LibGuides: Religion: Databases

Looking for articles from journals? Start with the databases below.

New to the library?
Articles are pieces of research that analyze very specific aspects of that research field.
Journals, (like scholarly magazines) publish articles and usually focus on a broader aspect of that topic.
Databases (Iike websites) are searchable collections of journals, and sometimes include other material like e-books too.

Example: Searching Wesley, "free grace", in the ATLA Religion Database, will find articles
about John Wesley's ideas of "free grace" in various journals about Wesleyan theory.

Best Bets

Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials This link opens in a new window
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials combines the index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals.
Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1906-present

The Index Islamicus database indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. The scope includes the Middle East, the Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere in the world. Content includes journals, conference proceedings, monographs, and book reviews.

Other Key Databases

Atla Historical Monographs Collection : Series 1 This link opens in a new window
The historical time period of the collection reflects upon a time of great doctrinal, social, and organizational change. The collection includes many volumes in Aramaic, Arabic, Greek, Hebrew and other languages besides English, documenting the recovery of languages used during the biblical era and provides an in-depth view of the way that interest in, and knowledge of, biblical languages emerged during the nineteenth century, an important foundation for today’s study and understanding.
Atla Historical Monographs Collection : Series 2 This link opens in a new window
The American Theological Library Association (ATLA) Historical Monographs Collection: Series 2 consists of more than 15,000 titles published from 1894 through 1923. It presents a comprehensive picture of the growing interest in and understanding of Eastern religions from the late 1800s to the early 1900s and also highlights significant shifts in the religious identification of Americans, and of new interest in and experimentation with non-western religions.
Digital Library of Classic Protestant Texts This link opens in a new window
This collection provides access to over 1000 works from the Reformation and post-Reformation eras. These works include the theological writings of hundreds of Protestant authors, as well as a wide range of confessional documents, biblical commentaries, polemical treatises, and Bible translations.
Digital Library of the Catholic Reformation This link opens in a new window
This collection provides access to hundreds of thousands of pages of primary source material from the 16th and 17th centuries. Works include key catechisms, scholarly treatises, papal documents, devotional works, and theological volumes that influenced the reform from within the Catholic Church in the years before, during, and after the decrees of the Council of Trent.
Religion and the Law This link opens in a new window
This collection provides a research platform for the development, history, organization, and fundamental principles of various world religions. The collection also includes the Christian Legal Society publications, an assortment of Canon Law, and rare historical bibles.

Other Relevant databses

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a database of back issues of academic journals, books, and primary sources. With content extending over a century, subject areas include area studies, the arts, business & economics, history, the humanities, law, medicine, science & mathematics, and social sciences.

Benjamin Dueck

He/They

Email Me

Contact:

Welcome! I am happy to support you in your library research at any stage. Connect with me for reference through email or set up an appointment to chat.

AM Location
Rm. 208, Elizabeth Dafoe Library

PM Location
Rm. 119, St. Paul's College

431-293-9482

Subjects: Catholic Studies, Economics, Peace and Conflict Studies, Political Studies, Religion, Theatre and Drama

Religion: Databases

Best Bets

Other Key Databases

Other Relevant databses

Ask a Librarian