Skip to main content

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
American Studies: the colonisation of North America and the American revolution is a thematic series contained as a sub-set within the digitized archival content known as British Online Archives (BOA), distributed by Microform Academic Publishers (MAP). This series includes the following collections:

America in records from colonial missionaries, 1635-1928
American prisoners of war, 1812-1815
American records in the House of Lords archive, 1621-1917
American slave trade records and other papers of the Tarleton family, 1678-1838
Black Schools' in Canada, America and the Bahamas, 1645-1900
British Army Lists of Officers, 1740-1784
Canada in records from colonial missionaries, 1722-1952
Canada, America & the West Indies imports and exports to the UK, 1678-1825
Canada, between the US and Empire, 1883-1904: in the papers of the Governor-General
Colonial missionaries' papers from America and the West Indies, 1701-1870
The American Revolution from a British Perspective, 1764-1783
New
A commercial directory of contemporary Canadian artists, art galleries and art-related businesses. Intended to provide marketing and communication opportunities, members create profiles of their work with links to their websites/galleries. Searchable by artist name, location, and artist technique/genre.
New
Brill´s New Pauly is the English edition of the authoritative Der Neue Pauly, published by Verlag J.B. Metzler since 1996. It's a modern reference work for the ancient world. It presents the current state of traditional and new areas of research. Many entries are elucidated with maps and illustrations and the English edition will include updated bibliographic references.
New
Please Note: Canadiana.org has launched a new database, Canadiana Online; Holdings from Early Canadiana Online can now be found in Canadiana Online.

Canadiana Online, provides unified full-text search and access to three major collections of digitized Canadian documentary heritage including: Early Canadian Monographs ; Government Publications ; and Serials, Periodicals, Annuals and Newspapers. These collections bring together all the content in the existing Early Canadiana Online (ECO), and the entire microfiche corpus of the Canadian Institute for Historical Microreproductions (CIHM).
Dance Online: Dance in Video contains dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance
New
This bibliographic database is derived from, European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750 (also known as the Alden-Landis bibliography). It features documents produced in Europe that make some mention of the discovery and emerging awareness of the Americas. A wide range of topics are covered, including European exploration, portrayal of Indigenous American peoples, slavery, natural disasters and disease outbreaks.
New
Please Note: Only University of Manitoba faculty, staff, students and researchers with an active UMnetID and @umanitoba.ca or @myumanitoba.ca email address may access this service. Use of this service and content is for educational purposes only.

Please review the Gartner Usage Policy before using the service.

Click Here for more information about Key Features and Benefits and using Gartner IT Research.

Jointly provided by University of Manitoba Libraries and Information Services & Technology (IST)
New
Library & Information Science Source includes English and foreign-language periodicals, journals, conference proceedings, pamphlets, library school theses and books. Library & Information Science Source covers the history of library studies and features information on more than 5,200 of the most-frequently indexed authors — such as which subject terms are most commonly applied to their articles, and in which publications the author has been published.
Max Planck Encyclopedia of Comparative Constitutional Law provides a high level of analytic coverage of constitutional law topics in a comparative context. The encyclopedia articles—modeled on those in the Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law—address a focused range of topics that seek to provide the best coverage of the essence, character, development, and history of constitutional law from a global perspective.
Music and Dance Online delivers the largest, most diverse catalog of music content in the world for students, scholars, and patrons of the arts. The multimedia resource features works from thousands of respected partners, covers hundreds of genres from alternative to zydeco and from alternative dance to operatic arias, and encompasses a wide range of content formats - including scores, reference, and high definition audio and video.
African American Music Reference pulls together full text from the major reference works including, personal narratives from oral histories and interviews, and Manuscripts, songsheets, lyrics, discography data, and other text sources.
Music Online: American Music is a history database that allows people to hear and feel the music from America's past. The database includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests and more.
Classical Music Reference Library brings together a variety of essential reference materials, spanning the entire history of Western classical music, in a unified online database. Included are the authoritative reference titles Baker's Dictionary of Music, Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, and Baker's Student Encyclopedia of Music, which are available for the first time in electronic form.
Classical Performance in Video is a comprehensive streaming video collection to support the study of classical music, providing coverage in breadth and depth relevant to a broad range of area studies, including music history, music appreciation, music performance, analysis, and theory.
Music Online: Contemporary World Music delivers the sounds of all regions from every continent. The database will contain important genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more.
Music Online: Jazz Music Library is the largest and most comprehensive collection of streaming jazz available online — with thousands of jazz artists, ensembles, albums, and genres.
Music Online: Listening is a multidisciplinary collection of audiovisual content that touches on the curriculum needs of virtually every department. Music Online: Listening allows students and researchers alike to analyze unique and valuable content from over 500 producers and distributors around the world.
Music Online: Music Periodicals of the 19th Century is a collection of full-text periodicals depicting American musical life from 1838 to the early 1900s through local and international news, reviews, editorials, sheet music, and advertisements.
Music Online: Popular Music Library from Alexander Street contains a wide range of popular music from around the world, including hundreds of thousands of tracks from major genres in pop music, including alternative, country, Christian, electronic, hip-hop, metal, punk, new age, R&B, reggae, rock, soundtracks and many more.
Music Online: Reference brings together a variety of essential music reference materials, spanning the entire history of Western classical music, in a unified online database. Included are the authoritative reference titles The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music, Baker’s Dictionary of Music, Baker’s Bibliographical Dictionary of Musicians, and Baker’s Student Encyclopedia of Music.
Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. The collection provides educators, students, and interested listeners with an unprecedented variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms.
Music Online: The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music is the first comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world’s peoples. Complete online version with associated audio tracks, musical illustrations, photographs, drawings, song texts, score examples, charts, and maps
New
Simultaneous user limit: 5

Content includes complete catalogues or selected recordings of over 800 labels, covering a wide range of standard and specialist repertoire, with new music added monthly. Users can access music notes, cover artwork, tracklist, instrumentation and publisher information, libretti and synopses of operas, and biographies of composers and artists, and much more.
New
This US National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency database is the official repository of standard spellings of all foreign geographic names, sanctioned by the United States Board on Geographic Names. It includes variant spellings, as well as non Roman script spellings for many names. The database can be useful for establishing official spellings of place names, cartography, and GIS purposes.
New
Database of working documents of the British government for all areas of social, political, economic, and foreign policy. It covers Bills, Reports of Royal Commissions, Reports of Select Committees, Accounts and Papers and other materials from the House of Commons and House of Lords.
New
Virtual Museum of Métis History and Culture chronicles traditional Métis history and culture. Content is presented in visual, audio and video formats, and includes oral history interviews, photographs and archival documents.
New
Please Note: Library and Archives Canada (LAC) has launched a new union catalogue, Voilà; holdings from AMICUS now appear in Voila.

Voilà, the National Union Catalogue, is a free single point of access to the published materials held at Library and Archives Canada (LAC) and collections of libraries across Canada. Included are books, magazines, maps, music, and more, including works in special format (e.g., braille, large print, talking books, captioned videos, etc.), for persons who are print- or hearing-impaired.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...