American Studies: the colonisation of North America and the American revolution is a thematic series contained as a sub-set within the digitized archival content known as British Online Archives (BOA), distributed by Microform Academic Publishers (MAP). This series includes the following collections:
America in records from colonial missionaries, 1635-1928
American prisoners of war, 1812-1815
American records in the House of Lords archive, 1621-1917
American slave trade records and other papers of the Tarleton family, 1678-1838
Black Schools' in Canada, America and the Bahamas, 1645-1900
British Army Lists of Officers, 1740-1784
Canada in records from colonial missionaries, 1722-1952
Canada, America & the West Indies imports and exports to the UK, 1678-1825
Canada, between the US and Empire, 1883-1904: in the papers of the Governor-General
Colonial missionaries' papers from America and the West Indies, 1701-1870
The American Revolution from a British Perspective, 1764-1783
A commercial directory of contemporary Canadian artists, art galleries and art-related businesses. Intended to provide marketing and communication opportunities, members create profiles of their work with links to their websites/galleries. Searchable by artist name, location, and artist technique/genre.
Please Note: Canadiana.org has launched a new database, Canadiana Online; Holdings from Early Canadiana Online can now be found in Canadiana Online.
Canadiana Online, provides unified full-text search and access to three major collections of digitized Canadian documentary heritage including: Early Canadian Monographs ; Government Publications ; and Serials, Periodicals, Annuals and Newspapers. These collections bring together all the content in the existing Early Canadiana Online (ECO), and the entire microfiche corpus of the Canadian Institute for Historical Microreproductions (CIHM).
This bibliographic database is derived from, European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750 (also known as the Alden-Landis bibliography). It features documents produced in Europe that make some mention of the discovery and emerging awareness of the Americas. A wide range of topics are covered, including European exploration, portrayal of Indigenous American peoples, slavery, natural disasters and disease outbreaks.
Please Note: Only University of Manitoba faculty, staff, students and researchers with an active UMnetID and @umanitoba.ca or @myumanitoba.ca email address may access this service. Use of this service and content is for educational purposes only.
Library & Information Science Source includes English and foreign-language periodicals, journals, conference proceedings, pamphlets, library school theses and books. Library & Information Science Source covers the history of library studies and features information on more than 5,200 of the most-frequently indexed authors — such as which subject terms are most commonly applied to their articles, and in which publications the author has been published.
Content includes complete catalogues or selected recordings of over 800 labels, covering a wide range of standard and specialist repertoire, with new music added monthly. Users can access music notes, cover artwork, tracklist, instrumentation and publisher information, libretti and synopses of operas, and biographies of composers and artists, and much more.
This US National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency database is the official repository of standard spellings of all foreign geographic names, sanctioned by the United States Board on Geographic Names. It includes variant spellings, as well as non Roman script spellings for many names. The database can be useful for establishing official spellings of place names, cartography, and GIS purposes.
ReferenceGroup is an database with real-time information on Canadian and American businesses and consumers. This resource can help users to create marketing plans, conduct competitive analysis, raise funds, locate people and more. Data is updated monthly. Print/download restrictions are as follows: 50 records at a time for internal users, 25 for remote users.
Statista is an online statistics, market research and business intelligence portal. It provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government institutions. Apart from Statistics, Statista also provides data on market forecasts, white paper studies, dossiers, industry reports, digital market outlooks and consumer market outlooks.
Database of working documents of the British government for all areas of social, political, economic, and foreign policy. It covers Bills, Reports of Royal Commissions, Reports of Select Committees, Accounts and Papers and other materials from the House of Commons and House of Lords.
Virtual Museum of Métis History and Culture chronicles traditional Métis history and culture. Content is presented in visual, audio and video formats, and includes oral history interviews, photographs and archival documents.
Please Note: Library and Archives Canada (LAC) has launched a new union catalogue, Voilà; holdings from AMICUS now appear in Voila.
Voilà, the National Union Catalogue, is a free single point of access to the published materials held at Library and Archives Canada (LAC) and collections of libraries across Canada. Included are books, magazines, maps, music, and more, including works in special format (e.g., braille, large print, talking books, captioned videos, etc.), for persons who are print- or hearing-impaired.