Skip to Main Content
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More

Research Grants & Endowments: J.B. Rudnyckyj Distinguished Lecture Series

 

EASTERN EUROPEAN PERSPECTIVES:
J.B. RUDNYCKYJ DISTINGUISHED LECTURE SERIES

Transcript Editors:
Tatiana Nazarenko (2000-2002)
Orest Cap (2000-2006)
Myroslav Shkandrij (2002-2006)
James Kominowski (2007-present)

ISBN 0-9688552-0-2 
© All rights reserved. Portions of the materials can be used for research and educational purposes provided acknowledgment is made.

Each year the J.B. Rudnyckyj Distinguished Lecture brings to Winnipeg an internationally acknowledged scholar to speak on a topic of interest to those pursuing Eastern European and/or Slavic Studies. The lecture is jointly sponsored by the Department of German & Slavic Studies, the Elizabeth Dafoe Library Slavic Collection and the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections. It is funded by an endowment established by J.B. Rudnyckyj.

Jaroslav Bohdan Rudnyckyj was born in 1910 in Peremyshl, Poland. He studied at Lviv University where he obtained his M.A. in 1934 and his Ph.D. in 1937. He was a research associate from 1938 until 1940 at the Ukrainian Scientific Institute in Berlin, then a professor at the Ukrainian Free University, first in Prague (1941-45) and then in Heidelberg (1947-48). He headed the Department of Slavic Studies at the University of Manitoba from 1949 to 1977. Prof. Rudnyckyj wrote extensively on Ukrainian linguistics, folklore and literature. His books include The Ukrainian Language and Its Dialects (1937), A Modern Ukrainian Grammar (1949), and Canadian Place Names of Ukrainian Origin (1952), and An Etymological Dictionary of the Ukrainian Language (1972). Professor Rudnyckyj was a community activist, headed many academic organizations including the Canadian Associations of Slavists and was a member of the Royal Commission on Bilingualism and Biculturalism (1963-71).

 

J.B. RUDNYCKYJ DISTINGUISHED LECTURE SERIES 
ADVISORY COMMITEE

  • Heather Bidzinski (Archives & Special Collections, University of Manitoba) 
  • James Kominowski (Slavic Collection, Elizabeth Dafoe Library, University of Manitoba)
  • Magda Blackmore (Department of German & Slavic Studies, University of Manitoba)
  • Yulia Ivaniuk (Centre for Ukrainian Canadian Studies)
  • Sophia Kachor (Executive Director, Oseredok, Ukrainian Cultural and Educational Centre)  
  • Iryna Konstantiuk (Department of German & Slavic Studies, University of Manitoba) 
  • Andriy Zayarnyuk (Department of History, University of Winnipeg)
  • Olga Chepurnaya (Department of Sociology, University of Winnipeg)
  • Linda Eddy (Archives & Special Collections, University of Manitoba) - recorder of minutes  

Complete list of J.B. Rudnyckyj Distinguished Lectures with links to videos and transcripts