LibGuides: Lewis St. George Stubbs fonds: MSS 188, PC 180 (A.96-94, A.97-69)

Lewis St. George Stubbs:

An Inventory of his papers at the Archives & Special Collections at the University of Manitoba

Inventory prepared by Lewis St. George Stubbs
Department of Archives and Special Collections University of Manitoba
Winnipeg, Manitoba
(December 2004)

Finding aid encoded by Lewis St. George Stubbs
Finding aid written in English.

Revision History

July 26, 2005 - Mss188 PC 180 A.96-94 A.97-69 converted from EAD 1.0 to 2002 by v1to02.xsl (sy2003-10-15).

Table of Contents

Collection Summary

Biography of Lewis St. George Stubbs

Scope and Contents of the Papers

Organization of the Papers

Arrangement of the Papers

No restrictions on access

No Restrictions on Use

Custodial History

Detailed Description of the Collection

Lewis St. George Stubbs fonds1849-1982

MSS 188 A.97-69 1911-1957

Collection Summary

Repository:

Archives & Special Collections, University of Manitoba
331 Elizabeth Dafoe Library

Creator:

Lewis St. George Stubbs

Title:

Lewis St. George Stubbs fonds

Dates:

1890-1958

Quantity:

3.4 m of textual records and 13 photographs

Identification:

Mss 188 PC 180 A.96-94

Language:

English.

Return to Top

Biography of Lewis St. George Stubbs

Lewis St. G. Stubbs was born on June 14, 1878 in the Turks & Caicos Islands, British West Indies. He left Cambridge University, where he was studying to become a medical missionary, to fight in the Boer War 1900-1901. He immigrated to Winnipeg in 1902 and was called to Manitoba Bar Association in 1906. In 1904 he married Mary Wilcock. In 1908 they moved to Birtle, Manitoba where he practiced law for fourteen years. In 1921 he ran unsuccessfully for the Liberal Party against T.A. Crerar the leader of the Progressive Party in the federal riding of Marquette. In April 1922 he became the first judicial appointment of the newly appointed Mackenzie King and moved back to Winnipeg. The MacDonald Will Case in 1929 brought Stubbs notoriety and conflict with his fellow judges and the legal establishment. In the following three years several complaints of judicial misbehavior were lodged by the Attorney-General of Manitoba with the Department of Justice. In January 1933 a Federal Commission led by Justice Frank Ford staged an inquiry into Stubbs judicial conduct. He was removed from the bench by order-in-council June 1, 1933. A month later he won the nomination to become the newly C.C.F. party’s first candidate in a by-election in the riding of Mackenzie in Saskatchewan. He lost the election and returned to the practice of law in Winnipeg. In 1936 Stubbs ran as an independent candidate in the provincial election. On a platform of Human Rights and Social Justice and a campaign budget of $200.00, he swept the polls with greatest electoral majority ever recorded in the Manitoba Legislature. He won re-election in 1941 & 1945. Stubbs was active in many left leaning/united front political organizations. He was the President of the Winnipeg Committee to Aid Spanish Democracy from 1936-1939 and President of the local arm of the National Committee for Peace and Democracy 1938-1939. In 1956 Stubbs appeared before the Supreme Court of Canada representing John Tunney in a suit against the Teamsters’ Union. He died in May 1958.

Return to Top

Scope and Contents of the Papers

The fonds for A.96-94 consists of eight series. They include biographical information, correspondence, the MacDonald Will Case, Ford Commission, Mackenzie Bye-election, Winnipeg Committee to Aid Democracy, John Tunney appeal to Supreme Court and speeches. The fonds for A.97-69 consists of five series. They include correspondence, speeches, evidence & briefs, E.J. McMurray material, topics of interest and material by other people.

Return to Top

Organization of the Papers

This collection is organized into

Return to Top

Arrangement of the Papers

This collection is arranged

Return to Top

No restrictions on access

Return to Top

No Restrictions on Use

Return to Top

Custodial History

The fonds were donated in 1996 & 1997 by Lewis St. George Stubbs (grandson) & Lesley E. Sisler

Return to Top

Detailed Description of the Collection

Lewis St. George Stubbs fonds 1849-1982

BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION [ 1849-1957 ]

Box	Folder
1	1	Historical information Re: Stubbs family in Turks & Caicos Islands [ 1849-1957 ]
	2	Stubbs correspondence with Time Magazine & an article about him [ 1944-1952 ]
	3	Articles about Stubbs in the Montreal Standard [ 1946 ]
	4	Article about Stubbs in Saturday Night [ 1937 ]
	5	Article about Stubbs and the Tunney Case in Maclean's magazine [ 1954 ]

CORRESPONDENCE [ 1890-1945 ]

Box	Folder
1	6	Letters home from York Castle School in Jamaica [ 1890-1892 ]
	7	Letters home from Denstone College in England [ 1893-1895 ]
	8	Letters home from Denstone College in England [ 1897-1899 ]
	9	Letters home from Winnipeg & Birtle [ 1904-1909 ]
	10	Letters home from Birtle [ 1913-1919 ]
	11	Marquette federal political campaign [ 1921 ]
	12	Letter of congratulations to Mackenzie King [ 1921 ]
	13	Letters home [ 1922-1931 ]
	14	Information on Stubbs early influences Fred Dixon & R.M. Mobius [ [1920s] ]

Box	Folder
2	1	Letters of Congratulations Re: judgeship [ 1922 ]
	2	Correspondence with Solicitor-General E.J. McMurray [ 1922-1925 ]
	3	Newspaper clippings Re: Liquor laws [ 1925-1927 ]
	4	Re: sale of Birtle property [ 1922-1928 ]
	5	Liquor law enforcement [ 1925-1927 ]
	6	E.J. McMurray [ 1925-1945 ]
	7	Mackenzie King [ 1926-1940 ]
	8	Changes to judge's fees [ 1927-1928 ]
	9	John Bracken includes newsclippings [ 1927-1945 ]
	10	Attorney-General Major [ 1928 ]
	11	Judge's salary report [ ca.1930 ]

MACDONALD WILL CASE [ 1927-1930 ]

Box	Folder
3	1	MacDonald Will Case correspondence [ 1927-1930 ]
	2	Court of Appeal's ruling on the MacDonald Will Case [ 1929-1930 ]
	3	Stubbs clipping file on MacDonald Will Case [ 1929-1930 ]
	4	Walker Theatre speech [ 1930 ]
	5	The MacDonald Will Case pamphlet [ 1930 ]
	6	Stubbs typed notes for the Walker Theater speech [ 1930 ]
	7	Evidence in the MacDonald Will Case vol.1 [ 1930 ]
	8	Evidence in the MacDonald Will Case vol.2 [ 1930 ]
	9	Argument in MacDonald Will Case [ 1930 ]

Box	Folder
4	1	Photographed evidence of last will & testament [ 1930 ]

FORD COMMISSION [ 1929-1933 ]

Box	Folder
4	2	Stubbs verdicts leading up to Ford Commission [ 1925-1933 ]
	3	Articles on varied sentencing [ 1932-1933 ]
	4	Charles Rae verdict & correspondence [ 1932 ]
	5	Saskatchewan correspondence Re: Inquiry [ 1932-1933 ]
	6	Correspondence Re: Inquiry [ 1932-1933 ]
	7	Correspondence Re: judicial difficulties [ 1929-1933 ]

Box	Folder
5	1	Newsclippings on Ford Commission [ 1932-1933 ]
	2	Correspondence with other Canadian Judges [ 1930-1932 ]
	3	Quebec & Maritimes correspondence Re: Inquiry [ 1932-1933 ]
	4	Saskatchewan & Alberta correspondence Re: Inquiry [ 1932-1933 ]
	5	Correspondence with Minister of Justice includes letters of support [ 1930-1933 ]
	6	Stubbs letters to Mackenzie King Re: Inquiry [ 1930-1932 ]
	7	International correspondence Re: Inquiry [ 1932-1933 ]
	8	Ontario correspondence Re: Inquiry [ 1932-1933 ]
	9	British Columbia correspondence Re: Inquiry [ 1932-1933 ]
	10	Correspondence with F. Leighton Thomas [ 1932-1933 ]
	11	Surrogate court fees correspondence & newsclippings & notes for Ford Commission [ 1927-1933 ]
	12	Stubbs newsclippings of personal interest [ 1932-1933 ]

Box	Folder
6	1	Israelite Daily Press on Judge Stubbs [ 1931 ]
	2	Garnishment of Stubbs' wages [ 1932 ]
	3	Stubbs pamphlet: Judicial Crimes Complaints & charges [ 1932 ]
	4	Farmers' Unity League resolutions [ 1932 ]
	5	Stubbs memorandum on judges salaries [ 1932 ]
	6	Civil marriage correspondence [ 1931-1932 ]
	7	Canadian press newsclippings [ 1932-1933 ]
	8	Correspondence with J.S. Woodsworth, Frank Scott, Frank Underhill, Clarence Darrow & Harold Laski [ 1932-1933 ]
	9	S.W. Goerwell [ 1933 ]
	10	The Real Judge Stubbs J.N Sturk [ 1933 ]
	11	Stubbs scrapbook from Ford Commission [ 1933 ]
	12	Correspondence with the Morning Star newspaper [ 1933 ]
	13	Ottawa Citizen correspondence [ 1932 ]
	14	Correspondence with the Witness [ 1932 ]
	15	Correspondence with editor of the Globe [ 1932 ]
	16	Stubbs correspondence S.B. Thompson editor at Hush [ 1933-1937 ]
	17	Stubbs correspondence with Ottawa Journal & newsclippings [ 1932 ]
	18	Ford Commission newsclippings [ 1933 ]
	19	Resolutions passed by various organizations to prevent judicial inquiry [ 1932-1933 ]
	20	Stubbs petition committee organized by Marshall Gauvin [ 1933 ]
	21	Rough draft of Stubbs opening statement to Ford Commission [ 1933 ]
	22	Correspondence with S.W. Thompson [ 1933 ]
	23	Stubbs comment on Justice Trueman's in a case concerning his son-in-law [ 1933 ]
	24	Ford Commission's opening motion [ 1933 ]
	25	Order-in-Council removing Stubbs from bench [ 1933 ]

Box	Folder
7	1	Enquiry into Conduct of Judge Stubbs Vol.1 [ 1933 ]
	2	Enquiry into Conduct of Judge Stubbs Vol.2 [ 1933 ]

Box	Folder
8	1	Enquiry into Conduct of Judge Stubbs Vol.3 [ 1933 ]
	2	Enquiry into Conduct of Judge Stubbs Vol.4 [ 1933 ]
	3	Rights and privileges of counsel address to Ford Commission [ 1933 ]
	4	Copy of Ford report findings [ 1933 ]

MACKENZIE BYE-ELECTION lection [ 1933 ]

Box	Folder
9	1	June correspondence [ 1933 ]
	2	July correspondence [ 1933 ]
	3	August correspondence [ 1933 ]
	4	Election address, publicity & newsclippings [ 1933 ]
	5	Saskatchwan press [ 1933 ]
	6	Stubbs tribute committee [ 1933 ]
	7	Correspondence September [ 1933 ]
	8	October correspondence [ 1933 ]
	9	Stubbs Ontario speaking tour [ 1933 ]
	10	Stubbs correspondence with his official agent Ralph Milbourne [ 1933 ]
	11	Saskatchewan C.C.F. research bureau pamphlet [ 1933 ]
	12	Stubbs correspondence with campaign manager Myron H. Feeley [ 1933 ]

Box	Folder
10	1	Stubbs statement following his defeat in Mackenzie [ 1933 ]
	2	Post-election correspondence [ 1933-1934 ]
	3	Stubbs correspondence with C.C.F. leadership post election [ 1933 ]

Correspondence [ 1932-1942 ]

Box	Folder
10	4	Stubbs correspondence with the Independent Labour Party of Manitoba [ 1933 ]
	5	Dr. Clem Davis re: speaking engagement in British Columbia [ 1933 ]
	6	Articles pertaining to Birtle, Manitoba [ 1933-1941 ]
	7	Investment correspondence [ 1933-1934 ]
	8	Stubbs brief for the King vs. Sorenson case [ 1934 ]
	9	General correspondence [ 1934-1935 ]
	10	File on the Social Credit Party [ 1934 ]
	11	Correspondence Re: Judicial pension [ 1934-1942 ]
	12	File on H.H. Stevens Reconstruction Party [ 1935 ]
	13	Citizens' Defense Movement Regina Re: On-to-Ottawa Trek [ 1935 ]
	14	B'nai B'rith includes trial documents on Nazi Party leader William Whittaker & Eleanor Roosvelt [ 1935-1949 ]
	15	Stubbs letter from Headingly prisoner Re: beating by guards [ 1935 ]
	16	Election correspondence [ 1936 ]
	17	Election & personal correspondence [ 1936 ]

Box	Folder
11	1	Provincial elections press clippings [ 1936 ]
	2	James Litterick letter to Winnipeg Free Press Re: Stubbs [ 1936 ]
	3	Civil Rights & Liberties [ 1932-1942 ]
	4	Civil Liberties Protective Association [ 1933-1936 ]
	5	Canadian League Against Facism later Canadian League for Peace and Democracy [ 1935-1942 ]
	6	Civil Rights & Liberties press clippings & publications [ 1933-1948 ]

Winnipeg Committee to Aid Spanish Democracy [ 1936-1939 ]

Box	Folder
12	1	Correspondence [ 1936-1939 ]
	2	Speeches, minutes & articles [ 1937-1939 ]
	3	Newsclippings & speeches [ 1936-1939 ]
	4	Conference proceedings & book [ 1937-1938 ]
	5	Friends of the Mackenzie Papineau Battalion [ 1938-1939 ]
	6	Spanish Refugees Committee [ 1939 ]
	7	Conference [ 1939 ]

CORESPONDENCE, NEWSCLIPPINGS & BRIEFS [ 1936-1956 ]

Box	Folder
13	1	Manitoba Brewery conflict [ 1936-1937 ]
	2	C.C.F. newsclippings & party publications [ 1936-1946 ]
	3	Winnipeg Charter correspondence & newsclippings [ 1937-1944 ]
	4	Communist Party [ 1937-1943 ]
	5	League of Nations Society of Canada [ 1937-1940 ]

Box	Folder
14	1	Newsclipping files [ 1937-1938 ]
	2	Addresses on the Speech to the Throne [ 1937-1940 ]
	3	Labour -speeches, bills, newsclippings [ 1937-1946 ]
	4	The Autonomy Act [ 1937 ]
	5	Newsclippings on Popular Front [ 1937-1939 ]
	6	Manitoba Legislature newsclippings [ 1937-1939 ]
	7	Selkirk Mental Hospital Employees [ 1937-1948 ]
	8	Petition presented by Catholic Minority to the Royal Commission on Dominion Provincial Relations [ 1937 ]
	9	Shoe repairs association correspondence [ 1937 ]
	10	Law Reform - speech, correspondence & newsclippings [ 1938 ]
	11	Quebec Padlock Law - speech & newsclipping file [ 1938 ]
	12	Stubbs correspondence with various Jewish organizations [ 1938-1941 ]
	13	Ukrainian Labor-Farmer Temple Association [ 1938-1939 ]
	14	Trustees Act & Expectancy of Life - bill & 2 briefs [ 1938-1941 ]

Box	Folder
15	1	Jury resolution [ 1939-1941 ]
	2	W.D. Herridge's New Democracy [ 1939 ]
	3	Co-operation newsclippings & brief to Royal Commission on Co-operations [ 1939-1943 ]
	4	Isabella Gainsford MacDonald [ 1939 ]
	5	Stubbs file on Catholicism newsclippings & pamphlets [ 1939-1946 ]
	6	Manitoba Conference of Unemployed [ 1939 ]

Box	Folder
15	6a	Programme of reception for their Majesties King George VI & Queen Elizabeth [ 1939 ]
	7	Trustees Act [ 1939 ]
	8	Personal correspondence [ 1940-1942 ]
	9	Anti horse racing resolutions [ 1940-1945 ]
	10	Stubbs political scrapbook [ 1940 ]
	11	Winnipeg General Hospital Employees Federal Union No.56 [ 1941 ]

Box	Folder
16	1	Conscription correspondence, newsclippings & speech [ 1939-1941 ]
	2	Communism newsclippings [ 1940-1945 ]
	3	Internment & War Measures Act newsclippings [ 1940-1942 ]
	4	National Probation Association [ 1940 ]
	5	Rowell-Sirois file [ 1940 ]
	6	Coalition [ 1940-1949 ]
	7	Select Committee Re: Inquiry into Administration of Justice in Manitoba [ 1941-1946 ]
	8	Budget debate [ 1941-1944 ]
	9	Provincial C.C.F. election platform [ 1941 ]
	10	Labour Progressive Party Platform [ 1941 ]
	11	Stubbs election committee [ 1941 ]
	12	Stubbs nomination paper for Provincial Election [ 1941 ]
	13	Provincial Election correspondence [ 1941 ]
	14	Provincial Election newsclippings [ 1941 ]
	15	McNeil defence committee correspondence & speeches [ 1941 ]
	16	Mayor Garnet Coulter [ 1942-1946 ]
	17	Affirmative vote committee [ 1942 ]
	18	The Vant Case on wrongful imprisonment [ 1941 ]

Box	Folder
17	1	Chinese Nationalist League & Chinese Patriotic League [ 1942-1944 ]
	2	Civil Jury fee [ 1942 ]
	3	"The First Ten Years" C.C.F. publication [ 1942 ]
	4	Newsclippings from the legislative session [ 1942 ]
	5	Manitoba Civil Service - clippings, pamphlets, correspondence & agreement [ 1943-1945 ]
	6	Submission of Local 216 U.P.W.A. [ 1943 ]
	7	Social Security Planning in Canada - report & newsclippings [ 1943 ]
	8	Legislative session newsclippings [ 1943 ]
	9	Legislative session newsclippings & William Kardash speech [ 1944 ]
	10	Canadian Indians [ 1944-1946 ]
	11	Board of Survey Winnipeg Civic Salaries [ 1944-1945 ]
	12	University of Manitoba [ 1944-1946 ]
	13	Provincial Labour Standards [ 1944 ]
	14	Education - pamphlets, briefs & correspondence [ 1944-1949 ]
	15	National & Winnipeg Council for Canadian Soviet Friendship [ 1944-1950 ]

Box	Folder
18	1	"The Truth about Soviet Russia" - pamphlet [ 1944 ]
	2	Chiropractors [ 1944-1945 ]
	3	Report on highway safety [ 1944-1945 ]
	4	Civic Wage Survey Board correspondence & historical retrospective [ 1944-1945 ]
	5	Racial discrimination [ 1944-1945 ]
	6	Manitoba School for the Deaf [ 1945-1946 ]
	7	Independent M.L.A.'s Dr. Dwight Johnson & Barry Richards [ 1945 ]
	8	Provincial election [ 1945 ]
	9	Dominion election correspondence Stubbs approached to run as Liberal [ 1945 ]
	10	Stubbs scrapbook speeches, briefs & newsclippings [ 1945-1948 ]
	11	Provincial election [ 1945 ]
	12	Map of Manitoba with Governmental districts [ 1945 ]
	13	Pamphlets pertaining to the Saskatchewan Government [ 1945-1946 ]
	14	Stubbs election accounts [ 1945 ]
	15	Stubbs election correspondence [ 1945 ]
	16	Advertisement of the Stubbs campaign committee [ 1945 ]

Box	Folder
19	1	Department of Health - reports & newsclippings [ 1945-1946 ]
	2	Active service election - newsclippings & speeches [ 1945 ]
	3	Legislative session [ 1945 ]
	4	Government Liquor Control Commission [ 1945-1947 ]
	5	Winston Churchill newsclippings [ 1945-1946 ]
	6	Dr. J.R. Davidson's cancer research [ 1945-1946 ]

Box	Folder
20	1	Legislative session [ 1946 ]
	2	Under the Dome nesclippings [ 1946 ]
	3	Soviet Spy Case [ 1946 ]
	4	Housing memorandum [ 1946 ]
	5	Winnipeg City Charter [ 1946 ]
	6	Legislative session [ 1946 ]
	7	Manitoba Pensioners Society [ 1946-1948 ]
	8	Hansard Society [ 1947-1948 ]
	9	Hutterites [ 1947-1948 ]
	10	Old Age Pensions [ 1947 ]
	11	Brewry Motion [ 1947 ]
	12	Stubbs' legal diary [ 1947 ]
	13	Canadian Labor Autonomy [ 1947-1948 ]
	14	Special Committee on Recording Legislative Debate [ 1947-1948 ]
	15	Winnipeg-Emerson highway includes maps [ 1947 ]
	16	Labor disputes & provincial government [ 1947-1948 ]
	17	Legislative session [ 1947 ]

Box	Folder
21	1	Legislative session [ 1948-1949 ]
	2	National Labour Code pamphlets [ 1948 ]
	3	C.P.R. taxation exemption [ 1948 ]
	4	Redistribution clippings [ 1948-1949 ]
	5	Redistribution [ 1932-1948 ]

Box	Folder
22	1	Redistribution [ 1920-1945 ]
	2	Civil Rights Union [ 1948 ]
	3	Comparative salary scale [ 1948 ]
	4	Canadian and Manitoba Bar Association [ 1949-1957 ]
	5	Royal St. George's Society [ 1949-1951 ]
	6	Manitoba-Medico-Legal Society [ 1952-1956 ]
	7	Provincial Election [ 1953 ]
	8	Stubbs' 50th anniversary [ 1954 ]
	9	Condolence card from Marshall Gauvin over death of Mary Stubbs [ 1955 ]
	10	Manitoba Sugar Company [ 1955-1957 ]
	11	Legal diary [ 1955 ]
	12	Tunney vs. Orchard case in Court of Appeal [ 1955 ]
	13	Brief on the town of Birtle [ 1955 ]
	14	50th anniversary of Stubbs & McMurray as members of the Manitoba Bar Association [ 1956 ]
	15	Dr. F.L. Skinner correspondence [ 1956 ]
	16	Stubbs legal diary [ 1956 ]

TUNNEY CASE [ 1956 ]

Box	Folder
23	1	Tunney Case in Supreme Court Vol.1 [ 1956 ]
	2	Tunney Case in Supreme Court Vol.2 [ 1956 ]
	3	Tunney Case in Supreme Court Vol.3 [ 1956 ]
	4	Tunney Case in Supreme Court Vol.4 [ 1956 ]
	5	Tunney Case Respondent's Factum [ 1956 ]

STUBBS SPEECHES [ 1918-1956 ]

Box	Folder
24	1	Direct Legislation [ ca.1918 ]
	2	Peace [ ca. 1918 ]
	3	The Irish Question [ 1918 ]
	4	Legal Relations of Marriage and Divorce at the Women's Institute of Birtle [ 1919 ]
	5	Notes to political speech in Marquette [ 1921 ]
	6	Crime and Punishment [ 1922-1933 ]
	7	League Nations in Canada - Winnipeg branch includes a speech by John Dafoe [ 1927-1930 ]
	8	The Permanent Court of International Justice [ ca.1928 ]
	9	Pacific Means of Settling Disputes or Alternatives for War [ ca.1929 ]
	10	War and Civilization since Versailles [ 1930 ]
	11	The Law and the Poor Nature of the State and Its Laws [ ca.1930 ]
	12	Seven Sisters Pwer Site Deal [ ca.1930 ]
	13	Law of War (League of Nations Society) [ ca.1930 ]
	14	War and Civilization [ 1933 ]
	15	"War" [ 1934 ]
	16	Justice and Humanity [ 1931 ]
	17	Police Powers - The Jury System [ ca.1934 ]
	18	Basic Socialism [ 1933 ]
	19	Independence of the Bench (before Ford Commission) [ 1933 ]
	20	Labor is News [ 1934 ]
	21	Pacificism and Patriotism [ ca.1933 ]
	22	League of Nations notes [ ca.1933 ]
	23	Crime and Punishment [ ca.1935 ]
	24	"Crime" [ ca.1935 ]
	25	The Underdog in Law or Law & the Poor [ ca.1935 ]
	26	Democracy vs. Facism [ ca.1935 ]
	27	International Sanctions or an International Police Force [ ca.1935 ]
	28	Biographical Sketch of Judicial Reformer Edward Perry [ ca.1935 ]
	29	Peace and World Loyalty: or Pacificism, the True Patriotism [ ca.1935 ]
	30	Freedom of the Press [ ca.1935 ]
	31	"The Church" [ ca.1935 ]
	32	Germany's Foreign Policy [ ca.1936 ]
	33	Dominion Theatre - campaign speech [ 1936 ]
	34	Prayer Resolution [ 1936 ]
	35	Election speeches [ 1936 ]
	36	Speech over CKY radio [ 1936 ]
	37	Victory speech election night [ 1936 ]
	38	The Law Fees Act [ 1937 ]
	39	World Citizenship and World Loyalty [ 1937 ]
	40	Strikes & Lockouts Prevention Act [ 1937 ]
	41	Padlock Law [ 1938 ]
	42	Aspects of Law & the Poor [ ca.1928 ]
	43	Jury Resolutions [ 1938 ]
	44	Debate on Minimum Wage [ 1938 ]
	45	Radio Broadcast on Six Man Juries [ ca.1938 ]
	46	Civil Rights and Liberties [ 1938 ]
	47	Speech from the Throne Address [ 1938 ]

Box	Folder
25	1	Speech on behalf of the Communist newspaper The Clarion over C.K.R.C. [ 1939 ]
	2	Motion on the Rights of Employees to Organize [ 1939 ]
	3	Democracy the Board Trade [ 1939 ]
	4	Government Failure to Provide Co-operation Development [ ca.1940 ]
	5	Greetings to Jewry [ ca.1940 ]
	6	Whither Mankind? [ 1940 ]
	7	Memorandum on Canadian Labor Autonomy [ ca.1940 ]
	8	Britain Parliamentary Reform [ ca.1940 ]
	9	Election speeches - includes speeches in support of Stubbs by E.J. McMurray & Jessie Maclennan [ 1941 ]
	10	Stubbs radio address on C.K.R.C. on behalf of Jessie Maclennan running for School Trustee [ 1941 ]
	11	Notes on Horse Racing Motion [ 1943 ]
	12	Notes to speech International Police [ ca.1944 ]
	13	Speech on Report of the Manitoba Cancer Enquiry Commission [ 1945 ]
	14	Lord Russell [ ca.1945 ]
	15	Peace through Law [ 1945 ]
	16	War or Law [ 1945 ]
	17	Redbaiting & Anti Soviet Propaganda [ 1946 ]
	18	Labor & Politics over C.K.Y. radio [ 1945 ]
	19	Election speeches over radio [ 1945 ]
	20	E.J. McMurray speech on Stubbs behalf [ 1945 ]
	21	Collective Bargaining Motion notes [ ca.1945 ]
	22	Notes on Labor Code [ ca.1945 ]
	23	Address to Manitoba Old Age Pensioners Society [ 1946 ]
	24	Parliamentary Government in Canada at United College graduation [ 1946 ]
	25	Civil Rights and Liberties [ 1947 ]
	26	Divorce Reform Resolution in Legislature [ 1947 ]

Box	Folder
26	1	Beer motion notes [ 1947 ]
	2	Liquor Royal Commission motion [ 1947 ]
	3	Old Age Pension notes [ 1947-1948 ]
	4	Speech from Throne notes [ 1948 ]
	5	Actions against the Crown Amendment [ 1948 ]
	6	Winnipeg and C.P.R. taxation [ 1948 ]
	7	Notes on Prefontaine Motion re: Dominion-Provincial tax agreements [ 1948 ]
	8	Stubbs circular letter Re: Redistribution of electoral representation [ 1948 ]
	9	International Unions Re: Donovan Swailes [ 1949 ]
	10	Speech on second amendment to Throne Speech [ 1949 ]
	11	Notes on speech from the Throne [ 1949 ]
	12	Notes on education motion [ 1949 ]
	13	Notes on Redistribution Committee [ 1949 ]
	14	Parliamentary Government at Canadian Icelandic Club [ 1949 ]
	15	Laurier to the National Club [ 1950 ]
	16	Parliamentary Government at the Manitoba Bar Association [ 1950 ]
	17	"Our Mistress - The Law" graduating class Faculty of Law [ 1951 ]
	18	Our two Professions first annual dinner Medico-Legal Society [ 1953 ]
	19	Independent candidate campaign speech on C.K.R.C. radio [ 1953 ]
	20	Campaign speech C.J.O.B. [ 1953 ]
	21	Campaign speech C.K.R.C. [ 1953 ]
	22	Campaign speech C.K.R.C. [ 1953 ]
	23	Campaign speech C.J.O.B. [ 1953 ]
	24	Our Profession to Law students [ 1954 ]
	25	Wills for the Elmwood Home and School Association [ 1955 ]

MATERIAL BY OTHER PEOPLE [ 1897-1982 ]

Box	Folder
27	1	Two pamphlets on Direct Legislation [ 1897-1898 ]
	2	Short History of Ashbury Church [ ca.1900 ]
	3	Colonial Reports No.56 Turks & Caicos Island - Report on salt Industry [ 1908 ]
	4	Pamphlet: Russell Trial and Labor's Rights Opinion by W.H. Trueman K.C. [ 1919 ]
	5	Memorandum by W.M. Dickson on the Parole System [ ca.1920 ]
	6	Address to the House of Commons by Eamon de Valera [ 1921 ]
	7	Copy of United Farmers of Manitoba Platform [ 1922 ]
	8	Pamphlet "Elementary Civil Procedure" F.Read L.L.B. [ 1925 ]
	9	Pamphlet "Hours that Stood Apart" by J.S. Woodsworth [ 1929 ]
	10	Address by H.A. Bergman to the Manitoba Bar Association [ 1930 ]
	11	Pamphlet "A Plea for Social Justice" extracts from J.S. Woodsworth speeches in the House of Commons [ 1930-1933 ]
	12	Pamphlet "The Way of Liberalism" address by Hon. Vincent Massey [ 1932 ]
	13	Two Marshall J. Gauvin speeches [ 1931-1937 ]
	14	Pamphlet "National Council on Education" [ 1933 ]
	15	Proposed Bill to Provide for the Superannuation of Civil Servants [ ca.1936 ]
	16	Weekly Supplement of the Christian Sociologist contains information on Stubbs [ 1937 ]
	17	"Why They Fought in Spain" Margaret Gould press release [ 1938 ]
	18	Open letter to Generalissimo Chiang Kai-Shek from Sigurdur Vilhjalmsson [ 1938 ]
	19	"Literature and Society" by Barker Fairley [ ca.1940 ]
	20	"The Art and Craft of Talking" by John Hilton B.B.C. [ ca.1940 ]
	21	"Free Speech" speech given by Gerald Fonteaux to R.C.M.P. at Montreal [ 1940 ]
	22	Pamphlet: "The Early History of St. Andrews" by Frances Wren [ 1942 ]
	23	Pamphlet: "Cancer a Nutritional Deficiency " by J.R. Davidson [ 1943 ]
	24	"What about the Japanese Canadians" by Howard Norman and the Vancouver Consultative Council [ 1945 ]
	25	Pamphlet "The Ukrainian Agony" Professor Watson Kirkconnell [ 1946 ]
	26	Open letter from the Manitoba Educational Committee of the Western Canada Association of the Deaf [ 1946 ]
	27	"Premier T.C. Norris" by J. Maclean [ 1949 ]
	28	Pamphlet "Picketing and the Riot Act" by H.E. Manning K.C. [ 1949 ]
	29	Pamphlet: "Report on Investigations in Korea & China [ 1952 ]
	30	Pamphlet: "Strike Penalty - Ten Years in Jail" [ 1951 ]
	31	Pamphlet: "Visit to Russia & South East Asia" by Norman E. Smith [ 1955 ]
	32	History of the Beaver Flat Drainage Scheme [ 1957 ]
	33	"The MacDonald Will Case" draft of an article Stubbs grandson of same name appeared in University of Manitoba Law Journal [ 1982 ]
	34	"Will Manitoba Taxpayers Consent to Pay for Roman Catholic Seperate Schools?" speech by T.T. Shields [ 1952 ]

PHOTOGRAPH COLLECTION A.96-94 P.C.180 [ 1895-1948 ]

Box	Folder
1	1	1. Denstone College in England, 2-6 portraits of Stubbs,7-9 portraits of Stanley St. George Stubbs includes his aircrew lost during World War II 10. Manitoba judges, 11-13 Manitoba Legislative assembly [ 1895-1948 ]

Return to Top

MSS 188 A.97-69 [ 1911-1957 ]

CORRESPONDENCE [ 1911-1957 ]

Box	Folder
1	1	A. Shipley Christ's College [ 1911 ]
	2	Stubbs- Kursteiner Salt Co. [ 1913-1951 ]
	3	Sister Emily Kursteiner [ 1913-1947 ]
	4	Kursteiner estate [ 1918-1957 ]
	5	General Strike newsclippings [ 1919 ]
	6	Color prints from the Stubbs & Pratt law office [ 1921 ]
	7	Stubbs purchase of second mortgage on 187 Kitson St. [ 1925-1931 ]
	8	Newsclippings about Stubbs [ 1925-1966 ]
	9	Pratt & Lauman Barristers correspondence [ 1926-1928 ]
	10	Son Roy in Turks & Caicos Islands [ 1926 ]
	11	Personal correspondence [ 1927-1937 ]
	12	Sister Emily Kursteiner [ 1927 ]
	13	Roy Stubbs to parents [ 1930-1945 ]
	14	Stubbs letter to his mother [ 1930 ]
	15	Cartoons of Stubbs [ ca.1930 ]
	16	Canadian Surety Co. [ 1930 ]
	17	The Alternative to Revolution [ ca.1930 ]
	18	Note on fellow judges [ ca.1930 ]
	19	Notes on the late Chief Justice Meredith and the Ontario bench [ ca.1930 ]
	20	Judge salaries [ ca.1930 ]
	21	Stubbs & John W. Pratt mutual release from indenture [ 1930 ]
	22	Law Society of Manitoba Report of Benchers [ 1930 ]
	23	Newsclippings from "The Forum" [ 1930 ]
	24	W.J. Major to Arthur Sullivan Re: Judge Stubbs [ 1932 ]
	25	Stubbs correspondence with Arthur Sullivan & Deputy Minister of Justice Stuart Edwards [ 1931-1932 ]
	26	E.J. McMurray to Minister of Justice Hugh Guthrie re: Judge Stubbs [ 1931 ]
	27	Letter to Harold Laski [ 1932 ]
	28	Stubbs correspondence with various editors [ 1932 ]
	29	A Humanist Manifesto [ 1933 ]
	30	Stubbs letter to Mackenzie King - Re: Judicial Inquiry [ 1932 ]
	31	Stubbs comment to press on Rebbit & Brown Affair Rebbit was Justice Trueman's son-in-law [ 1932 ]
	32	Roy Stubbs letters to Clarence Darrow & Sir Edward Abbott Parry [ 1933 ]
	33	Correspondence with Robert East Re: Stubbs debt [ 1933-1938 ]
	34	Quotations received from Herbert Pierce during Mackenzie Bye-election [ 1933 ]
	35	Roy Stubbs letter to C.C.F. Clubs Re: his father's lecture tour [ 1933 ]
	36	Stubbs newsclipping file Machray scandal [ 1933 ]
	37	Nephew Reggie Chomyn-Ching [ 1934 ]
	38	Daughter Lillian Lindbergh [ 1936-1945 ]
	39	Brother-in-law James Wilcocks [ 1936 ]
	40	Newsclippings on Redistribution [ 1938-1948 ]

Box	Folder
2	1	Sister Emily Kursteiner [ 1939-1956 ]
	2	Leonard Watson Christmas card [ 1940 ]
	3	Death of family friend Margaret Williams [ 1941 ]
	4	Son Stanley Stubbs killed in 1942 [ 1939-1956 ]
	5	E.A. Fitzroy speaker of the House of Commons [ 1942 ]
	6	M.L.A. correspondence [ 1943-1947 ]
	7	Elise Stubbs (Stanley's widow) [ 1942-1943 ]
	8	Public Administration Service [ 1944 ]
	9	C.C.F. [ 1944-1948 ]
	10	Result sheet from Provincial Election [ 1945 ]
	11	Jules Preudhomme letter to Roy Stubbs Re: Isaac Pitblado [ 1946 ]
	12	Correspondence with son Roy From Turks & Caicos [ 1946 ]
	13	Minutes of select special committee on Redistribution [ 1948 ]
	14	Correspondence [ 1950-1952 ]
	15	Winnifred Lee [ 1950-1956 ]
	16	Tunney Case file [ 1953 ]
	17	Provincial election newsclippings [ 1953 ]
	18	Brief on behalf of the town of Birtle [ 1955 ]
	19	Stubbs correspondence with his children [ 1955-1956 ]
	20	Condolence letters upon death of wife Mary [ 1955 ]
	21	Stubbs to sister Emily Re: Death of wife Mary [ 1955 ]
	22	Muriel L. Stubbs Turks & Caicos correspondence [ 1956 ]
	23	Eddie Stubbs Turks & Caicos Islands [ 1956 ]
	24	Cousin Beth Stubbs Thorough [ 1956 ]
	25	Correspondence from former Kursteiner employees [ 1956-1957 ]
	26	Jessie Lewis [ 1957 ]

SPEECHES, EVIDENCE & BRIEFS [ 1930-1955 ]

Box	Folder
3	1	Partial speech League of Nations [ 1930 ]
	2	Evidence of A.B. Flett MacDonald Will Case [ 1930 ]
	3	On World History [ ca.1935 ]
	4	Stubbs radio address over C.K.R.C. [ 1936 ]
	5	Stubbs speech in the Legislature on League of Nations [ ca.1938 ]
	6	British Parliamentary Reform [ ca.1940 ]
	7	War & Civilization [ ca.1939 ]
	8	Draft of speech on Patriotism [ ca.1940 ]
	9	On Landlord Tennant Act [ ca.1940 ]
	10	4 radio election speeches [ 1945 ]
	11	Re: Report of the Manitoba Cancer Inquiry Commission [ 1945 ]
	12	Brief to Stubbs from Winnipeg General Hospital Employees [ 1946 ]
	13	Winnipeg & C.P.R. Taxation [ 1948 ]
	14	Coalition [ 1949 ]
	15	Parliamentary Government [ 1949 ]
	16	Sir Wilfred Laurier [ 1950 ]
	17	Election speeches [ 1953 ]
	18	Partial election speech [ 1953 ]
	19	Notes on Crime and Justice [ ca.1940 ]
	20	Coalition [ ca.1953 ]
	21	Wills [ 1955 ]

E.J.McMURRAY MATERIAL [ 1907-1960 ]

Box	Folder
3	22	Liberal politics [ 1932-1946 ]
	23	Correspondence about James G. Gardiner [ 1940 ]
	24	Biographical information [ 1949 ]

Box	Folder
4	1	Correspondence with second wife while she wintered in Florida [ 1946-1960 ]
	2	Sympathy letters upon death of first wife [ 1907 ]
	3	Correspondence with son Leith & daughter-in-law Mabel [ 1943-1949 ]
	4	McMurray correspondence Re: penitentiaries [ 1931 ]
	5	Correspondence with Weldon Lindburgh [ 1949 ]
	6	Correspondence Re: House purchase [ 1940-1946 ]
	7	Correspondence with Stubbs law firm [ 1959 ]

TOPICS OF INTEREST [ 1925-1949 ]

Box	Folder
4	8	Newsclippings [ 1927-1949 ]
	9	Article about Mayor Ralph Webb [ 1925 ]
	10	Communists [ 1934 ]
	11	Religion [ 1934 ]
	12	Marshall J. Gauvin advertisement [ 1931 ]
	13	Capital punishment and flogging [ 1928 ]
	14	"The Weekly News" [ 1931 ]
	15	"Facts and Fallacies in Economics" C.H. Vogel [ 1932 ]
	16	Newsclippings on Jews [ 1937-1946 ]
	17	John W. Dafoe's review of Shelton's biography of Laurier [ 1922 ]
	18	One Big Union Bulletin [ 1931 ]
	19	Ontario C.C.F. split with leftists [ 1934 ]
	20	Nationalist Party [ 1934 ]
	21	The Freethinker [ 1942 ]

MATERIAL BY OTHER PEOPLE [ 1896-1967 ]

Box	Folder
5	1	Pamphlets [ 1896-1967 ]
	2	Wilfred Laurier material [ 1911 ]
	3	Lady Strathcona assessment appeal [ 1924 ]
	4	Correspondence Re: Mrs. K. Nicholson's dispute with Grand Trunk Railway includes signed letter by Arthur Meighen [ 1929-1932 ]
	5	Jack London & James Russell Lowell [ ca.1930 ]
	6	Articles about Turks & Caicos salt industry [ 1931 ]
	7	Saskatchewan Farmer-Labor group pamphlets [ 1932 ]
	8	William Ivens address in support of Stubbs [ 1932 ]
	9	Pamphlet: Notes for Lawyers on Examining Documents [ 1933 ]
	10	McKenzie Marching Song by H. Edgar Gordon [ 1933 ]
	11	Court transcript William Tobias vs. William Whittaker [ 1934 ]
	12	Northwest Review Re: Spanish Civil War [ 1937 ]
	13	Fred Pratt letter to Roy Stubbs Re: Fred Dixon [ ca.1939 ]
	14	"Once Bitten" a short story by Winnipeg lawyer J.D. Suffield [ ca.1942 ]
	15	Let's Face the Facts C.B.C. transcript [ 1940 ]
	16	Rules of Older for Manitoba Legislature [ 1941 ]
	17	Young Communist League newsletter [ 1941 ]
	18	Saskatchewan Legislature speech from the Throne [ 1946 ]
	19	Manitoba Speeches from Throne [ 1948 ]
	20	Submission Re: Religious Segregation in Manitoba Schools, Winnipeg Council of Churches [ ca.1953 ]
	21	"Sputnik and Humanities" Dr. Claude T. Bissell, President of Carleton University [ 1958 ]

Return to Top