The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More
Conservation is a primary function of all archives. Through conservation science, treatment, and preventive conservation techniques, conservators preserve archival material so they can be accessed by current and future generations.
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections contracts its conservation work out to professional conservator Jane Dalley of DF Heritage Conservation Services.
This page will demonstrate some of the excellent conservation work being done on our archival materials.
Preserving Family Heirlooms
The following websites offer information on the safekeeping of various types of family heirlooms, from newspaper clippings to family Bibles. If you have something that is not covered in the list, please contact us and we will update the list with your request.
The information on this site is for informational purposes only. If you need specific advice, please seek a professional conservator who is knowledgeable in that area.
Care of Collections
The Canadian Conservation Institute is a world leader in the preservation and care of historical collections. CCI Notes offer practical advice about issues and questions related to the care, handling, and storage of books, photographs, paintings, ceramics, glass, furniture, coins, fur, metals, stone, plaster, time capsules and textiles. Electronic copies of CCI Notes in English and French are available FREE to everyone on the CCI Web site:
http://www.cci-icc.gc.ca/
The Conservation Services at the Royal British Columbia Museum have written a number of useful guidelines for paintings, drawings, gems, jewellery, furniture, medals, furs, books, textiles, photographs and sculpture:
http://www.royalbcmuseum.bc.ca/Conservation/default.aspx
The American Library of Congress has a comprehensive guide to the care of books, photographs, film, documents, maps, posters and artwork:
http://www.loc.gov/preserv/careothr.html
The Smithsonian's Museum Conservation Institute (MCI) provides the general public with information on how to take care of family heirlooms and privately held art objects. Although some of their publications can be technical in nature, others are written for a broader audience:http://si.edu/mci/english/learn_more/taking_care/index.html
The Australian Heritage Collections Council`s website reCollections: Caring for Collections Across Australia is a set of practical guidebooks for use principally by non-conservators working with Australia’s cultural heritage. The guidelines cover paper, books, paintings, electronic media, textiles, leather, wood and metals:
http://archive.amol.org.au/recollections/index.htm
Newspaper Clippings
http://www.idahohistory.net/Preserve_Newspaper_Clippings.pdf
Binding and Repairing Books
http://www.philobiblon.com/pressite.shtml
(Please note that rare books or books with any historical value should only be repaired by a trained conservator and never rebound. These instructions are for books of personal value only)
Moving Images and Sound
The Association of Moving Images Archivists (AMIA) is concerned with the acquisition, description, preservation, exhibition and use of moving image materials such as film and videotape. They provide many good sources of information under the Publications & Resources section of their website.
http://www.amianet.org/resources/guidelinesnologin.php?accesscheck=%2Fresources%2Fguidelines.php