An Inventory of His Papers at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Inventory prepared by Richard E. Bennett
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Winnipeg, Manitoba
(1983)
Finding aid encoded by Lori Podolsky Nordland (September 2002)
Finding aid converted by Justin Fuhr (July 2016)
Finding aid written in English.
Revision History
- July 26, 2005 - MSS 27 converted from EAD 1.0 to 2002 by v1to02.xsl (sy2003-10-15).
Collection Summary
Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Elizabeth Dafoe Library Winnipeg, MB R3T 2N2
Creator:
Frederick S. Manor
Title:
Frederick S. Manor fonds
Dates:
1964-1978
Quantity:
0.8 m of textual records
Identification:
MSS 27
Language
English.
Return to Top
Biography of Frederick S. Manor
Frederick Simha Manor was born in Prague, Czechoslovakia in 1911. He graduated from King Charles University in Prague in 1933. After becoming a British citizen in 1938, he served with British Intelligence Service during World War II in Africa and Europe. In 1947 he joined the London Times as European correspondent. In 1954 he immigrated to Canada to join the staff of the Winnipeg Free Press as foreign news editor. He became the senior editorial writer before his retirement in 1979. He died 15 April 1982 in Victoria, British Columbia. He was married to the former Elizabeth Parker of England.
Return to Top
Scope and Contents of the Papers
The collection contains a complete run of Manor's printed Free Press editorials related to Arab-Israeli Relations from January 1964 to 4 November 1978, including two letters addressed to F.S. Manor. It also features the author's unpublished novel literary manuscript "The Silk Stocking". Manuscripts collection MSS SC 40 has been added asa a series to this fonds.
Return to Top
Organization of the Papers
This collection is organized into 2 series
Return to Top
Restrictions on Use
Normal restrictions apply to the Winnipeg Free Press editorial material as well copyright restrictions apply to "Silk Stockings" in this fonds. Researchers must abide by the relevant copyright legislation if they wish to use any material in any published form.
Return to Top
Custodial History
The series was donated by Frederick Simha Manor to the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections in 1979. The editorials were donated 26 April 1979 and the "Silk Stocking" manuscript, 14 May 1979. This series was originally arranged as a separate fonds entitled "Arab-Israeli Relations" (MSS SC 40). However, because of its provenance, it was added to the Frederick S. Manor fonds, MSS 27, in January, 2002.
Return to Top
Detailed Description of the Collection
A. "THE SILK STOCKING"
| Box |
Folder |
|
| 1 |
1 |
Book I |
| |
2 |
Book II |
| |
3 |
Book III |
| |
4 |
Book IV |
Return to Top
B. WINNIPEG FREE PRESS - Editorials of F.S. Manor 1964-1978
| Box |
Folder |
|
| 1 |
5 |
January 7 - December 30, 1964 |
| Box |
Folder |
|
| 2 |
1 |
January 1 - June 30, 1965 |
| |
2 |
July 1 - December 31, 1965 |
| |
3 |
January 1 - May 14, 1966 |
| |
4 |
May 16 - December 7, 1966 |
| |
5 |
December 10, 1966 - May 18, 1967 |
| Box |
Folder |
|
| 3 |
1 |
May 19 - November 7, 1967 |
| |
2 |
November 8 - April 27, 1968 |
| |
3 |
May 1 - September 21, 1968 |
| |
4 |
October 3, 1968 - January 31, 1969 |
| |
5 |
February 1 - October 23, 1969 |
| Box |
Folder |
|
| 4 |
1 |
October 30, 1969 - September 5, 1970 |
| |
2 |
September 8, 1970 - June 26, 1971 |
| |
3 |
July 2, 1971 - December 28, 1971 |
| Box |
Folder |
|
| 5 |
1 |
December 30, 1971 - November 18, 1972 |
| |
2 |
November 21, 1972 - October 15, 1973 |
| |
3 |
October 17, 1973 - December 30, 1974 |
| Box |
Folder |
|
| 6 |
1 |
January 1, 1975 - January 31, 1976 |
| |
2 |
February 4, 1976 - May 21, 1977 |
| |
3 |
May 28, 1977 - November 4, 1978 |
Return to Top
First Installment of Books from F.S. Manor
The following books have been donated to the University of Manitoba Libraries and catalogued for circulation and use by patrons.
- Landau, Julian J.Israel and the Arabs
- Fordham, PaulThe Geography of African Affairs
- Bungarten, Von HaroldUmweltpolitik in Westeuropa
- Treaty establishing the European Economic Community and connected documents
- Dept. of External AffairsForeign Policy for Canadians (case containing five booklets)
- Schulz, EberhardMoskau und die europHische Integration
- Auswartiges Amt 1870-1970
- Die Internationale Politik 1970/1972
- Kontrovers: Extremisten im offentlichen Dienst
- Der Schutz Der Menschenrechte in der Bundesrupublik
- Funke, ManfredTerrorisms; Untersuchungen zur Strategie und Straktur revolutionurer Gewaltpolitik
- Frisch, PeterExtremisten Beschluss
- Osterreich: Tatsachun und Zahlen
- Erreichtcs Sichern: das Bundesbudget 1977
- Myths and Facts 1976; A Concise Record of the Arab; Israeli conflict
- Lamm, U.S. and Kupper, SiegfriedDDR und Dritte Welt
- Kaiser, Karl und Karl Markus KreisSicherheitspolitik vor neuen Aufgehen
- 22. Schulz, EberhardDie Ostbeziehungen der Europaischen Gemeinschaft
- Aussen Politik (English Edition) 3rd Quarter 1971
- Cornides, WilhelmEuropa Archiv 25-1-1977
- The Palestine Liberation Organization; A Documentary Handbook
- State Department of Mass CommunicationFree Portugal 1974 1976 Year III
- Cornides, WilhelmEuropa Archiv 10-6-1977
- Institute for East Indian StudiesEast Asian Review Vol. III Nov. 4, Winter, 1976
- Earps, James and Robert Spencer (editors)International Journal: Communism
- Ministry of InformationFacts about Israel
- Kaiser, Karl and Hans-Peter SchwartzAmerika und Westeuropa
- 32. Dialogue Vol. 10, No. 4 1977
- Central Office of InformationBritain 1977; An Official Handbook
- Kay, ZachariahCanada and Palestine
- The Law on Political Parties [1978]
- Astor, David and Valerie YorkePeace in the Middle East: A Unique report
- Makneke, Dieter and Hans-Peter SchwartzSeenacht und Aussenpolitik
- Lindemann, BeateEG – Staaten und Vereinte Nationen
- Fitzsimmons, James (editor)Lugano Review 1975/5
- Fitzsimmons, James (editor)Lugano Review 1975/2
- Art International 1974/10
- Art International encorporating the new Lugano Review Nov.-Dec. 1978
- Fitzsimmons, James (editor)Lugano Review 1975/3
- New Lugano Review 1976/11-12
- New Lugano Review 1976/8-9
- New Lugano Review 1977/3-4
- New Lugano Review 1977/1-2
- Art International: incorporating the New Lugano Review 1978/3
- Herschmann, IraQuestions and answers about Arabs and Jews
- Welcome to Czechoslovakia: Tourist Review
Return to Top
Second Installment of Books from F.S. Manor
The following books have been donated to the University of Manitoba Libraries and catalogued for circulation and use by patrons.
- Dictionnaire de Academie Ton. I & IINouveau Dictionnaire de l’Academie Francoise dedie au roi Jean-Baptiste Coigard, Paris,1718
- Djilas, MilovanThe New Class: An Analysis of the Communist SystemFrederick A Praeger, New York, 1957
- Petrov, Vladimir-EvdokiaThe Petrovs: Empire of FearAndre Deutsch, Ltd., London, 1956
- Beloff, MaxThe Foreign Policy of Soviet Russia v.1Oxford U. Press, London, 1947
- Deakin, F.W. and G.R. StorryThe Case of Richard SorgeChatto and Wenders, London, 1966
- Djilas, MilovanThe Unperfect Society: Beyond the New Class [first edition]Harcourt, Brace and World, Inc., New York, 1962
- Djilas, MilovanConversations with Stalin [first edition]Harcourt, Brace and World, Inc., New York, 1962
- Deutscher, IsaacPolitical Leaders of the Twentieth Century: StalinPenguin Books Ltd., Middlesex, England, 1966
- Halperin, ErnstThe Triumphant Heretic: Tito’s Struggle Against StalinHeineman, London, 1958
- Driberg, TomGuy Burgess: A Portrait With BackgroundWeidenfeld and Nicolson, London, 1855
- Hoare, GeoffreyThe Missing MacleansCassell & Co., Ltd., London, 1855
- Fullenbach, JosefUmweltschultz Zwischen Ost und WestEuropa Union Verlag, Bonn, 1977
- Crankshaw, EdwardKhrushchev: A CareerThe Viking Press, New York, 1966
- Penkovsky, OlegThe Penkovskiy PapersDoubleday & Co., Garden City, N.J., 1965
- Tatu, MichelLe Pouvoir en URSS: du declin de Khrouchtchev a la direction collectiveEditions Bernard Grasset, Paris, 1967
- Kennan, George FRussian and the West: Under Lenin and Stalin 3rd EditionLittle, Brown & Co., Boston, 1961
- Bealoguski, MichaelThe Petrov Story 18th editionHeinemann, Ltd., London, 1955
- Ulam, Adam BExpansion and coexistence: The History of Soviet Foreign Policy, 1917-67Frederick A. Praeger, New York, 1968
- Survey: A Journal of Soviet & East European Studies Special Tenth Anniversary Issue: Foreign Policy in a Polycentric WorldPrinted by the Eastern Press, Ltd., London, 1966
- Dettke, DieterAllianz im WandelAlfred Metzer, Frandfurt, 1976
- Schweigler, GebhardPolitikwissenshcaft und AuBenpolitik in den USAR. Oldenburg, Munchen, Wien, 1977
- Ministry of InformationFacts about IsraelJerusalem, 1975
- Crankshaw, EdwardRussia Without Stalin: the emerging patternMichael Joseph, London, 1956
- Lonsdale, GordonSpy: twenty years of secret service: memoirs of Gordon LonsdaleNeville Spearman, Ltd., London, 1965
- The New Leader Vol. XLVIII, no. 7March 29, 1965
- The New Leader Vol. XLVIII, no. 12June 7, 1965
- Sanford, FrancisA Genealogical History of the Kings of England, and Monarchs of Great Britain, From the Conquest, Anno 1066, to the Year, 1677. In seven parts or books. Containing A Discourse of their several Lives, Marriages and Issues, Time of Birth, Death, Places of Burial and Monumental Inscriptions. With their Effigies, Seals, Tombs, Cenotaph, Devises Arms, Quarterings, Crests and Supporters; All Engraven in Copper Plate. Furnished with several Remarks and Annotations.Printed by Tho. Newcomb, for the Author, 1677
- Histoire Generale de la Presse Francaise tome I: Des origines a 1814Presses Universitaires de France, Paris, 1969
- Histoire Generale de la Presse Francaise tome I: Des origines a 1814, Tome II, De 1815 a 1871Presses Universitaires de France, Paris, 1969
- Grannone, PietroIstoria Civile del Regno di Napoli V. 1Italy, 1921
- Grannone, PietroIstoria Civile del Regno di Napoli V. 2Italy, 1921
- Grannone, PietroIstoria Civile del Regno di Napoli V. 3Italy, 1921
- Grannone, PietroIstoria Civile del Regno di Napoli V. 4Italy, 1921
- Grannone, PietroIstoria Civile del Regno di Napoli V. 5, 6Italy, 1921
- Grannone, PietroIstoria Civile del Regno di Napoli V. 7Italy, 1921
- Grannone, PietroIstoria Civile del Regno di Napoli V. 8Italy, 1921
Return to Top
