The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More
An Inventory of his papersat the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Inventory prepared by Jennifer Rutkair
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Room 331 Elizabeth Dafoe LibraryWinnipeg, Manitoba
(July 2006)
Finding aid encoded by Jennifer Rutkair (July 2006)
Finding aid converted by Justin Fuhr (July 2016)
Finding aid written in English.
Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
Detailed Description of the Collection
Powers was born July 13, 1924 in Winnipeg, Manitoba. He served in the RCAF and Canadian Army from 1944-1945. He received his Bachelor of Arts from the University of Manitoba in 1948. He attended the Sorbonne from 1948 to 1950. The following year he received his M.A. in English from the University of Manitoba. He returned to Paris in 1953 to 1954 to study as the recipient of a Royal Society of Canada Fellowship. In 1955, Powers received his Ph.D from the University of Indiana. He spent two years at the University of Wisconsin before joining the University of Michigan in 1958 where he continues to teach.
Powers has written extensively on Henry James and Leon Edel. Most recently, Powers has turned his attention to his classmate Margaret Laurence. In 2003, he published Alien Heart: The Life & Work of Margaret Laurence with the University of Manitoba Press.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The fonds is separated into five series. They include: Biographical information, research material, correspondence, drafts of his book on Margaret Laurence and photograph collection (P.C. 202)
The collection arrived in two separate accruals. One in 2004 and 2005. It was decided that the material would be processed as one accession.
There are no restrictions on access.
Some correspondence has been restricted. These files will be designated confidential.
The fonds were donated by Lyall Powers in two separate accessions in 2004 and 2005.
Detailed Description of the Collection
| Box | Folder | |
| 1 | 2 | Reviews of Powers' Henry James and the Naturalist Movement 1972 |
| 3 | Correspondence re: Mark Twain: A Sumptuous Variety 1984-1985 | |
| 4 | Literary Biography 1985 | |
| 5 | Correspondence re: Guggenheim Fellowship 1986 | |
| 6 | Correspondence re: Henry James and Edith Wharton: Letters 1900-1915 1989 | |
| 7 | Reviews of Powers' Book Henry James and Edith Wharton: Letters, 1900-1915 1990 | |
| 8 | Correspondence re: Leon Edel entry in Dictionary of Literary Biography 1991 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 1 | 9 |
Laurence Biographical Information 1926-1987
|
| 10 | Neepawa Information [1967-1988] | |
| 11 | Newspaper and Magazine Clippings re: Laurence [1982-1997] | |
| 12 | Research on Margaret Laurence Biography [1986-1997] | |
| 13 | Margaret Laurence Home [1988-1992] | |
| 2 | 1 |
Research Correspondence (A-C) 1987-2003
|
| 2 | Research Correspondence (A-C) 1987-2003 | |
| 3 | Research Correspondence (D-L) 1987-2003 | |
| 4 | Research Correspondence (M) 1987-2003 | |
| 3 | 1 |
Research Correspondence (N-Z) 1987-2003
|
| 2 | Research Copies of Correspondence Between Laurence and Adele Wiseman 1947-1973 | |
| 3 | Research Copies of Correspondence Between Laurence and Adele Wiseman 1947-1973 | |
| 4 | Research Copies of Correspondence Between Laurence and Adele Wiseman 1974-1985 | |
| 5 | Research Copies of Correspondence Between Laurence and Adele Wiseman 1974-1986 | |
| 4 | 1 |
Copies of Laurence's Correspondence with Others 1951-1986
|
| 2 | Copies of Laurence's Correspondence with Others 1951-1986 | |
| 3 | Laurence's Correspondence with Nancy Collier 1952-1980 | |
| 4 | Laurence's Correspondence with Lyall Powers 1953-1986 | |
| 5 | Ethel Wilson's published letters to Laurence 1963-1968 | |
| 6 | Powers' Research Correspondence with Timothy Findley 1987-1994 | |
| 7 | Powers' Correspondence with Joanne Woodward and Paul Newman 1991 | |
| 8 | Margaret Laurence Copy of MS Dance 1983 | |
| 9 | Trent University Chancellor Margaret Laurence 1972-1982 | |
| 10 | Writer's Union of Canada Research Material From National Archives [1992] | |
| 5 | 1 |
Research Copies of Correspondence Between Laurence and Al Purdy 1967-1980
|
| 2 | Research Copies of Correspondence Between Laurence and Al Purdy 1967-1980 | |
| 3 | Annotated Copies of Laurence's Articles and Short Stories 1953-1987 | |
| 6 | 1 | Annotated copies of Laurence's Articles and Short Stories 1944-1987 |
| 2 | Anotated copies of Laurence's Articles and Short Stories 1953-1987 | |
| 3 | Articles on Laurence's Fiction 1969-2001 | |
| 7 | 1 |
Laurence's writings in the Annals of the Black & Gold Neepawa Collegiate 1942-1944
|
| 2 | Folk Tales arranged by Laurence ca. 1960 | |
| 3 | Copies of Margaret Laurence's Translations of Somali Poetry 1953 | |
| 4 | Copy of Margaret Laurence's Phone Directory 1987 | |
| 5 | Book Reviews Referencing Laurence 1982-1989 | |
| 6 | Articles by Laurence's daughter Jocelyn Laurence 1986 | |
| 7 | Newspaper Clippings Re: Laurence's Death 1987 | |
| 8 | Lyall Powers Correspondence 1995-1998 | |
| 9 | Copies of Student Essays on Laurence's Books 1990-91 | |
| 10 | Essays on Margaret Laurence by Lyall Powers 2003 | |
| 11 | Miscellaneous 1982-2001 | |
| 12 | Notes and Early Drafts of Biography 1987-2000 | |
| 13 | Original Manuscript Alien Heart (pp 1-207) 2002 | |
| 8 | 1 |
Original Manuscript Alien Heart (pp 208-500) 2002
|
| 2 | Original Manuscript Alien Heart (pp 501-708) 2002 | |
| 3 | Original Manuscript Alien Heart (pp 709-End and Appendix) 2002 | |
| 4 | Manuscript Alien Heart before editing (pp 1-295) 2002 | |
| 9 | 1 |
Manuscript Alien Heart before editing (pp 296-end) 2002
|
| 2 | Edited Original MS Alien Heart (pp 1-414) 2002 | |
| 3 | Edited Original MS Alien Heart (414-end) 2002 | |
| 10 | 1 |
Original MS Alien Heart Edits and Comments Margaret Wigmore (pp 8-139) 2002
|
| 2 |
Original MS Alien Heart Edits and Comments Margaret Wigmore (pp 140-277) 2002
|
|
| 3 | Original MS Alien Heart Edits and Comments Margaret Wigmore (pp 278-414) 2002 | |
| 4 | Original MS Alien Heart Edits and Comments Margaret Wigmore (pp 415-end)[ 2002 ] | |
| 5 | Author's Edited MS Alien Heart (ch. 1-18) 2003 | |
| 6 | Author's Edited MS Alien Heart (ch 19-27 and Notes) 2003 | |
| 11 | 1 |
Draft Alien Heart (pp 1-292) 2003
|
| 2 | Draft Alien Heart ( pp 293-end) 2003 | |
| 3 | Edited Introduction Alien Heart 2003 | |
| 4 | Correspondence Re: Photographs 2003 | |
| 5 | Reader's Comments Alien Heart 2003 | |
| 6 | Correspondence Re: Alien Heart 1988-2004 | |
| 7 | Alien Heart Book Cover Proofs 2003 | |
| 8 | Correspondence Re: Release of Alien Heart 2003 | |
| 9 | Book Reviews Alien Heart 2003 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 1 | 1 | Photos sent to Powers by Jack Borland includes ( 5 photos & 8 negatives) ca.1990 |
| 2 | Laurence and her roommate Helen S. Stanley (includes 2 photos) 1945 | |
| 3 | Photos sent to Powers by Jack Borland (includes 14 photos & 2 negatives and a photo of Peggy Wymess ca.1945 | |
| 4 | Photos of Neepawa and several shots of Weymess as a young woman and a baby picture (includes 51 photos) 1927-1991 | |
| 5 | 35 scans that appeared in Power's book 1927-1991 |