Skip to main content

What's On at the Archives: Home

Upcoming Events

Current Exhibit – Voices from Vimy: Manitobans on the Ridge

Date & Time: April 3 - June 30, 2017, Monday-Friday, 8:30 am to 4:30 pm.

Location: University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections, 330 Elizabeth Dafoe Library, Fort Garry Campus.

An exhibit on the 100th Anniversary of the Battle of Vimy Ridge. The exhibit is curated by Andrea Martin and Tyyne Petrowski, the authors of From the Somewhere.

More information on the exhibit:

http://fromthesomewhere.tumblr.com/post/158741059289/exhibit-opens-in-just-over-a-week-as-weve-been


Launch Date: February 28, 2017
Location: University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections, 330 Elizabeth Dafoe Library, Fort Garry Campus.

On February 28, 1877, the University of Manitoba became the first degree-granting body in Western Canada. In this role, the newly formed institution conferred degrees to students enrolled in three colleges: St. John’s College, Manitoba College and Saint Boniface College. Though the University and the colleges were male dominated spaces at that time, one man saw the University of Manitoba as a space where a richer identity could grow. Dr. Alexander Kennedy Isbister, a Métis lawyer who spent his formative years in Manitoba, bequeathed $83,000 to the University upon his death in 1883. His will expressly stated that the trust be used for students of merit, no matter their gender and “without distinction of race, creed, language or nationality.” While this request did not change the student makeup overnight, Isbister’s bequest sowed the seeds of diversity and inclusion at the University. In the years that followed, the institution would see many students who embodied Isbister’s ideal leave its halls, degree in hand. 

This provision of education has impacted thousands of students throughout the University’s history. But, the institution was likewise changed by these students who enhanced education through different perspectives and new experiences, transforming the University’s identity and changing the face of the student body to one that truly reflected Isbister’s vision of education in Manitoba. In the University’s 140th year, The Legacy of Alexander Kennedy Isbister series explores the evolution of identity and diversity at the University of Manitoba and celebrates the enduring legacy of the man from which these ideas were first born: Alexander Kennedy Isbister, a man before his time.

 


Official Launch of "Voices from Vimy: Manitobans on the Ridge

Date & Time: Tuesday, April 11, 2017, 7 pm.

Location: University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections, 330 Elizabeth Dafoe Library, Fort Garry Campus.

The "Voices from Vimy" exhibit will officially launch with a talk by Andrea Martin (co-author of From the Somewhere; Records Management Administrator at MGEU) and Tyyne Petrowski (co-author of From the Somewhere; Director of Archives, Archdiocese of Winnipeg).