Skip to main content

Digital Archives: Home

About UM Digital Collections

Click here to access over 75,000 digital materials from UofM Libraries and Archives.

 

UM Digital Collections is the primary source for digitized archival material.  UM Digital Collections currently features over 75,000 digitized items including correspondence, photos, books, newspapers, and film.  This material is freely accessible for browsing, searching, and downloading low- or high-resolution copies. 

The following digital collections range in scope from the entirety of certain collections, to portions of others. Please note that they represent only a fraction of the volume of the Archives' holdings.  If you can not find the resource you desire on-line, please contact the Archives or visit us in person. Arrangements can be made to scan materials you seek.

 

Legacy Databases

While it is the goal of the Archives to migrate all of its digital content to UM Digital Collections, currently digitized material can also be located in several other systems and locations.

Arctic Blue Books
Online
Prairie Populist: A 
Window on a Nation
Building Experience

[link to archived site]
Winnipeg Tribune

World War II Service

Database

       

Digital Exhibits

Digitized content can also be found in multiple online exhibits. Online exhibits are organized thematically below.

Arts & Culture        Human Rights Indigenous Peoples Northern Studies    Prairie History       
Rare Books

Religion, Philosophy & Spiritualism

University History Women's Studies World History

Arts & Culture

A.H. Reginald Buller
Botanical Drawings

Glee at the
University

Prairie Prestige: How
Western Canadian Artists
Have Influenced
Canadian Art

Charlie Thorson

Sandra Barz:

Explorations in Inuit

Culture

     

Human Rights

Canadian Friends of the
Hebrew University of Jerus-alem,
Winnipeg Chapter

Irene Knysh

Manitoba Gay and
Lesbian Archives

Walter Rudnicki


Indigenous Peoples

Henry Budd Letters

Red River Cartes de visite

Walter Rudnicki

 

Sandra Barz:

Explorations in Inuit 

Culture

  


Northern Studies

Arctic Blue Books
Online

Andrew Taylor

Walter Rudnicki

Sandra Barz:

Explorations in Inuit 

Culture

  
 

Prairie History

Archives of the
Agricultural Experience

Henry Budd Letters

Hamilton Family

Landmarks, Monuments,
and Built Heritage of the West

Manitoba Historical
Maps' Photostream

Prairie Immigration
Experience

 

Prairie Prestige: How
Western Canadian Artists
Have Influenced
Canadian Art

Professional Hockey in Winnipeg

Red River Cartes de visite

     

Rare Books

Dysart Memorial Collection
of Rare Books and
Manuscripts Virtual Exhibition

King James Bible, 1611
(First Edition)

 

Talwin Morris Rare
Book Exhibition

Selected Illustrations from
the Rare Book Collection

"The Bell Manuscript"
Transcription

 

 



Religion, Philosophy & Spiritualism

Dysart Memorial Collection
of Rare Books and
Manuscripts Virtual Exhibition

Emil & Lynette Hain

Hamilton Family

King James Bible, 1611
(First Edition)


University History

A.H. Reginald Buller
Botanical Drawings

Canadian Friends of the
Hebrew University of Jerusalem,
Winnipeg Chapter

Glee at the
University

Eleanor Roosevelt
Conovcation Address

McLuhan 
the Manitoban

 

   

Women's Studies

Eleanor Roosevelt
Conovcation Address

Irene Knysh

Hilda Morrish

Women and
Education


World History

Canadian Friends of the
Hebrew University of Jerusalem,
Winnipeg Chapter

Canadian Wartime
Experience

Emil & Lynette Hain

Irene Knysh

Hilda Morrish

     

 

Other Resources

The University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections further shares some of its digitized content through various social media platforms.

Watch my videos on YouTube          See what we've pinned on history pin