Skip to Main Content
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More

Ian Ross fonds: Finding Aid (MSS 250, PC 215, TC 123, MC 19 (A.04-108))

Ian Ross Fonds Finding Aid

An Inventory of his papers at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections

Inventory prepared by Jennifer Rutkair
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
331 Elizabeth Dafoe LibraryWinnipeg, ManitobaR3T 2N2
(August 2007)

Finding aid encoded by Jennifer Rutkair (August 2007)
Finding aid converted by Justin Fuhr (July 2016)
Finding aid written in English. 

Collection Summary

Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
331 Elizabeth Dafoe LibraryWinnipeg, ManitobaR3T 2N2
 
Creator:
Ian Ross
 
Title:
Ian Ross fonds
 
Dates:
[1994-2003]
 
Quantity:
0.62 m of textual records.-- 52 photographs, 5 contact sheets, 1 slide & 2 cassette tapes.
 
Identification:
MSS 250, PC 215, TC 123, MC 19 (A.04-108)

Return to Top

Biography of Ian Ross

Ian Ross was born in McCreary, Manitoba in 1968 and currently resides in Winnipeg. Ross attended the University of Manitoba where he studied film and theatre and graduated with a Bachelor of Arts degree in 1992. Ross's directing experience includes short films and plays for student productions as well as for the Winnipeg Fringe Festival and the Red Roots Theatre. His writing and performing have been described as provocative and enthralling offering a distinct and accurate perspective on the experiences of Aboriginal people. In 1996 Ross received the John Hirsch Award for Most Promising Manitoba Writer and in 1997 Ross's play fareWel won the Governor General's Award for English Drama and was published by Scirocco Drama Publishing the same year. Ross's plays include fareWel , The Gap , Heart of a Distant Tribe , Baloney! , Bic Off! , Bereav'd of Light , and An Illustrated History of the Anishnabe . Ross's plays have been produced by the Manitoba Association of Playwrights-Short Shots, Prairie Theatre Exchange, Manitoba Theatre for Young People, the Black Hole Theatre, the Winnipeg Fringe Festival, and the Edinburgh Fringe Festival. Ross has also conducted numerous workshops and classes with various Winnipeg schools on playwriting. Beginning in 1997, Ross wrote and performed "Joe from Winnipeg" on CBC Radio and Television. The popular "Joe from Winnipeg" episodes were subsequently published in two books, The Book of Joe and Joe from Winnipeg .

Return to Top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The fonds is separated into twelve series. They are: biographical material, correspondence, Ross's research, notes and grant applications, "Joe from Winnipeg," screenplays, scripts and articles, contracts and agreements, reviews, playbills and posters, miscellaneous screenplays given to Ross,a photograph collection (PC 215), audio recordings (TC 123), and a pencil drawing by Leonard Bighetty (MC 19). The photograph collection includes 52 photographs, 5 contact sheets and 1 slide. The audio recordings include 2 cassette tapes - one of "Joe from Winnipeg" episodes and the other an interview with CBC Radio host Terry MacLeod.

Return to Top

Restrictions on Access

There are no restrictions on access.

Return to Top

Restrictions on Use

Some personal files and confidential book royalties statements are restricted. These files are designated confidential.

Return to Top

Custodial History

The collection was donated by Ian Ross in 2004.

Return to Top

Detailed Description of the Collection

BIOGRAPHICAL MATERIAL[ 1991-2001 ]
 
Box Folder  
1 1 Ross - Curriculum Vitae [1991-2001]

 

Return to Top

CORRESPONDENCE 1997-2003
 
Box Folder  
1 2
Fan Mail 1998-2003
  3 Cards and postcards from friends and family 1998-2002
  4
Personal correspondence between Ross and wife Debra Mosher 1997-2002

Confidential
  5 Correspondence from children and students [1997-2002]
  6 Invitations 1997-2002
  7 Correspondence Re: Invitation from Governor General of Canada to reception at Rideau Hall 2001
  8 Correspondence with University of Manitoba Libraries Re: Friends of the Libraries 1999
  9 Letters Re: Grant award from Premier of Manitoba Gary Doer and Minister of Education and Training Drew Caldwell 2000
  10 Letter from Minister of Culture, Heritage and Tourism, Ron Lemieux Re: Performance offareWel in Edinburgh Fringe Festival 2001
  11
Royalty Statements for book sales of fareWel , The Book of Joe , and Joe from Winnipeg1999-2000

Confidential
  12 Correspondence with Manitoba Arts Council Re: Playwrights Commission and Development Grant Received 2000-2001
  13 Correspondence Re: Submission to Special Projects - Emerging Aboriginal Writing Initiative 1999
  14 Correspondence Re: Nomination for 1997 Governor General's Literary Award for Drama for fareWel 1997
  15 Correspondence Re: fareWel 1998-2000
  16 Correspondence Re: Remote 1999
  17 Correspondence Re: Transcanada 1998
  18 Correspondence Re: Bereav'd of Light 2002
  19 Letter of recommendation/support Re: National Aboriginal Achievement Award for Ross 1998
  20
Correspondence Re: The Canadian Play Station - Canadian Playwriting Festival, London, England 2000
  21 Correspondence - Aboriginal Artists Working Group 2003
  22 Correspondence with the Canada Council For the Arts Re: Ross as Outside Reader of Manuscripts 1998

Confidential
  23 Correspondence - Miscellaneous 1997-2001

​​

Return to Top

ROSS'S NOTES, RESEARCH AND GRANT APPLICATIONS 1997-2003
 
Box Folder  
1 24 Notes for Student Council Keynote Address [1997-2002]
  25 Ross's Notes [1997-2001]
  26 Research for Baloney! [1997-1998]
  27 Baloney! Study Guide, Questionnaires and Responses [1998]
  28 The Gap Notes 2000
  29 Research - Product Advertising [1998-2003]
  30 Program Notes and Ideas for CBC Radio Drama Glue 2000-2001
  31 Notes for Remote 1999
  32 Grand Rapids Hydro Project Notes & Q&A 2002
  33
Application for Manitoba Arts Council Film Script Development Grant for The Lesson 1999​
  34 Application to Manitoba Arts Council for Grant 1997
  35 Manitoba Metis Federation Video - Script Notes 2002

​

Return to Top

JOE FROM WINNIPEG 1998-2003
 
Box Folder  
2 1 "Joe from Winnipeg" [1998-2003]
  2 "Joe from Winnipeg" [1998-2003]
  3 "Joe from Winnipeg" Radio and Television Ads 1998-2001
  4 The Last "Joe from Winnipeg" CBC Show [2002]

 

Return to Top

SCREENPLAYS, SCRIPTS AND ARTICLES 1991-2003
 
Box Folder  
2 5
Grand Rapids Community Association Video Draft Scripts 2002
  6 The Edge of the Rain Draft 1991
  7 Nearby Draft 1994
  8 Heart of a Distant Tribe Draft 1996
  9 Not in my Backyard Draft [1997-2002]
  10 TransCanada CBC Proposal and Draft Episodes [1998-2002]
  11 fareWel Draft [1996-1998]
  12 More Yesterdays Than Tomorrows Draft 1997
     
3 1
Baloney! Draft [1997-1999]​
  2 Baloney! Rehearsal Draft 1997
  3 Baloney! Production Draft 1998
  4 The Lesson Draft 1998
  5 Remote Draft 1999
  6 The Illustrated History of the Anishnabe Workshop Drafts 2001
  7 An Illustrated History of the Anishnabe Production Sheets, Rehearsal Notes, and Line Changes 2001
  8 Bereav'd of Light Working Draft [2001-2003]
  9 Bereav'd of Light Draft 2002
  10 Bereav'd of Light Publication Draft 2002
  11 Draft and published article "Time To Forgive" appearing in Time magazine 1999
  12 Draft of Ross's address at the Stratford Festival's 50th Anniversary Celebration 2002
  13 Draft Script for Manitoba Metis Federation Video 2002
  14 Sample Screenplay Format [1994-2003]
  15 Drafts Miscellaneous 1996-2002

​

Return to Top

CONTRACTS & AGREEMENTS 1998-2003
 
Box Folder  
4 1 Contracts & Agreements 1998-2000
  2 Contracts & Agreements 2001-2003

​

Return to Top

REVIEWS 1996-2002
 
Box Folder  
4 3 Reviews & Articles about Ross 1997-2002
  4 Reviews & Articles Re: Awards 1997-1999
  5 Reviews - fareWel 1996-2001
  6 Reviews - Baloney! 1998
  7 Reviews - Short Shots: The Birthday Party 1998
  8 Reviews - Joe from Winnipeg 1998-1999
  9 Reviews - Joe and Friends 2001
  10 Reviews - The Gap 2001
  11 Reviews - The Illustrated History of the Anishnabe 2001
  12 Show Reports, Q&A - The Illustrated History of the Anishnabe 2000-2001
  13 Questionnaire & Responses to Workshop Presentation of The Illustrated History of the Anishnabe 2000-2001

​

Return to Top

PLAYBILLS & POSTERS 1996-2002
 
Box Folder  
4 14 Playbills & Posters [1996-2002]

 

Return to Top

MISCELLANEOUS SCREENPLAYS GIVEN TO ROSS 1991-2003
 
Box Folder  
5 1 Screenplays given to Ross 1991-2003
  2 Screenplays given to Ross 1991-2003
  3 Screenplays given to Ross 1998-2003

​

Return to Top

PHOTOGRAPH COLLECTION (PC 215) 1996-2002
 
Box Folder  
1 1
Various photographs of Ross with family and friends[ [1996-2002] ]
  • 1. Photograph of Ian Ross and Brandon fan Ian Scott, n.d.
  • 2. Photograph of Ian Ross at a CBC Radio One 990 AM event with radio host Terry MacLeod, 2000.
  • 3. Black & white photograph of Ian Ross and friends, n.d.
  • 4. Black & white photograph of Ian Ross and unidentified friend, n.d.
  • 5. Photograph of Ian ross at a reading, 2001.
  • 6. Photograph of Ian Ross and wife Debra Mosher, Christmas, 1999.
  • 7. Photograph of Ian Ross and wife Debra Mosher, Christmas, 1999.
  • 8. Photograph of exterior facade of the Caribou Hotel in Whitehorse, Yukon, 1999
  • 9. Photograph of Ian Ross speaking before a Yukon audience, 1999.
  • 10. Photograph of the Yukon River, Whitehorse, 1999.
  • 11. unidentified, 1999.
  • 12. Photograph taken on the way to Skagway, Alaska, 1999.
  • 13. Photograph of Ian Ross & unidentified woman, 1999.
  • 14. Photograph of Ian Ross & unidentified woman, 1999.
  • 15. Photograph of Ian Ross's wife Debra Mosher, n.d.
  • 16. unidentified, n.d.
  • 17. unidentified, n.d.
  • 18. Photograph of Ian Ross, n.d.
  • 19. unidentified, n.d.
  • 20. unidentifed children, n.d.
  • 21. unidentified children, n.d.
  • 22. unidentified children, n.d.
  • 23. unidentified children, n.d.
  • 24. Photograph of Ian Ross with unidentified child, n.d.
  • 25. Photograph of unidentified children, n.d.
  • 26. unidentified children, n.d.
  • 27. unidentified man, n.d.
  • 28. Photograph of Debra Mosher, n.d.
  • 29. Photograph of Ian Ross, n.d.
  • 30. Photograph of Ian Ross and unidentified man, n.d.
  • 31. Photograph of Ian Ross, n.d.
  • 32. unidentified, n.d.
  • 33. unidentified, n.d.
  • 34. Photograph of Ian Ross, n.d.
  • 35. unidentified, n.d.
  • 36. Photograph of Ian Ross, n.d.
  • 37. Photograph of Ian Ross, 1999.
  • 38. Photograph of Ian Ross (far right) and Debra Mosher with another unidentified couple, n.d.
  • 39. Photograph of Ian Ross with unidentified person, n.d.
  • 40. Photograph of Debra Mosher and unidentified man, n.d.
  • 41. Photograph of Ian Ross (centre), Debra Mosher, and unidentified man, n.d.
  • 42. Photograph of Ian Ross (centre) with two unidentified people, n.d.
  • 43. Photographs of props used in the production of "The History of Grandview," 2000.
  • 44. Photograph of the cast of "The History of Grandview," 2000.
  • 45. unidentified, n.d.
  • 46. unidentified, n.d.
  • 47. unidentified, n.d.
  • 48. unidentified, n.d
  • 49. Ian Ross and unidentified man at the Winnipeg Fringe Festival, n.d.
  • 50. Photograph of Ian Ross, n.d.
  • 51. Photograph of Ian Ross, n.d.
  • 52. Slide - unidentified, 1996.
  2 Ross's Wedding Photographs 1999
  • 53. Ian Ross and Debra Mosher on their wedding day, 1999.
  • 54. Contact sheet - two images of Ian Ross and Debra Mosher on their wedding day, 1999.
  • 55. Contact sheet - six images of Ian Ross and Debra Mosher on their wedding day, 1999.
  • 56. Contact sheet - four images of Ian Ross and Debra Mosher on their wedding day, 1999.
  • 57. Contact sheet - one image, unidentified, n.d.
  • 58. Contact sheet - four images of Ian Ross and Debra Mosher on their wedding day, 1999.

​

Return to Top

AUDIO RECORDINGS (TC 123) [1998-2000]
 
Box Folder  
1 1 "Joe from Winnipeg" CBC episodes [1998]
  2 Interview with CBC Radio Host Terry MacLeod [2000]

 

Return to Top

PENCIL DRAWING (MC 19) 1994
 
  • Pencil Drawing "Seasons of My Spirit" by Leonard Bighetty 1994
     

Return to Top