The newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757 - 1817) represent the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media. The 700 or so bound volumes of newspapers and news pamphlets were published mostly in London, however there are also some English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, and a few examples from the American colonies, Europe and India.
19th Century UK Periodicals is a major multi-part series which covers the events, lives, values and themes that shaped the British Empire and the 19th century world. It is mainly based on the repositories of the British Library, the National Library of Scotland, the National Library of South Africa, the National Library of Australia, and many others. Includes Part I (Women's Children's, Humour, Leisure) and Part II (Empire/Colonial, Travel, Culture, Missions)
This database offers content in an interactive format to help students learn and retain knowledge through exposure to realistic patient cases. It includes basic science, clinical medicine, and post-graduate level cases from 23 Case Files® series books. Students can learn and apply basic science and clinical medicine concepts in the context of realistic patient cases. It can be used for coursework and in clinical rotations. Personalized functionality lets users mark their progress through completed and unseen cases.
Representing over two centuries of print culture from early colonial imports to titles published on American soil during the Revolution and early republic, Series 1 is first of the five series created from periodical holdings from one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society.
The series two is second of the five series created from serials holdings belonging to one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society and featuring titles from the seventeenth through the late nineteenth century. The subject matter covered in Series 2 represents the Jacksonian Democracy era in history and is broad in scope and includes agriculture, entertainment, history, literary criticism, and politics
Series 3 is the third of five series created from serials holdings of one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society. The themes presented in Series 3 reveal a rapidly growing young nation, where industrialization, the railroads, regional political differences, and life on the western frontier were daily realities. Subjects covered in the collection reach into every facet of American life, including science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion.
Series 4 is the fourth of five series created from serials holdings of one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society. While the Civil War is a focal point of the collection, we also find a diverse record of the continuance of daily life for many Americans—both leading up to and during the war. News from the battlefront can be found, in addition to the usual breadth of subject matter found in previous collections that include science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion.
Series 5 is the fifth of five series created from serials holdings of one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society. The themes presented in Series 5 reflect a nation that persevered through a most difficult set of circumstances: a bloody civil war that claimed hundreds of thousands of lives; the incorporation of the recently-freed African Americans into American life; a population that rapidly expanded into the Western territories. Broad subject areas covered in the collection reach into every facet of American life, including science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion.
American Fiction, 1774-1920, demonstrates the utility of having more than 18,000 works of fiction in one place, in a consistent format. Titles up until 1900 are sourced from Lyle H. Wright's American Fiction: A Contribution Towards a Bibliography. Titles after 1900 are sourced from the Library of Congress Shelf List of American Adult Fiction and the Geoffrey D. Smith bibliography.
The American Verse Project is a collaborative project between the University of Michigan Humanities Text Initiative (HTI) and the University of Michigan Press. The project is assembling an electronic archive of volumes of American poetry prior to 1920. The full text of each volume of poetry is being converted into digital form and coded in Standard Generalized Mark-up Language (SGML) using the TEI Guidelines, with various forms of access provided through the WWW.
The Architectural Digest Archive is an extensive collection of the famed international design magazine from its first issue in the 1920s through 2011, presented in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format. Published monthly by Condé Nast, the magazine has enjoyed a longstanding reputation as the definitive source for architects and interior designers as well as for everyday design enthusiasts. Each issue features beautiful photography and information on architecture and interior design, art and antiques, travel destinations, and extraordinary products.
Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 covers topics including LGBTQ activism and the HIV/AIDS crisis. Repositories for this collection include: Lesbian Herstory Educational Foundation; Canadian Lesbian and Gay Archives; Women's Energy Bank; GLBT Historical Society; National Library of Medicine; among other archives. Includes Part I
A commercial directory of contemporary Canadian artists, art galleries and art-related businesses. Intended to provide marketing and communication opportunities, members create profiles of their work with links to their websites/galleries. Searchable by artist name, location, and artist technique/genre.
The Oliveira Lima Library has been lauded as the finest collection of Luso-Brazillian material available to U.S. scholars. With the core of its content derived from the "long" nineteenth century, this collection turns the spotlight on South America's largest and most influential power, covering topics such as: colonialism, missionaries, slave trade and abolition, economic development and agricultural trade, Indigenous Peoples, international relations, and the fight for Brazilian independence. Includes Parts I & II.
"British Library Newspapers contains full runs of influential national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of British society.
Part I: 1800-1900
Part II: 1800-1900
Part III: 1741-1950
Part IV: 1732-1950
Part V: 1746-1950"
British Literary Manuscripts Online is a digitized collection of manuscripts of British authors. It contains poems, plays, novels, diaries, journals, correspondence, and other papers from major library collections, reproduced in facsimile and searchable via detailed descriptive information. Includes Part I (1660-1900) and Part II (Medieval & Renaissance)
Please Note: Canadiana.org has launched a new database, Canadiana Online; Holdings from Early Canadiana Online can now be found in Canadiana Online.
Canadiana Online, provides unified full-text search and access to three major collections of digitized Canadian documentary heritage including: Early Canadian Monographs ; Government Publications ; and Serials, Periodicals, Annuals and Newspapers. These collections bring together all the content in the existing Early Canadiana Online (ECO), and the entire microfiche corpus of the Canadian Institute for Historical Microreproductions (CIHM).
The research, publications, speeches and archives of the leading international affairs think tank, The Royal Institute of International Affairs, Chatham House, London. High level analysis and research on almost 100 years of global events and issues. Includes 'behind the doors' insight into the real movers and shakers, influencers and deal brokers. For researchers of international affairs, economics, law, and business, diplomacy, security and terrorism, environment, development, war and peace studies. Includes Parts I & II.
China from Empire to Republic is a multi-module digitization and publishing program that documents China’s transformation from an imperial dynasty into a modern republic. Consisting of monographs, manuscripts, periodicals, correspondence and letters, photos, and other kinds of historical documents, these collections provide excellent primary source material for the understanding and research of the various aspects of China during the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.
Crime, Punishment, and Popular Culture, 1790-1920 presents a broad history of crime in the long 19th century derived from French, German, Spanish, Australian, British and U.S. sources. The collection includes trial transcripts, court proceedings, police and forensic documents, photographs, true crime literature and detective novels, and newspaper accounts. This archive appeals to scholars in the fields of history, literature, law and criminal justice, as well as other fields.
Maclean’s Magazine Archive, 1905-2015, the leading Canadian news and general interest magazine, provides a unique perspective on both national and international affairs. Topics include investigative reporting, opinion and analysis on politics, economy and business, science and technology, society, arts and culture, education and work. It was initially known as The Business Magazine, then The Busy Man’s Magazine, and changed to the current title, Maclean’s, in 1911.
Migration to New Worlds offers a wide-ranging and in depth look at the emigration of peoples from Great Britain, Ireland, mainland Europe and Asia to the New World and Australasia during the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. Government papers and pamphlets, letter collections, travel journals, diaries and oral histories provide a wealth of first-hand accounts for research into emigration experiences and the hardship of settlement.
Please note: This resource is available to University of Manitoba Libraries on ProQuest and EBSCO platforms until January 1, 2019, when EBSCO becomes its only access provider.
The MLA International Bibliography, from the Modern Language Association of America, indexes international scholarly materials on modern language, literature, linguistics, and folklore, and includes citations from journals and series, monographs, working papers and conference proceedings.
The Nation is America's oldest weekly magazine and one if its premier journals of opinion since its inception in 1865. The Nation has long been regarded as one of the country's definitive journalistic voices of writing on politics, culture, books and the arts and continues to stand as the independent voice in American journalism. This database contains indexing & abstracting and full text for the complete archive of The Nation beginning with its first issue in 1865 through to the present.
National Centers for Environmental Information (NCEI) is responsible for hosting and providing access to one of the most significant archives on Earth, with comprehensive oceanic, atmospheric, and geophysical data. From the depths of the ocean to the surface of the sun and from million-year-old sediment records to near real-time satellite images, NCEI is a leading authority for environmental information. Databases include Coral Reef Temperature Anomaly Database (CoRTAD), World Ocean Database (WOD), Marine Environmental Buoy Database, the NCEI archive and more.
Content includes complete catalogues or selected recordings of over 800 labels, covering a wide range of standard and specialist repertoire, with new music added monthly. Users can access music notes, cover artwork, tracklist, instrumentation and publisher information, libretti and synopses of operas, and biographies of composers and artists, and much more.
This US National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency database is the official repository of standard spellings of all foreign geographic names, sanctioned by the United States Board on Geographic Names. It includes variant spellings, as well as non Roman script spellings for many names. The database can be useful for establishing official spellings of place names, cartography, and GIS purposes.
With digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers and advanced searching capabilities, researchers will be able to research history in ways previously unavailable. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.
Our World on the Manitoba Research Gateway provides an access point for everyone within Manitoba to unique collections from Gale Primary Sources. This world-class resource is made up of millions of pages of digitized historical content including newspapers, maps, photos, pamphlets, manuscripts and more.
The Piers Plowman Electronic Archive, a collaborative open-access project, presents the rich textual tradition of Piers Plowman, a fourteenth-century allegorical dream vision attributed to William Langland. Three distinct versions of the poem (A, B, and C) survive in more than 50 unique manuscripts, none in Langland’s own hand. The Archive enables instructors, students, and researchers to explore late medieval literary and manuscript culture through the many variations of Piers Plowman. The long-term goal of the project is the creation of a complete archive of the medieval and early modern textual tradition of Langland’s poem.
This archive constitutes a resource for studying the literary history of popular British and American poetry. Much of it composed during what can be called the “bull market” of poetry's popularity, late 18th- and 19th-century popular poetry was often written in what came to be designated an "effeminate" style, whether written by men or women. Writings in the poetess tradition were disseminated in myriad collections: miscellanies, beauties, literary annuals, gift books. They achieved a place of prominence in virtually every middle-class household. The Poetess Archive Database now contains a bibliography of over 4,000 entries for works by and about writers working in and against the “poetess tradition,” the extraordinarily popular, but much criticized, flowery poetry written in Britain and America between 1750 and 1900.
Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Indigenous people, military actions and much more.
"Slavery and Anti-Slavery includes collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions.
Part 1: Debates - Slavery & Abolition
Part 2: Slave Trade in Atlantic World
Part 3: Institution of Slavery
Part 4: Age of Emancipation"
"A curated collection of images and documents from the Smithsonian archives.
Part 1: World's Fairs and Expositions: Visions of Tomorrow
Part 2: Trade Lit and Merchandising of America, 1820-1923
Part 3: Evolution of Flight, 1784-1991
Plus recent and backfile issues of Smithsonian Magazine and Air & Space Magazine"
Offers "a brief biography and chronology of events, a set of links to online versions of Spenser’s texts, and links to related internet resources for the study of Spenser and his contemporaries. Students and other academic users will be interested in the bibliography, the census of editions, the Finding Aid, the Spenser Review, the Sidney-Spenser Discussion List, and Centering Spenser: A Digital Resource for Kilcolman Castle... also hosts pages for the International Spenser Society, which publishes The Spenser Review and sponsors panels at a number of academic conferences; and for Spenser Studies: A Renaissance Poetry Annual, which publishes scholarly work on Spenser’s poetry and on English Renaissance verse generally."
The Making of the Modern World provides digital facsimile images of unique primary sources that track the development of the modern, western world through the lens of trade and wealth. Full-text searching across millions of pages of works from the period 1450-1914 provides researchers unparalleled access to this vast collection of material for research in the areas of history, political science, social conditions, technology and industry, economics, area studies and more. Includes Parts I & II.
The complete online fully-searchable edition of the TLS from the first edition in 1902 onwards. This is a growing archive, but issues from the past few years are not yet included. This is the essential companion for studying and researching literary activity and critical opinion makers of the 20th and 21st centuries.
The Time Magazine Archive presents an extensive collection of the prominent weekly news magazine dating back to its first issue in March 1923 through December 2000, presented in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format. Published weekly by Time Inc., the magazine has focused on conveying to a broad audience both domestic and international news and analysis on a spectrum of subjects.
Intended to be read in under an hour, each issue of Time contains reports of national and international current events, politics, sports, and entertainment. Capturing the relevant news for a given week, the magazine remains an important resource for researchers studying just about any aspect of 20th-Century history and life.
Database of working documents of the British government for all areas of social, political, economic, and foreign policy. It covers Bills, Reports of Royal Commissions, Reports of Select Committees, Accounts and Papers and other materials from the House of Commons and House of Lords.
The Victorian Women Writers Project (VWWP) was begun in 1995 at Indiana University. The VWWP was celebrated early on for exposing lesser-known British women writers of the 19th century, writers whose popularity did not make the transition into the 20th century or inclusion in a literary canon. Originally the VWWP focused on poetry, but soon acknowledged the variety of genres in which women of that period were writing—novels, children’s books, political pamphlets, religious tracts and so on. Thus the collection was expanded to include genres beyond poetry and so the VWWP grew until about the turn of the twenty-first century, ultimately including approximately 200 texts.
Please Note: Library and Archives Canada (LAC) has launched a new union catalogue, Voilà; holdings from AMICUS now appear in Voila.
Voilà, the National Union Catalogue, is a free single point of access to the published materials held at Library and Archives Canada (LAC) and collections of libraries across Canada. Included are books, magazines, maps, music, and more, including works in special format (e.g., braille, large print, talking books, captioned videos, etc.), for persons who are print- or hearing-impaired.
Makes Whitman's vast work accessible to scholars, students and general readers. Whitman's work presents textual difficulties. He left an enormous amount of written material, and his major life work, "Leaves of Grass," went through six very different editions. His notebooks, manuscript fragments, prose essays, letters, and journalistic articles offer key cultural and biographical contexts for his poetry. The Archive incorporates much of this material.
Focusing on the 19th and 20th centuries, Women's Studies Archive provides a history of the social, political, and professional aspects of women's lives and offers a look at the roles, experiences, and achievements of women in society. Through a variety of documents such as diaries, letters, photographs, news clippings, organizational records, and journals, it presents a record of the issues that have affected women, societal contributions, social status, and women's movements. Includes the collection: Women's Issues and Identities.
Lyle H. Wright, a librarian at the Huntington Library in San Marino, CA, created a bibliography of American fiction from the years 1851–1875, published as American Fiction 1851–1875: A Contribution Toward a Bibliography (San Marino, CA: The Huntington Library, 1957; revised 1965). He listed a total of 2,923 titles in adult fiction, including "novels, novelettes, romances, short stories, tall tales, tract-like tales, allegories, and fictitious biographies and travels, in prose" (from the introduction), and inventoried 18 American libraries for holdings. This compilation is part of his three-volume set listing American fiction from 1774 through 1900, and is considered the most comprehensive bibliography of American adult fiction of the 18th and 19th centuries.