Skip to main content

Music: Writing & Citing

One Stop Search

Elements of Article Citations:

Articles are in Journals
Journals are in Databases
Databases are sometimes provided by larger database vendors

Example:

Korstvedt, B. (2013). Defining the "problem": The development of postwar attitudes toward Bruckner versions. Journal Of Musicological Research, 32/1: 1-27. Retrieved from EBSCOhost Academic Search Complete database.

1.    Authors
Korstvedt, B.

2.    Publication Date
(2013)

3.    Article Title
Defining the "problem"... 

4.    Journal Title, Vol.#, Iss.#, Pg.#
Journal of Musicological Research Volume 32, Issue 1, Pages 1-27.  

5.    Database Info
Retrieved from EBSCOhost Academic... 

Style manuals in the Music Library

Tips and examples

Music students often use the Chicago Manual of Style for their writings. The Turabian manual is also based on the Chicago style. Here are some sites to help you create citations, footnotes, and bibliographies for music essays.

Chicago Manual of Style (online access through U of M)

Citing Music Sources in Your Essay and Bibliography
Information on citing music sources using the Turabian guide

Citing Music in MLA Style
From Memorial University Libraries, this covers MLA style

Click on links below for guides to writing book reviews, essays, theses and more.

For some of these links you will require Adobe Acrobat.This software is available, at no charge, from the Adobe web site http://www.adobe.com/.

feather2.gif

Writing Tutors

Need help with writing papers?

Visit the Academic Learning Centre located in 201 Tier Building, book your appointment online, or call 480-1481.

For more information please see the Academic Learning Centre Web Page.

Ask a Librarian