Basic Medical Sciences: Protocols|Methods|Lab

in SpringerLink: "a wide-ranging group of molecular and biochemical techniques that are the most frequently used in medical and clinical research, especially diagnostics. ...Among the technologies presented are southern and western blotting, electrophoresis, PCR, cDNA and protein microarrays, liquid chromatography, in situ hybridization, karyotyping, flow cytometry, bioinformatics, genomics, and ribotyping."

in SpringerLink & SpringerProtocols: this Humana Press "series has provided biotechnology researchers and laboratory scientists with reliable, step-by-step protocols used to discover new approaches to agriculture, food science, and medicine. Each protocol is provided in readily-reproducible step-by-step fashion, opening with an introductory overview, a list of the materials and reagents needed to complete the experiment, and followed by a detailed procedure that is supported with a helpful notes section offering tips and tricks of the trade as well as troubleshooting advice. "

in SpringerLink:

in SpringerLink: a mongoraphic (book) series.

in SpringerLink & SpringerProtocols: published by Human Press this " series was the first to introduce the step-by-step protocols approach that has become the standard in all biomedical protocol publishing. Each protocol is provided in readily-reproducible step-by-step fashion, opening with an introductory overview, a list of the materials and reagents needed to complete the experiment, and followed by a detailed procedure that is supported with a helpful notes section offering tips and tricks of the trade as well as troubleshooting advice.

These hallmark features were introduced by series editor Dr. John Walker and constitute the key ingredient in each and every volume of the Methods in Molecular Biology series. Dr. Walker's editorial overview is what makes the MiMB series one of the most valuable resources for all biological scientists. The high-quality protocols are all peer-reviewed, comprehensive and reliable. "

in SpringerLink and SpringerProtocols: published by Human Press this "series has provided medical researchers and laboratory scientists with reliable, step-by-step protocols used to discover new approaches to combating and treating diseases, such as cancer, arthritis, and cardiovascular disease. Each protocol is provided in readily-reproducible step-by-step fashion, opening with an introductory overview, a list of the materials and reagents needed to complete the experiment, and followed by a detailed procedure that is supported with a helpful notes section offering tips and tricks of the trade as well as troubleshooting advice. "

in SpringerLink and SpringerProtocols: each book in this Human Press "series offers time tested laboratory protocols and step by step methods for reproducible lab experiments to aid toxicologists and pharmaceutical scientists in laboratory testing. With an emphasis on the molecular biology of toxicological methods, Methods of Pharmacology and Toxicology focuses on topics with wide ranging implications to human health, such as Immunotoxicology, Drug Metabolism, and Metabolomics to provide investigators with highly useful compendiums of key strategies and approaches to successful research in drug development."

in SpringerLink and SpringerProtocols: this book published by Human Press provides "theory, outlines of practical procedures, and applications for a range of techniques. Part A of the book describes nucleic acid methods, such as gene expression profiling, microarray analysis and quantitative PCR. In Part B, protein and cell-based methods are outlined, in subjects ranging from protein engineering to high throughput screening. Written by a well-established panel of research scientists, Molecular Biomethods Handbook, 2nd Edition provides an up-to-date collection of methods used regularly in the authors’ own research programs. This book will prove to be an invaluable reference for those engaged in or entering the field of molecular biology, and will provide the necessary background for those interested in setting up and using the latest molecular techniques."

in SpringerLink & SpringerProtocols: published by Human Press "ach book in the series offers tested laboratory protocols and step by step methods for reproducible lab experiments to aid neuroscientists and neurobiologists in laboratory testing and experimentation. With an emphasis on the molecular biology and animal models of neurodegenerative diseases, Neuromethods focuses on topics with wide ranging implications to the central nervous system and brain function, such as electrophysiology, neuroimaging, neurodegenerative diseases such as autism and epilepsy, apoptosis, and patch clamp analysis, to provide investigators with highly useful compendiums of key strategies and approaches to successful research in brain function, degeneration, and development."

in SpringerLink and SpringerProtocols: Hands-on researchers describe in step-by-step detail 73 proven laboratory methods and bioinformatics tools essential for analysis of the proteome. These cutting-edge techniques address such important tasks as sample preparation, 2D-PAGE, gel staining, mass spectrometry, and post-translational modification. There are also readily reproducible methods for protein expression profiling, identifying protein-protein interactions, and protein chip technology, as well as a range of newly developed methodologies for determining the structure and function of a protein. The bioinformatics tools include those for analyzing 2D-GEL patterns, protein modeling, and protein identification. All laboratory-based protocols follow the successful Methods in Molecular Biology™ series format, each offering step-by-step laboratory instructions, ..."

International journal of life sciences methods.

in ScienceDirect: "To encourage the development of formal computing methods, and their application in biomedical research and medical practice, by illustration of fundamental principles in biomedical informatics research; to stimulate basic research into application software design; to report the state of research of biomedical information processing projects; ..."

in ScienceDirect: devoted to covering techniques for: (1) Quantitating and detecting antibodies and/or antigens. (2) Purifying immunoglobulins, lymphokines and other molecules of the immune system. (3) Isolating antigens and other substances important in immunological processes. (4) Labelling antigens and antibodies. (5) ..."

in ScienceDirect: impact factor = 2.09, "publishes original articles, notes and review articles on novel and/or state-of-the-art methods as well as significant improvements to existing methods. Interesting applications of current methods will also be published. All aspects of microbiology excluding virology are covered. "

in ScienceDirect: "new methods or significant developments of recognised methods, used to investigate the organisation and fine structure, biochemistry, molecular biology, histo and cytochemistry, physiology, biophysics and pharmacology of receptors, neurones, synapses, and glial cells; in the nervous system ..."

in ScienceDirect: "publishes original papers and invited reviews covering techniques on all aspects of virology. These include methods for studying the morphology, assembly, replication, composition, function and physiochemical properties of viruses and their components; the purification of viruses and their components; cultivation"

An archive of Methods articles published in Nucleic Acids Research from 1999 to the present.

"an online journal of laboratory protocols for bench researchers. Protocols are presented in a 'recipe' style providing step-by-step descriptions of procedures which users can take to the lab and immediately apply in their own research"

Mary Anne Liebert: "presents procedures and protocols that will be adopted by the tissue engineering community as the research is translated into clinical applications. "

eBook in Wiley Online: "comprehensive research guide that describes both the key new techniques and more established methods. Every chapter discusses the merits and limitations of the various approaches and then provides selected tried-and-tested protocols, as well as a plethora of good practical advice, for immediate use at the bench. It presents the most accessible and comprehensive introduction available to the culture and experimental manipulation of animal cells."

ebook in Ebrary: Reliable lab solutions series: "Loaded with detailed protocols developed and used by leaders in the field."

in ScienceDirect: a monographic (book) series covering a range of methodology topics in cell biology. Online back to 2001.

in ScienceDirect: a monographic (book) series covering a range of enzymology methodologies. Online back to 2000.

in IngentaConnect, published by American Association for Laboratory Animal Science, 1997-, Impact Factor = 1.1 : "an international journal of comparative and experimental medicine, is the leading English-language publication in the field ... The mission of CM is to disseminate high-quality, peer-reviewed information that expands biomedical knowledge and promotes human and animal health through the study of laboratory animal disease, animal models of disease, and basic biologic mechanisms related to disease in people and animals."

in J-Stage: published by Japanese Association for Laboratory Animal Science, 1998-, Impact Factor = .92 : "covers basic to applied biomedical research centering around use of experimental animals and also covers topics
related to experimental animals such as technology, management, and animal welfare."

published by Institute of Laboratory Animal Resources (ILAR), National Research Council, 1989-last 6 months available, Impact Factor = 2.3 : "

in PubMed Central, published by American Association for Laboratory Animal Science, 2008 - last 6 months, Impact Factor = 0.7.

in Highwire, published by Royal Soc. Medicine, 1997- last 3 year embargoed: "The international journal of laboratory animal science and welfare, Laboratory Animals publishes peer-reviewed original papers and reviews on all aspects of the use of animals in biomedical research. The journal promotes improvements in the welfare or well-being of the animals used, it particularly focuses on research that reduces the number of animals used or which replaces animal models with in vitro alternatives."

free, provides current information on animal welfare to investigators, technicians, administrators, exhibitors, and the public.

Australian and New Zealand Council for the Care of Animals in Research and Teaching news

in RSC: "discusses the issues involved and approaches that can be taken. Topics include; the safety evaluation of chemicals, international validation and barriers to the validation of alternative tests, in vitro testing for endocrine disruptors, intelligent approaches to safety evaluation of chemicals, alternative tests and the regulatory framework."

in myiLibray: "

in Palgrave, published by Plagrave McMillan, "Bioethicist and veterinarian Andrew Knight presents more than a decade of ground-breaking scientific research, analysis and experience to provide evidence-based answers to a key question: is animal experimentation ethically justifiable??

in SpringerLink: "This volume focuses on state-of-the-art methods for generating, analyzing and validating such models for studying aspects of human cancer biology"

in National Academies Press, ""The publication of research articles involving animal studies is central to many disciplines in science and biomedicine. Effective descriptions in such publications enable researchers to interpret the data, evaluate and replicate findings, and move the science forward. Analyses of published studies with research animals have demonstrated numerous deficiencies in the reporting of details in research methods for animal studies. Considerable variation in the amount of information required by scientific publications and reported by authors undermines this basic scientific principle and results in the unnecessary use of animals and other resources in failed efforts to reproduce study results. Guidance for the description of animal research in scientific publications outlines the information that should be included in scientific papers regarding the animal studies to ensure that the study can be replicated. ...

National Academies Press ""A respected resource for decades, the Guide for the Care and Use of Laboratory Animals has been updated by a committee of experts, taking into consideration input from the scientific and laboratory animal communities and the public at large. The Guide incorporates new scientific information on common laboratory animals, including aquatic species, and includes extensive references. It provides a framework for the judgments required in the management of animal facilities. This updated and expanded resource of proven value will be important to scientists and researchers, veterinarians, animal care personnel, facilities managers, institutional administrators, policy makers involved in research issues, and animal welfare advocates."

in EBL: "explains in great detail the comparative considerations underlying the choice of animal species and strains in different research disciplines."

in SpringerLink: "combines review articles on selected subjects presented at the symposium “Mouse as a Model Organism – From Animals to Cells”, held in Rovaniemi, Finland, 2009. Among other topics, high-throughput phenotyping of mouse mutants, mouse phenotypes dependent on nature and nuture, and a spectrum of in vivo, ex vivo and in vitro methods to study cancer in mice are described. This book will give an excellent introduction to scientists interested in the use of mice as a model to understand complex biological questions in the post-genomic era. "

in SpringerLink, "The aim of this book is to describe the current knowledge about the welfare of laboratory animals. There is previous literature dealing with the welfare of animals in general, as well as literature dealing with the maintenance and use of laboratory animals. This book brings together these two topics, focusing to the general and species-specific needs of laboratory animals in the light of their welfare. "

a private, nonprofit organization that promotes the humane treatment of animals in science through voluntary accreditation and assessment programs.

a national association dedicated to providing high quality training and educational resources to animal care professionals across Canada.

CCAC is an autonomous and independent body, created in 1968 to oversee the ethical use of animals in science in Canada.

U.S. Institute for Laboratory Animal Research links to other sources for animal care information including: Animal Alternatives, Welfare, and Ethics, Reference and Training Materials, Databases and Repositories of Laboratory Animal Models and Strains, For Students and Teachers, Governmental Organizations, Regulations, and Guidelines, Housing and Caging, Information on the Care and Use of Laboratory Animals, International Laboratory Animal Organizations, Journals, Magazines, and Newsletters, Laboratory Animals Breeders, Vendors, and Associated Services, Laboratory Animal Diets, Laboratory Animal Facility Construction, Laboratory Animal Transportation Organizations and Guidelines, Listservs, Professional Societies, Trade Organizations, and Advocacy Groups

to evaluate and to report on scientific, technological, and ethical use of animals and related biological resources, and of non-animal alternatives in non-food settings, such as research, testing, education, and production of pharmaceuticals.

an international scientific organization dedicated to advancing human and animal health by promoting the ethical care and use of laboratory animals in research worldwide.