The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More
An Inventory of her papers at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Inventory prepared by Jennifer Rutkair
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
331 Elizabeth Dafoe Library Winnipeg, Manitoba R3T 2N2
(September 2007)
Finding aid encoded by Jennifer Rutkair (September 2007)
Finding aid converted by Justin Fuhr (July 2016)
Finding aid written in English.
Jill Oakes was born June 14, 1952. She received a Bachelor of Human Ecology (1975), an Education Certificate (1976), a Master's of Science (1985) and a Ph.D (1988) from the University of Manitoba. In 1982 she earned her commercial pilot's licence. Oakes began lecturing at the University of Manitoba in 1987 and is currently a professor in the Department of Environment and Geography. She has also lectured as an adjunct professor in the Departments of Anthropology and Human Ecology at the University of Alberta as well as in the Department of Anthropology and the Natural Resources Institute at the University of Manitoba. She has served as research associate for the Canadian Circumpolar Institute at the University of Alberta and from 1993-1994, was Chair of Northern Studies, Department of Native Studies at Trent University. Oakes' many accomplishments include the development of a certificate program for Aboriginal students interested in environmental studies, and a Master's Program proposal for an IDP Masters in Native Studies at the University of Manitoba. This proposal included three new graduate level courses which were approved by Senate in 1995. Oakes' work with museum collections has taken her on collecting trips to Greenland, Northwest Territories, Alaska, and the Far East of Russia for the Bata Shoe Museum, the McCord Museum, the Canadian Museum of Civilization, and the Universities of Alberta and Manitoba. Oakes has researched, coordinated and curated many exhibitions including Coat of Eider, a travelling exhibition and documentary film directed by Oakes.
In 1995 Oakes received the University of Manitoba Outreach Award and an RH Outstanding Research Award as well as various awards for excellence in undergraduate teaching. Jill Oakes is the author of several publications and coordinator and co-lecturer in the Inuit Lifestyles Field Course conducted at numerous locations including Delta Marsh Research Station, Churchill Northern Studies Research Centre, Goose Bay, Labrador, Iqaluit, and Meanook Biological Station, University of Alberta.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The A.99-44, A.99-92, A.03-13, A.04-207, A.04-208, and A.05-112 accessions contain records reflecting Oakes' teaching career as both an educator and writer. Included are Oakes' correspondence records regarding publication of her articles and reviewer's comments, Oakes' teaching dossier and her application for tenure. In addition to textual material, the collection contains 146 photographs and 8 negatives documenting various department of Native Studies functions and igloo building as part of the Arctic Lifestyles course. Also included is one audio cassette of a seminar "Braving the Cold: Continuity and Change in Polar Clothing" held in Leiden, The Netherlands. The A.03-123 and A.04-209 accessions consist of materials related to Oakes' research including correspondence, product development and marketing reports for the Minnguq Sewing Group. Also included are numerous artifact cards for the various materials collected by Oakes and her husband Rick Riewe on their collecting trips and for display in Oakes' exhibitions. The photograph collection includes one photo album (116 photographs) of the Minnguq Sewing Group of Broughton Island, 76 photographs and 75 negatives from Oakes trip to Denver, Colorado museums in 1997 and 4 VHS and 9 U-matic videocassettes documenting birdskin clothing preparation for the "Coat of Eider" project. Also included are 2 audio cassettes describing the birdskin clothing process; much of the commentary contained on these audiocassettes is in Inuktitut.
The collection arrived in 8 separate accruals and has been arranged into 7 series: biographical, correspondence, teaching-related materials, research, photographs (PC 217), audio recordings (TC 127), and videorecordings (PC 217).
There are no restrictions on access.
There are no restrictions on use of the materials.
The various accessions were donated by Jill Oakes and the Department of Native Studies in 1999, 2003, 2004 and 2005.
Detailed Description of the Collection
| Box | Folder | ||
| CORRESPONDENCE 1985-1993 | |||
| 1 | 1 | Correspondence - refereed journal articles 1985-1993 | |
| TEACHING RELATED MATERIALS 1985-1997 | |||
| 1 | 2 | Submission for tenure and promotion 1996 | |
| 3 | Teaching dossier 1996 | ||
| 4 | Oakes' articles 1990-1991 | ||
| 5 | Manuscript reviewer's comments and editor's page proofs 1985-1993 | ||
| 6 | Articles about Oakes 1994-1997 | ||
| TAPE COLLECTION (TC 127) 1994 | |||
| 1 | 1 | Paper given at the Seminar "Braving the Cold: Continuity and Change in Polar Clothing"1994 | |
| PHOTOGRAPH COLLECTION (PC 217) 1996 | |||
| 1 | 2 | Delta Marsh Manitoba (18 photographs & 8 negatives) 1996 |
| Box | Folder | ||
| CORRESPONDENCE 1988-1995 | |||
| 1 | 1 | Correspondence - Minnguq Sewing Group 1991-1995 | |
| 2 | Correspondence - Bird Skin Clothing Project 1988-1991 | ||
| RESEARCH MATERIAL 1989-1999 | |||
| 1 | 3 | Minnguq Product Line Development Report 1991 | |
| 4 | Activities and Products Report of the Minnguq Sewing Group 1991 | ||
| 5 | Minguq Sewing Group - Development and Marketing Proposal 1991 | ||
| 6 | Minnguq Sewing Group - Summaries and Reports of Phases 1989-1991 | ||
| 7 | NWT Seal Marketing Strategy 1994 | ||
| 8 | "Market Analysis of a Parka & Documentation Package for Broughton Island" 1993 | ||
| 9 | Report on Broughton Island Collection 1991 | ||
| 2 | 1 | "Footsteps on the Sacred Earth" Exhibit Drafts 1998 | |
| 2 | Canada Council Grant Application for Bird Skin Clothing Project 1989 | ||
| 3 | "Coats of Eider" Exhibit Information 1990 | ||
| 4 | "Coats of Eider" Exhibit Photo Panels 1990-1992 | ||
| 5 | "Coats of Eider" Exhibition Catalogue Draft 1990-1992 | ||
| 6 | "Coats of Eider" Exhibit Conditon Reports 1991 | ||
| 7 | "Coats of Eider" Exhibit Inventory & Condition Reports 1990-1991 | ||
| 8 | Birdskin Clothing Project - overhead transparencies and notes 1990-1991 | ||
| 9 | "Coats of Eider" Film Script Drafts & Transcriptions 1989-1991 | ||
| 10 | "Evaluation, Appraisal, & Collecting Recommendations for the Dene, Inuit, & Metis Clothing Collection" 1993 | ||
| 11 | "In the Steps of Our Ancestors" Exhibit Program 1999 | ||
| TAPE COLLECTION (TC 127) n.d. | |||
| 1 | Commentary describing the bird skin clothing project n.d. | ||
| PHOTOGRAPH COLLECTION (PC 217) 1991 | |||
| 1 | Minnguq Sewing Group, Broughton Island (1 photo album containing 116 photographs)1991 | ||
| 2 | "Coats of Eider" videocassettes ( 4 VHS & 9 u-matic) [1989-1991] |
| Box | Folder | ||
| CORRESPONDENCE 1997-1998 | |||
| 1 | 1 |
Correspondence - Southwest Museum Collections 1997-1998
|
|
| 2 | Correspondence - "Spirit of Siberia" Exhibit 1997 | ||
| RESEARCH MATERIAL 1983-1998 | |||
| 1 | 3 | Artifact Cards - Pre-Columbian - Bata Shoe Museum 1991-1998 | |
| 4 | Artifact Cards - Pueblo - Bata Shoe Museum 1991-1998 | ||
| 5 |
Artifact Cards - Kiowa & Commanche - Bata Shoe Museum 1991-1998
|
||
| 6 | Artifact Cards - Apache - Bata Shoe Museum 1991-1998 | ||
| 7 | Artifact Cards - Navajo - Bata Shoe Museum 1991-1998 | ||
| 8 | Artifact Cards - Unidentified American Indian SW Tribes - Bata Shoe Museum 1991-1998 | ||
| 9 | Artifact Cards - Museum of New Mexico 1991-1998 | ||
| 10 | Artifact Cards - Denver Art Museum 1991-1998 | ||
| 11 | Artifact Cards - Peabody Museum, Harvard University 1998 | ||
| 12 | Artifact Cards - "Spirit of Siberia" Exhibition - Bata Shoe Museum 1997 | ||
| 13 | Artifact Cards - Miscellaneous 1991-1998 | ||
| 2 | 1 | "Spirit of Siberia" Exhibition Proposal 1997 | |
| 2 | Exhibition Catalogues - "Footsteps on the Sacred Earth" & "Spirit of Siberia" 1997-1998 | ||
| 3 | Clothing Patterns 1991-1998 | ||
| 4 | Research Related Publications 1983-1995 | ||
| 5 | Research Related Publications 1988-1997 | ||
| PHOTOGRAPH COLLECTION (PC 217) 1997 | |||
| 1 | 1 | Oakes' trip to Denver, Colorado (76 photographs & 75 negatives) 1997 | |
| 2 | Scanned images of artifacts for "Spirit of Siberia" Exhibition (56 scans) 1997 |
| Box | Folder | ||
TEACHING RELATED MATERIALS 2003 |
|||
| 1 | 2 | Newspaper Articles - Arctic Survival Workshop 2003 |
| Box | Folder | ||
| CORRESPONDENCE 1995-1996 | |||
| 1 | 3 | Correspondence - Student Field Placements 1995-1996 |
| Box | Folder | ||
| PHOTOGRAPH COLLECTION (PC 217) 1998-1999 | |||
| 1 | 1 | Arctic Lifestyles Class & Social Functions (70 photographs) 1998-1999 |