The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More
Call Number: Ua 38, Mf 23 (A.79-01, A.80-48, A.81-11, A.83-12, A.83-38, A.84-15, A.85-02, A.85-31, A.86-09, A.87-03, A.87-09, A.87-27, A.87-62, A.88-41, A.89-05, A.89-21, A.90-05, A.90-09, A.90-47, A.90-56, A.90-72, A.91-08, A91-45, A.92-05, A.93-23, A.94-21, A.95-22)
Title: Admissions Office fonds.
Dates: 1977-1990.
Extent: 0.45 m of textual records. -- 61 microfilm reels.
Administrative history: The Admissions Office was created out of the former Registrar's Office in 1975. It is responsible for the processing of applications for first-time admissions and internal transfers to all undergraduate programs of the University, as dictated by Senate-approved policies. Its mandate includes the following: initiation of the individual student record file, processing all documents submitted in support of an application, evaluating transcripts, checking for the fulfilment of program pre-requisites, and assessing course equivalencies for admission and transfer of credit. Admissions officers also prepare and present material for faculty and school selection committees.
Custodial history: The fonds was donated to University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections in several accessions in the 1970s, 1980s, and 1990s. Approximately 17.98 m of textual records were converted to microfilm (MF 23).
Scope and content: The fonds consists primarily of enrolment statistics but also includes some committee reports.
Restrictions: This collection is restricted. Records can be requested and accessed once they have been reviewed by Archives & Special Collections staff.
Finding aid: A printed finding aid is available in the Archives reading room.