LibGuides: Modern Art (19th/20th Centuries): Articles

Online Journal Articles

The titles below are online journals (note the coverage period, as you may have to use some earlier issues in print):
Afterimage
Art History
Art in America
Border Crossings (CDN)
Burlington Magazine
Canadian Art (CDN)
Convergence
Leonardo
October

Interdisciplinary Databases and more Guides

Project MUSE Full Database This link opens in a new window Project MUSE offers full-text articles from scholarly journals from major university presses, covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more.
EBSCOhost Full Text This link opens in a new window EBSCOhost provides indexing and abstracting for thousands of periodicals, in most cases back to 1984. It also contains full text for over a thousand periodicals, in many cases going back to 1990. Many of these periodicals are peer-reviewed journals. Different modules cover academic journals, popular magazines, Canadian magazines, high school magazines, and children's magazines. These can be searched separately or combined.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR is a database of back issues of academic journals, books, and primary sources. With content extending over a century, subject areas include area studies, the arts, business & economics, history, the humanities, law, medicine, science & mathematics, and social sciences.

Browse Ejournals

Article Databases

ARTbibliographies Modern This link opens in a new window ABM provides wide-ranging coverage of information on all forms of modern and contemporary arts, dating from the late 19th century onward. It includes abstracts of English and other language material on artists, movements, and trends. It provides full abstracts of a variety of literary forms, dating from the late 1960s onward.
Art Index Retrospective (1929-1984) This link opens in a new window An in-depth record of contemporary art history, Art Index Retrospective allows users to search 55 years of art journalism at a keystroke. Users can research leading English-language sources, plus others published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch. Besides periodicals, users have access to data from important yearbooks and select museum bulletins.
Art Full Text This link opens in a new window This database offers full text plus abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications—now with expanded coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation. Avery indexes not only the international scholarly and popular periodical literature, but also the publications of professional associations, US state and regional periodicals, and the major serial publications on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America.
Art and Architecture Archive This link opens in a new window The Art and Architecture Archive (1860-2015) is a valuable resource for scholars of 20th-century art, design, and architecture. It offers access to consumer and trade magazines from around the world that document key developments, industry news, and artworks.

Library Access Browser Extension

Library Access
The Library Access browser extension provides quick and simple access to digital content provided by the University of Manitoba Libraries wherever and whenever you decide to study.

Newspapers

New York Times Historical (1851-2020) This link opens in a new window The New York Times Historical (1851-2020) offers full page and article images of every page of every issue, with searchable full text.
New York Times This link opens in a new window Please Note: Effective April 1, 2024 this title will no longer be licensed for access by the University of Manitoba Libraries. Full-text coverage of The New York Times, offering coverage of national and international news, important speeches and documents, Supreme Court decisions, and presidential press conference transcripts.