The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More
Call Number: Tc 17, Tc 23, Tc 26, Tc 33, Tc 34, Tc 35, Tc 37, Tc 38, Tc 39, Tc 40 (A1983-057, A1985-11, A1985-012), TC 175 (A1999-016)
Title: Archives & Special Collections fonds.
Dates: 1982-1986.
Extent: 20 audio-cassettes.
Administrative history: The University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections is a unit within the University of Manitoba Libraries. Established in 1978, the Department has as its mission "to acquire, catalogue and preserve special research collections which further the educational aims of the University of Manitoba, and to promote and provide wide access to them."
The University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections Discovery Hour Series saw a number of notable people speak on a variety of topics. Some of these talks were associated with the donation of materials to Archives & Special Collections.
Custodial history: The items in the fonds were created by University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections. They were accrued separately from 1982 to 1986, and were assigned separate collection numbers at that time. Each collection can still be found under its original retrieval number.
Scope and content: The fonds consists of recordings of addresses given at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections Discovery Hour Series. The fonds includes addresses by Charles C. Bigelow (November 16, 1983 - TC 17), J.M. Bumsted (April 28, 1982 - TC 33), J.C. Gilson (April 17, 1985 - TC 26), William F. Lye (July 15, 1982 - TC 34), Eli Mandel (January 31, 1985 - TC 23), Gerry McKinney (December 12, 1984 - TC 37), John Newlove (October 29, 1986 - TC 40), Heather Robertson (February 20, 1985 - TC 38), Wilfried Ruttkowski (March 20, 1985 - TC 23), Leigh Simms (April 11, 1984 - TC 35), and Douglas O. Spettigue (May 29, 1986 - TC 39).
Source of supplied title: Title based on provenance of fonds.
Restrictions: There are no restrictions on this material.
Finding aid: Finding aid is currently unavailable.