LibGuides: German Studies Collection: Reference Sources

Library Search

Library Search
Course Reserves

Bibliographical Sources

Albrecht, Gunter. Internationale Bibliographie zur Geschichte der deutschen Literatur von den Anfangen bis zur Gegenwart. Berlin: Aufbau-Verlag, 1969-1984. 4v. in 6.
A selective bibliography of German literary history emphasizing East European contributions. Part I covers from the beginning to 1789; part II from 1789 to 1970; Part II is an index; and part IV is a supplement for the period 1971- 1980.
REF Z 2231 .A4
Arnold, Robert F. Allgemeine Bucherkunde zur neueren deutschen Literaturgeschichte. 3. Aufl. Berlin: De Gruyter, 1931.
Standard introductory bibliography which is still important in spite of its age.
REF Z 2231 .A87
Bibliographisches Handbuch der deutschen Literaturwissenschaft, 1945-1969. Hrsg., C. Kottelwesch. Frankfurt: V. Klostermann 1973-1979. 3v.
An important, select bibliography of research in the field of German literature, carried out during the years 1945-1970.
REF Z 2231 .K63
Blinn, Hansjurgen. Informationshandbuch Deutsche Literaturwissenschaft. Frankfurt am Main: Fischer Taschenbuch Verlag, 1994.
An excellent, compact reference tool for German literature and related topics. Includes a directory to archives and special collections in the field. Systematic arrangement with comprehensive author/title index.
Available at Elizabeth Dafoe Library Second Floor (PT 85 B55 1994)
Goedeke, Karl. Grundriss zur Geschichte der deutschen Dichtung aus den Quellen. 2nd. ed. Berlin: Aufbau-Verlag, 1884-1966. 15 v. in 33.
The most comprehensive bibliography of German literature up to 1830. Includes editions, treatises, histories, biographical and critical articles.
REF PT 85 .G7
Hansel, Johannes. Personalbibliographie zur deutschen Literaturgeschichte. 2. Aufl. Berlin: E. Schmidt, 1974.
Lists bibliographies for 300 German authors from the Middle Ages to the present. Separately published bibliographies as well as those contained in books, periodicals, and theses are included.
REF Z 1002 .H24

Bibliographies and Handbooks: Special Periods

Middle-Ages
- Althochdeutsches Wörterbuch. Hrsg., E. von Steinmeyer et al. Berlin, 1952-
  Comprehensive dictionary of old German vocabulary with extensive text-references. The volumes published so far cover the alphabet up to R.
  REF PF 3975 .A48
  Also available online via Wörterbuchnetz up to M.
- Ehrismann, Gustav. Geschichte der deutschen Literatur bis zum Ausgang des Mittelalters. 2. Augl. Munchen: C.H. Beck, 1932- 1935. 3 v. in 4.
  Still indispensable in spite of its age. Provides detailed summaries, and rich bibliographical documentation. Indexes in v. 4.
  Available at Elizabeth Dafoe Library Second Floor (PT 175 .E37 1932)
- Graff, E.G. Althochdeutscher Sprachschatz, oder Wörterbuch der althochdeutschen Sprache. Hildesheim: Olms, 1963. 6 v. + Index.
  Reprint of the 1834-46 edition. Indispensable until the AHB WB (first entry above) is complete.
  In Storage, Available by Request.
- Lexer, Mathias von. Mittelhochdeutsches Handwörterbuch. Leipzig, 1869-1978, reprint 1965. 3v.
  Standard dictionary for Middle High German vocabulary.
  REF PF 4327 .L4
  Also available online via Wörterbuchnetz.
- Die deutsche Literatur des Mittelalters: Verfasserlexikon. Hrsg., Wolfgang Stammler. Berlin: de Gruyter, 1933-1955. 5 v.
  Comprehensive author/title dictionary of medieval German literature.
  In Storage, Available by Request.
16th century
- Gaede, F. Humanismus, Barock, Aufklarung: Geschichte der deutschen Literatur vom 16.-18. Jahrhundert. Bern: Francke, 1971.
  Part of Handbuch der deutschen Literaturgeschichte. Abt.1 "Darstellungen". Substantial and well indexed.
  Available at Elizabeth Dafoe Library Second Floor (PT 236 .G34)
- Konneker, Barbara. Die deutsche Literatur der Reformationszeit. Munchen: Winkler, 1975.
  Historical introduction, chronological tables, and authors. Substantial bibliography and index.
  Available at Elizabeth Dafoe Library Second Floor (PT 251 .K64)
Barock
- Pyritz, Ilse. Bibliographie zur deutschen Literaturgeschichte des Barockzeitalters. Bern: Francke, 1980- . 2v.
  A comprehensive bibliography of criticism on 17th century German authors and literature.
  REF Z 2232 .P87
- Dunnhaupt, Gerhad. Bibliographisches Handbuch der Barockliteratur: hundert Personalbibliographien deutscher Autoren des 17. Jahrhunderts. Stuttgart: Hiersemann, 1980-1981. 3 v.
  Lists the publications of 100 17th century authors, and some criticism about them. In alphabetical order.
  REF Z 2232 .D85
- Faber du Faur, Curt von. German Baroque Literature. New Haven: Yale University Press, 1958-1969. 2 v.
  An annotated bibliography of 2382 works by German authors of the Baroque era in the Yale collection. Serves as a descriptive guide to the 678 reels of Baroque literature on microfilm housed in Dafoe Microforms. Shelved on the Microforms reference shelf.
  REF Z 2231 .Y3
18th century
- Wilke, Jurgen. Literarische Zeitschriften des 18. Jahrhunderts, 1688-1789. Stuttgart: Metzler, 1978. 2v.
  Bibliography of eighteenth century journals; thematic arrangement (v. 2), introduced by a historical survey (v. 1). Author/title indexes.
  Available at Elizabeth Dafoe Library Second Floor (PT 289 .W5)
Klassik & Romantik
- Bartel, Klaus. German Literary History, 1777-1835: An Annotated Bibliography. Bern: P. Lang, 1976.
  Descriptive bibliography of literary histories published during the period indicated in the title.
  In Storage, Available by Request.
- Campe, Joachim Heinrich. Wörterbuch der deutschen Sprache. Hildesheim: Olms, 1970. Reprint of 1813 ed. 5 v. + Suppl.
  Comprehensive dictionary of 18th-century vocabulary with extensive text documentation, and regional differences.
  REF PF 3620 .C3 1969
- Estermann, Alfred. Die deutschen Literatur Zeitschriften, 1815- 1850: Bibliographien, Programme, Autoren. Nendeln: Kraus, 1977- 1981. 10 v.
  Chronological arrangement of 2200 periodicals published during this time, and their 60,000 contributors. Indexes in v. 9-10.
  In Storage, Available by Request.
- Hocks, Paul. Literarische und politische Zeitschriften, 1789-1805. Stuttgart: Metzler, 1975.
  Provides brief descriptions for a number of literary and political journals published during this important period. Author and title indexes.
  Available at Elizabeth Dafoe Second Floor (PN 5214 .P4 H6)
- Internationale Bibliographie zur deutschen Klassik, 1750-1850. Leipzig: Zentrarchiv der DDR, 1973.
  Reprint of the later independent annual. Originally part of Weimarer Beitr„ge, v. 6-10, 1960-64.
  In Storage, Available by Request.
- Jordens, Karl-Heinrich. Lexikon deutscher Dichter und Prosaisten. Leipzig: Weidmann, 1806-1811. Reprint, 1970. 6 v.
  Lengthy articles on 18th-century authors presented in alphabetical order. Volume 6 is a supplement.
  In Storage, Available by Request.
- Korff, Hermann August. Geist der Goethezeit: Versuch einer ideellen Entwicklung der klassisch-romantischen Literaturgeschicte. Leipzig: Koehler & Amelang, 1923-53. 4 v. and index.
  Literary history of Goethe's times with a "history of ideas" perspective.
  Available at Elizabeth Dafoe Library Second Floor (PT 285 .K6 1954)
19th century
- Brummer, Franz. Lexikon der deutschen Dichter und Prosaisten vom Beginn des neunzehnten Jahrhunderts bis zur Gegenwart. 6th ed. Leipzig: Reclam, 1913. 7 v.
  Comprehensive author dictionary for the 19th and early 20th centuries; about 10,000 entries.
  Available at Archives and Special Collections Rare Book Room (PT 41 B83 1913).
- Grimm, Jakob und Wilhelm. Deutsches Wörterbuch. Hirzel, 1854- 1960. 16 v. in 39 + Suppl.
  The great dictionary of German vocabulary based on historical principles. Many illustrations of word usage and history.
  1984 Edition Available at Elizabeth Dafoe Library Second Floor (PF 3625 .G86 1984)
  1854 Edition In Storage, Available by Request.
- Schlawe, Fritz. Die Briefsammlungen des 19. Jahrhunderts. Bibliographie der Briefausgaben. Stuttgart: Metzler, 1969. 2v.
  Lists published correspondences with brief annotations. Author and receiver indexes.
  In Storage, Available by Request.
20th century
- Autorenlexikon deutschsprachiger Literatur de 20. Jahrhunderts. Hrsg., M. Brauneck. 3. Aufl. Reinbek: Rowohlt, 1988. Excellent quick reference on 20th-century authors, and also major Germanists. Dictionary arrangement.
  1988 and 1995 Editions Available at Elizabeth Dafoe Library Second Floor (PT 401 A98)
  1991 Edition Available at Elizabeth Dafoe Library Reference (PT 401 A98 1991)
- Dietzel, Thomas. Deutsche literarische Zeitschriften, 1880-1945. New York: K.G. Saur, 1988. 5 v. Alphabetical arrangement of German literary periodicals of the late 19th and 20th centuries. Comprehensive author/title index in v. 5.
  REF Z 2225 .D53 1988
- Just, K. Von der Grunderzeit bis zur Gegenwart: Geschichte der deutschen Literatur seit 1871. Bern: Francke, 1973.
  Part of Handbuch der deutschen Literaturgeschichte. Abt.1 "Darstellungen". Substantial and well indexed.
  Available at Elizabeth Dafoe Library Second Floor (PT 401 .J89)
- Raabe, P. Die Autoren und Bücher des literarischen Expressionismus: ein bibliographisches Handbuch. Stuttgart: Metzler, 1985.
  Bio-biographical guide to authors and publications related to this important literary movement. Well indexed.
  In Storage, Available by Request.
- Raabe, P. Die Zeitschriften und Sammlungen des literarischen Expressionismus, 1910-1921. Stuttgart: Metzler, 1964.
  Annotated bibliography of journals and collections of the expressionist period.
  In Storage, Available by Request.
- Soergel, A., und C. Hohoff. Dichtung und Dichter der Zeit vom Naturalismus bis zur Gegenwart. Leipzig: Voigtlander, 1911-1934. 3 v.
  A good survey of 19th-century German literature, still recommended today.
  Available at Elizabeth Dafoe Library Dewey Collection (830.904 .S68 Di)
20th century, 1945-
- Deutsche Literatur der Gegenwart. Hrsg., Dietrich Weber. Stuttgart: Kroner,
  1968-1977. 2 v.
  Volume 1 covers authors from 1945 to 1960, volume 2 those flourishing since 1960.
  Available at Elizabeth Dafoe Library Second Floor (PT 403 .D39 1976)
- Hennecke, H. und H. Kunisch. Handbuch der deutschen Gegenwartsliteratur. Munchen: Nymphenburger, 1969-1970. 3 v.
  An author dictionary also including long articles describing literary trends. V. 3 lists bibliographical information about individual authors.
  Available at Elizabeth Dafoe Library Second Floor (PT 403 .H244 1969)
- Kindlers Literaturgeschichte der Gegenwart. Zurich: Kindler, 1973- 1978. 5 v.
  Library has v. 1-2 which cover BRD, DDR, Austrian and Swiss authors, and literary developments since 1945. A complete and updated 12 volume ed. (Fischer, 1980) is also available in the stacks (same call number).
  In Storage, Available by Request.
- King, Janet. Literarische Zeitschriften 1945-1970. Stuttgart: Metzler, 1974.
  Descriptive bibliography of selected literary journals published in German-speaking countries since 1945.
  Available at Elizabeth Dafoe Library Second Floor (Z 2225 .K56)
- Kritisches Lexikon zur deutschsprachigen Gegenwartsliteratur (KLG). Hrsg., Heinz Ludwig Arnold. Munchen: Text+Kritik, 1978-
  A loose-leaf dictionary of contemporary authors of German- speaking countries. Entries are very lang, and contain bibliographies. Presently in 8 folders.
  REF PT 41 .K741
- Modern German Literature. Comp., A.K. Domandi. New York: Ungar, 1972. 2 v.
  A useful compilation of 20th century criticism in excerpts, concerning more than 200 German authors who flourished between 1900 and the 1960s.
  Available at Elizabeth Dafoe Library Second Floor (PT 401 .D6 1972)

Bibliographies and Handbooks: Special Aspects

Austrian literature
- Giebisch, H. Bio-bibliographisches Literaturlexikon Österreichs von den Anfängen bis zur Gegenwart. Wien: Hollinek, 1964.
  Author dictionary devoted entirely to Austrian authors.
  REF Z 2110 .G48 1964
- Zeman, Herbert, ed. Bio-bibliographisches Lexikon der Literatur Österreichs. Freiburg i. Br. : Rombach Verlag, 2016.
  Available at Elizabeth Dafoe Library Second Floor (PT 3814 .B56 2016).
- Stock, Karl F. Personalbibliographien Österreichischer Dichter und Schriftsteller. Von den Anfängen bis zur Gegenwart. Pullach: Verlag Dokumentation, 1972.
  Lists general bibliographies and handbooks devoted to Austrian literature, and 4500 bibliographies of individual authors.
  REF Z 2110 .S76
Autobiographies and Biographies
- Allgemeine deutsche Biographie. Dunker. 1875-1912. 56 vol.
  Contains long articles, with bibliographies, on prominent Germans from the earliest tomes to the end of the 19th century. General Index in volume 56.
  Available at Elizabeth Dafoe Library Second Floor (CT 1053 .A5)
  - Also available online via deutsche-biographie.de/home.
- Bode, Ingrid. Die Autobiographien zur deutschen Literatur, Kunst und Musik 1900-1965. Stuttgart: Metzler, 1966.
  Annotates more than 500 autobiographies; subject arrangement with name index.
  REF Z 5301 .H35
- Deutscher biographischer Index. Munchen: K.G. Saur, 1986. 4v.
  Index to Deutsches Biographisches Archiv, which is available in Dafoe Microforms on 1500 microfiches.
  REF CT 1054 .D498
- Neue deutsche Biographie. Munchen: Bayerische Akademie der Wissenschaften, 1953-
  In progress. Alphabetical entries with bibliographical references.
  REF CT 1053 .N49
  - Also available online via deutsche-biographie.de/home.
- Westphal, M. Die besten deutschen Memorien: Lebenserinnerungen und Selbstbiographien aus sieben Jahrhunderten. Leipzig: Koehler & Volckmar, 1923.
  A bibliography of memoirs published in Germany since the 12th century. Arranged by subject with indexes.
  In Storage, Available by Request.
Drama
- Hinck, Walter. Handbuch des deutschen Dramas. Dusseldorf: Bagel, 1980.
  Detailed survey articles on various aspects of German drama and dramatic theory.
  PT 615 .H3
- Der Schauspielfuhrer. Hrsg., J. Gregor. Stuttgart: Hiersemann, 1953-1972. 6 v.
  A guide to 1000 years of Occidental drama. German drama up to 1950 is covered in v. 1-2. Arrangement is by period or school. Gives critical annotations and plot summaries. Well indexed in v. 6.
  808.82 .G86 Sc
Exiled authors
- Handbuch der deutschen Exilpresse, 1933-1945. Munchen: Hanser, 1976- . 4 v.
  V.1-2 cover exiled authors in alphabetical order. V.3 is a supplement and index. V.4 (to be continued) addresses journalistic aspects.
  REF Z 6956 .G3 M27
- Sternfeld, Wilhelm. Deutsche Exil Literatur, 1933-1945: eine Bio- Bibliographie. 2. Aufl. Heidelberg: Schneider, 1970.
  Short biographical introductions and lists of publications; alphabetical arrangement by names of exiled authors.
  In Storage, Available by Request.
- Walter, Hans-Albert. Deutsche Exilliteratur 1933-1950. Stuttgart: Metzler, 1978-
  In progress, expected to be completed in 6 volumes, the last of which will contain a comprehensive index.
  Available at Elizabeth Dafoe Library Second Floor (PT 405 .W24)
Fairy Tales
- Uther, Hans-Jörg. Deutscher Märchenkatalog : Ein Typenverzeichnis. 2015. Print.
  An index and bibliography of different kinds of German fairy tales.
  Available at Elizabeth Dafoe Library Second Floor (GR166 .U85 2015 )
Fiction
- Emmel, Hildegard. Geschichte des deutschen Romans. Bern: Francke, 1972-1978. 3 v.
  History of the German novel from the 15th to the 20th century. Indexing is slight.
  Available at Elizabeth Dafoe Library Second Floor (PT 741 .E54)
- German Fiction Writers, [1885-1945]. Ed., J. Hardin. Detroit: Gail, 1988-1990. (6 v.)
  Substantial essays on selected German and Austrian novelists. In progress: 2 v. cover 1885-1913; 2 v. the period 1914-1945, 1 v. contemporary German authors, 1 v. on Austrian authors (both to be continued).
  REF PT 771 .G47 et al.
  - Also available online via Gale Dictionary of Literary Biography (1885-1913 and 1914-1945 listed separately).
- Handbuch der deutschen Erzahlung. Hrsg., K. Pohlheim. Mnchen: Nymphenburger, 1981.
  A collection of lengthy survey articles exploring the history and theoretical status of German short stories and novellas; with detailed bibliographies.
  Available at Elizabeth Dafoe Library Second Floor (PT 747 .S6 H3)
- Der Romanführer. Hrsg., Wilhelm Olbrich. Stuttgart: Hiersemann, 1950-1979. 16 v.
  Articles on 5000 masterpieces of fiction. Volumes 1-5, 13, and 16 cover German works up to 1973. A comprehensive index to v.1-14 is in v. 15, presently not available.
  In Storage, Available by Request.
- Romanführer A-Z. Hrsg., Kollektiv fur Literaturgeschichte. Berlin: Volk und Wissen, 1973-1980. 3 v. in 4.
  Describes fiction of German-speaking countries, with special emphasis on DDR works.
  Available at Elizabeth Dafoe Library Second Floor (PT 744 .R6 1973)
Film
- Estermann, Alfred. Die Verfilmung literarischer Werke. Bonn: Bouvier, 1965.
  A listing of films (1895-1964) based on German literary works. Includes a historical introduction.
  Available at Elizabeth Dafoe Library Second Floor (PN 1997 .85 .E8)
Genres
- Markwardt, B. Geschichte der deutschen Poetik. Berlin: De Gruyter, 1937-1967. 5 v.
  Comprehensive Survey of German literary theory in chronological arrangement. Very well documented and indexed.
  In Storage, Available by Request.
- Ruttkowski, Wolfgang. Bibliographie der Gattungspoetik. Munchen: Hueber, 1973.
  Lists over 3000 titles related to the history and theory of literary genres.
  REF Z 6511 .R86
Literary journals (see also special periods)
- Giacomuzzi, Renate. Deutschsprachige Literaturmagazine Im Internet : Ein Handbuch. Innsbruck: StudienVerlag, 2012. Print. Angewandte Literaturwissenschaft ; Bd. 16.
  Bibliography of German-language literary journal available electronically.
  Available at Elizabeth Dafoe Library Second Floor (PN 56 I64 G533 2012).
- Bibliographie der Zeitschriften des deutschen Sprachgebietes bis 1900. Hrsg., J. Kirchner. Stuttgart: A. Hiersemann, 1969-1989. 4v.
  German periodicals from all periods in subject arrangement. Comprehensive title index in v.4.
  In Storage, Available by Request.
- Dietzel, Thomas. Deutsche literarische Zeitschriften, 1880-1945. New York: Saur, 1988. 5v.
  Alphabetical arrangement of German literary periodicals of the late 19th and 20th centuries. Comprehensive author/title index in v.5.
  REF Z 2225 .D53 1988
Poetry
- Lyrik - 25 Jahre: Bibliographie der deutschsprachigen Lyrikpublikationen, 1945-1970. Hildesheim: Olms, 1974-1983. 2v.
  Lists nearly 20,000 recent poems in alphabetical author sequence.
  In Storage, Available by Request.
- Heusler, A. Deutsche Vergeschichte mit Einschluss des altenglischen und altnordischen Stabreimverses. Berlin: De Gruyter, 1956. 3v.
  Reprint of the ed. 1925-29. Detailed and well documented history of German poetry.
  In Storage, Available by Request.
Sources
- Kussmaul, Ingrid. Die Nachlasse und Sammlungen des Deutschen Literaturarchivs: ein Verzeichnis. Marbach: Deutsches Literaturarchiv, 1983.
  Describes literary archives and collections held by the Marbach Literatur-Archiv. Has indexes.
  In Storage, Available by Request.
- Manifeste und Dokumente zur deutschen Literatur. Stuttgart: Metzler, [1975-1983].
  Individually published volumes in this series provide substantial documentation and source-material related to the various literary periods surveyed in the series Epochen der deutschen Literatur (830.9-830.95).
  Available at Elizabeth Dafoe Library Second Floor (PT 391 - PT 405).
Theater
- Richel, V. The German Stage, 1767-1890: A Directory of Playwrights and Plays. New York: Greenwood Press, 1988.
  Chronological order with author/play sub-arrangement. Comprehensive index.
  REF PT 641 .R5
Themes
- Luther, Arthur. Land und Leute in deutscher Erzahlung: ein bibliographisches Literaturlexikon. Stuttgart: Hiersemann, 1954.
  Lists 430 places and historical figures which feature in 8000 works of German fiction.
  Available at Elizabeth Dafoe Library Second Floor (PT 41 .L98)
- Schmitt, Franz Anselm. Stoff-und Motivgeschichte der deutschen Literatur: eine Bibliographie. 3rd. ed. Berlin: de Gruyter, 1976.
  Lists themes and topics in German literature and criticism. Arrangement is alphabetical by subject with author/keyword indexes.
  In Storage, Available by Request.
Theses (Hochschulschriften)
Translation
- Morgan, Bayard Quincy. A Critical Bibliography of German Literature in English Translation, 1481-1927. 2nd ed. New York: Scarecrow, 1965. 2 v.
  A bibliography of German literature in translation, with an index of translators. Volume 2 is a supplement embracing the years 1928-1955.
  In Storage, Available by Request.
  Supplement embracing the years 1928-1955: Available at Elizabeth Dafoe Library Second Floor (PT 1113 M8 1965).
- O'Neill, Patrick. German Literature in English Translation: A Select Bibliography. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 1981.
  Nearly 2000 entries of translated titles. Chronological, then alphabetical by author. Translator and author indexes.
  In Storage, Available by Request.
- Smith, Murray R. A Selected Bibliography of German Literature in English Translation, 1956-1960. New York: Scarecrow, 1972.
  Lists translations from German literature and related fields.
  In Storage, Available by Request.

Ask a Librarian

Image: White text on blue background with round thought bubbles Text: Ask Us

Dictionaries

Brockhaus/Wahrig. Deutsches Wörterbuch in sechs Bänden. Hrsg., von G. Wahrig et al. Wiesbaden: Brockhaus und Stuttgart: Deutsche Verlagsanstalt, 1980-1984.
Comprehensive dictionary of the German language, including scientific and foreign terms.
REF PF 3625 .B7
Langenscheidt's Encyclopedic Dictionary of the English and German Languages. Langenscheidt, 1962-1975. 2pts. in 4 vol.
Based on the old and respected Muret-Sanders dictionary, though completely revised. Includes British and American terms.
REF PF 3640 .L258
Kluge, Friedrich. Etymologisches Wörterbuch der deutschen Sprache. 25 ed. Berlin: de Gruyter, 2011.
Standard etymological dictionary, originally published in 1883.
REF PF 3580 .K5
Kupper, Heinz. Wörterbuch der deutschen Umgangsprache. Hamburg: Claasen, 1955-1967. 6 v.
Conceived as a comprehensive dictionary of German slang. Reference has v. 2, covering 10,000 words in from A to Z, and v. 4, presenting occupational slang words.
REF PF 3625 .K8
Wahrig, Gerhard. Deutsches Wörterbuch. Gutersloh: Bertelsmann, 2008.
Best single-volume German dictionary, with extensive grammatical introduction.
REF PF 3625 .W2 2008
Worterbuch der deutschen Gegenwartssprache. Hrsg. von Ruth Klappenbach und Wolfgang Steinitz. Berlin: Akademie-Verlag, 1961- 1977. 6v.
Comprehensive German dictionary with emphasis on 20th century usage.
In Storage, Available by Request.
Brockhaus Enzyklopadie in zwanzig Banden. 17., vollig neubearb. Aufl. des Grossen Brockhaus. Wiesbaden: Brockhaus, 1966-1981. 20 v. + 4 v. suppl.
Standard German encyclopedia providing factual and biographical information. V.21 contains maps, v.22-23 are supplements, v.24 is an illustrated language dictionary.
In Storage, Available by Request.
Deutsche Wortgeschichte. Hrsg. von Friedrich Maurer und Heinz Rupp., 3. Aufl. Berlin: de Gruyter, 1974. 3v.
Important handbook of etymological history with extensive documentation; includes fashion words used during various periods. Comprehensive index in v. 3.
In Storage, Available by Request.
Duden: das grosse Worterbuch der deutschen Sprache in 6 Banden. Mannheim: Bibliographisches Institut, 1976-1981. 6 v.
Comprehensive German dictionary, with substantial examples of usage.
In Storage, Available by Request.

Handbooks and Bio-Bibliographical Guides

Grange, William. Historical Dictionary of German Literature to 1945. Lanham [Md.]: Scarecrow, 2011. Print. Historical Dictionaries of Literature and the Arts ; No. 47.
A biographical and bibliographical source on German authors.
Available at Elizabeth Dafoe Library Reference (PT 41 G73 2011).
Deutsche Philologie im Aufriss. Hrsg., Wolfgang Stammler et al. 2nd ed. Berlin: E.Schmidt, 1957-1962. 3v. + index.
A standard text describing German philology and literature in its development, taking into consideration cultural and historical influences. Library lacks the comprehensive index volume.
Available at Elizabeth Dafoe Library Second Floor (PF 3025 .S8 1957)
Deutsche Schriftsteller im Porträt. Hrsg., Martin Bircher. Munchen: Beck, 1979-1984. 6v.
Full page portraits and brief bio-bibliographical accounts of selected authors from the 16th to the 20th century.
Available at Elizabeth Dafoe Library Second Floor (PT 271 .D4)
Frenzel, Herbert A. und Elisabeth Frenzel. Daten deutscher Dichtung: chronologischer Abriss der deutschen Literaturgeschichte. Munchen: DTV, 1991. 2v.
Provides tables and dates relevant to the historical development of German literature in chronological segments.
PT 103 .F72 1991
Garland, Henry. The Oxford Companion to German Literature. Oxford University Press, 1976.
Entries include biographies, synopses of important works, literary terms, movements, historical events and figures, etc., arranged in dictionary form. Excludes fictional characters.
Available at Elizabeth Dafoe Library Second Floor (PT 41 .G3 1976)
Geschichte der deutschen Literatur vom 18. Jahrhundert bis zur Gegenwart. Hrsg., V. Zmegac. Konisstein: Athenaum, 1979-1984. 3v. in 4.
Collection of lengthy survey articles of literary periods. Well documented and indexed.
2000 Edition Available at Elizabeth Dafoe Library Reserves (PT 85 G48 2000 CD-ROM)
1979 Edition In Storage, Available by Request.
Gutzen, D., N.Oellers, J.H. Petersen. Einfuhrung in die neuere deutsche Literaturwissenschaft. 4. Aufl. Berlin: E. Schmidt, 2009.
Introduction to text-interpretation; surveys different approaches practiced in Germany since the late 19th century.
Available at Elizabeth Dafoe Library Second Floor (PT 45 .G8)
Kindlers Literatur Lexikon. Zurich: Kindler, 1965-1974. 7v. + Suppl.
A scholarly encyclopedia providing information on works of world literature in alphabetical title sequence. Volume 7 contains essays on World literatures, and author/title indexes.
1965 Edition Available at Elizabeth Dafoe Library Reference (REF PN 44 .K54 1965)
1999 CD-ROM Edition Available at Elizabeth Dafoe Library Mezzanine, Multimedia (PN 41 K54 1999 CD-ROM)
Metzler Autoren Lexikon: deutschsprachige Dichter und Schriftsteller vom Mittelalter bis zur Gegenwart. Stuttgart: Metzler, 1994.
Recent dictionary, listing 3000 major German authors.
1994 Edition Available at Elizabeth Dafoe Library Reference (REF PT 155 .M48 1994).
2010 Edition Available at Elizabeth Dafoe Library Second Floor (PT 155 M48 2010).
Fricke, H., Grubmüller, Klaus, Müller, Jan-Dirk, & Weimar, Klaus. Reallexikon der deutschen Literaturwissenschaft. 3rd ed. Berlin: de Gruyter, 2007. 3v.
Authoritative dictionary of German literary terms, periods, currents, schools and genres. Long, signed articles, with extensive bibliographies.
REF PT 41 .R43 2007

German Studies Collection: Reference Sources

About this Page

Library Search

Bibliographical Sources

Bibliographies and Handbooks: Special Periods

Bibliographies and Handbooks: Special Aspects

Ask a Librarian

Dictionaries

Handbooks and Bio-Bibliographical Guides