of the most comprehensive text on pharmacotherapy available today, DiPiro’s Pharmacotherapy: A Pathophysiologic Approach

  1. Go the Health Sciences Libraries Database page A to Z listing
  2. Look for the link to Access Pharmacy in A Section
  3. Bookmark the URL to this mobile friendly website
  4. Alternatively, for iPhones add to your homescreen by tapping on the Sharing Icon and then Add to Home Screen.

Health Sciences Library

Type of App: General Reference
Cost: Free
Availability: UM Faculty, Staff, and Students
Access: Mobile friendly website which is optimized to smart phones.  Any of the Toolkits from the HSL Website can be added as mobile friendly sites as well.

Access the many resources of the University of Manitoba Health Sciences Libraries website in a mobile version of our website

  1. Go the Health Sciences Libraries Website
  2. Bookmark the URL to this mobile friendly website
  3. Alternatively, for iPhones add to your homescreen by tapping on the Sharing Icon and then Add to Home Screen.

 

Read by QxMD

Type of App: Keeping Current
Cost:
 Free

Availability: UM Faculty, Staff, and Students can use their UMNetID and Password to link to fulltext of articles
Access: Using iTunes or Google Play for various smart phones and mobile devices

Browse your favorite journals in your medical specialty or, monitor a topic (keywords) of interest appearing in top journals.  The app enables you to use your institutional login (UMNet ID and Password) to access fulltext of journal articles easily. The app has social integrations, a commenting section, and other features — letting you know the key articles your colleagues are reading.

BrowZine

Type of App: Keeping Current
Cost: Free
Availability: UM Faculty, Staff, and Students
AccessApple devices using iTunes; Android using Google Play

Use BrowZine to easily find, read, and monitor thousands of scholarly journals available from the University of Manitoba, or through Open Access publishers, covering all disciplines

  1. Go to the iTunes store and download the BrowZine app OR Google Play and download the BrowZine app.
  2. Once installed on your iPhone or iPad, choose University of Manitoba as your Library
  3. Enter your UMNetID and Password
  4. Select Biomedical and Health Sciences to view available journals by medical discipline or specialty
  5. Add journals of interest available from the UM Libraries to your Bookshelf
  6. Link to fulltext of articles from each issue