LibGuides: Canadian Art: Art Articles/Reviews

Online Journal Articles

The titles below are online journals (note the coverage period, as you may have to use some earlier issues in print):
Afterimage
Art History
Art in America
Border Crossings (CDN)
Burlington Magazine
Canadian Art (CDN)
Convergence
Leonardo
October

Article Databases

ARTbibliographies Modern This link opens in a new window ABM provides wide-ranging coverage of information on all forms of modern and contemporary arts, dating from the late 19th century onward. It includes abstracts of English and other language material on artists, movements, and trends. It provides full abstracts of a variety of literary forms, dating from the late 1960s onward.
Art Full Text This link opens in a new window This database offers full text plus abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications—now with expanded coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database (CBCA) This link opens in a new window Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database includes over 540 periodicals and daily news sources (over 480 of which are Canadian), plus indexing to an additional 1,100 other titles (over 95% Canadian).
CPI.Q This link opens in a new window The Canadian Periodical Index has been a core reference tool for accessing Canadian scholarly and popular periodicals since 1928. The electronic version available on the Articles and Databases menu is published by Gale Research and covers the years 1996, 1997 and 1998. About one third of the articles are full text.
EBSCOhost Full Text This link opens in a new window EBSCOhost provides indexing and abstracting for thousands of periodicals, in most cases back to 1984. It also contains full text for over a thousand periodicals, in many cases going back to 1990. Many of these periodicals are peer-reviewed journals. Different modules cover academic journals, popular magazines, Canadian magazines, high school magazines, and children's magazines. These can be searched separately or combined.

JSTOR JSTOR (Journal Storage Project), is an electronic database of back issues of academic journals. JSTOR contains references and full text articles to more than 117 journals covering well over one hundred years of data. JSTOR includes journals in a wide range of subject areas: African American studies, African studies, American Indian studies, anthropology, aquatic sciences, and more.

Art and Architecture Archive This link opens in a new window The Art and Architecture Archive (1860-2015) is a valuable resource for scholars of 20th-century art, design, and architecture. It offers access to consumer and trade magazines from around the world that document key developments, industry news, and artworks.

Library Access Browser Extension

Library Access
The Library Access browser extension provides quick and simple access to digital content provided by the University of Manitoba Libraries wherever and whenever you decide to study.

Newspapers

Canadian Major Dailies This link opens in a new window Canadian Major Dailies offers access to the full text of articles, columns, editorials, and features from 20 major Canadian newspapers. Newspapers include the Winnipeg Free Press, Globe and Mail, Toronto Star, National Post, Ottawa Citizen, Calgary Herald, Montreal Gazette, and Edmonton Journal. Coverage varies, usually from the 1980's to the present, though not all are full text. Most newspapers have a two day delay, the Winnipeg Free Press and the Globe and Mail are updated daily.
Globe and Mail: Canada's heritage from 1844 This link opens in a new window Coverage: most recent 3 years not included; Sunday issues not included. To access Sunday content, search by article title at the Globe & Mail website Canada's Heritage From 1844 contains over 150 years of content from Canada's national daily newspaper, including every news story, photograph, map, advertisement, classified ad, political cartoon, birth and death notice, and more.
New York Times Historical (1851-2020) This link opens in a new window The New York Times Historical (1851-2020) offers full page and article images of every page of every issue, with searchable full text.

Winnipeg Newspapers

Accessing the Winnipeg Free Press and more..(PDF document).

The Winnipeg Tribune, 1890 - 1980, micorfiche

The Winnipeg Tribune digitized collections and newspaper clippings, Archives.