The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More
Inventory prepared by Brett Lougheed
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
(August 27, 2003)
Finding aid encoded by Brett Lougheed (August 27, 2003)
Finding aid written in English.
Table of Contents
Administrative History of Winnipeg Commodity Clearing Ltd.
Scope and Contents of the Papers
Detailed Description of the Collection
Association Activities, 1901-1992
Association Business & Meetings, 1919-1995
Administrative History of Winnipeg Commodity Clearing Ltd.
The Winnipeg Commodity Clearing Ltd. was a commodities' futures clearing business. It was incorporated in June 1901 under the Corporations Act of the Province of Manitoba as the Winnipeg Grain and Produce Clearing Association. Its sole purpose upon inception was to clear trades effected through the Winnipeg Commodity Exchange. It began doing so in February 1904. In later years, the WCCL cleared Commodity Futures and Options transactions for the Winnipeg Commodity Exchange. This function included ensuring that every trade had an appropriate counter-party, paying and collecting funds as a result of trading, and arranging for the delivery or exercise of items traded.
The Winnipeg Commodity Clearing Ltd. was a member-owned company consisting of numerous shareholders. Only good standing members of the Winnipeg Commodity Exchange could become shareholders. The WCCL was governed by the Canadian Grain Commission, as well as by a Board of Directors, all of whom were representatives of clearing members or clearing members themselves with the exception of one who was an outside director. Board members were elected by shareholders on an annual basis.
In August 1998, the Winnipeg Commodity Exchange ended its nearly century-long association with the Winnipeg Commodity Clearing Ltd. when it announced that their new clearing provider would be the Canadian Derivatives Clearing Corporation (CDCC). The Winnipeg Commodity Clearing Ltd. dissolved and ceased operations on July 31, 1999.
Scope and Contents of the Papers
The collection consists predominantly of financial statements and stock certificates of the Winnipeg Grain & Produce Exchange Clearing Association. The collection contains correspondence of Association management with other members, financial institutions and government departments. Also, the general activities of the Association are documented through minute books and other textual records pertaining to annual general meetings.
This collection is organized into seven series.
This collection has yet to be arranged.
There are no restrictions on this material.
The University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections also houses another unprocessed accession of the Winnipeg Commodity Clearing Ltd. (A.99-85) as well an accession of the Winnipeg Commodity Exchange (A.01-42).
The material was acquired from the Winnipeg Commodity Clearing Ltd. after the Winnipeg Grain & Produce Exchange Clearing Association was bought by eastern Canadian interests.
An online file listing of Winnipeg Commodity Clearing Ltd. accession, A.99-85, is also avaible.
Detailed Description of the Collection
| Box | Folder | |
| 1 | 1 | Incorporation Documents, 1901 |
| 2 | Correspodence - General, 1904-1950s | |
| 3 | Correspondence - National Revenue Department, 1930s-1950s | |
| 4 | Correspondence - Banking Institutions, 1920s-1950s | |
| 5 | Correspondence - General, 1930s-1950s | |
| 6 | Correspondence - General, 1930s-1970s | |
| 7 | Delivery Notices, 1943-1946 | |
| 8 | Deposit Receipts, 1940s-1950s | |
| 9 | Rebate Calculations, 1939-1946 | |
| 10 | Brokers' Closing Sheets, predominantly 1930s | |
| 11 | Defaulter - Success Grain Co., 1933 | |
| 12 | Defaulter - Bevan & Co., 1913-1929 | |
| 13 | Association History, 1922 | |
| 14 | Royal Grain Inquiry Commission, 1936 | |
| 15 | Combines Investigation, 1968-1976 | |
| 16 | Winnipeg Grain Exchange, 1914-1937 | |
| 17 | Winnipeg Grain Exchange - Constitution & By-Laws, 1976 | |
| 18 | Traders' Building Association - Financial Statements, 1964-1987 | |
| 19 | Canadian Grain Commission, 1992 | |
| 20 | Maps - Peace River, 1920s |
| Box | Folder | |
| 2 | 1 | Annual General Meeting, 1945 |
| 2 | Annual General Meeting, 1946 | |
| 3 | Annual General Meeting, 1947 | |
| 4 | Annual General Meeting, 1948 | |
| 5 | Annual General Meeting, 1949 | |
| 6 | Annual General Meeting, 1950 | |
| 7 | Annual General Meeting, 1951 | |
| 8 | Annual General Meeting, 1952 | |
| 9 | Annual General Meeting, 1953 | |
| 10 | Annual General Meeting, 1954 | |
| 11 | Annual General Meeting, 1955 | |
| 12 | Annual General Meeting, 1956 | |
| 13 | Annual General Meeting, 1957 | |
| 14 | Annual General Meeting, 1958 | |
| 15 | Annual General Meeting, 1959 | |
| 16 | Annual General Meeting, 1960 | |
| 17 | Annual General Meeting, 1961 | |
| 18 | Annual General Meeting, 1962 | |
| 19 | Annual General Meeting, 1963 | |
| 20 | Annual General Meeting, 1964 | |
| 21 | Annual General Meeting, 1965 | |
| 22 | Annual General Meeting, 1966 | |
| 23 | Annual General Meeting, 1967 | |
| 24 | Annual General Meeting, 1968 | |
| 25 | Annual General Meeting, 1969 | |
| 26 | Annual General Meeting, 1970 | |
| 27 | Annual General Meeting, 1971 | |
| 28 | Annual General Meeting, 1972 | |
| 29 | Annual General Meeting, 1973 | |
| 30 | Annual General Meeting, 1974 | |
| 31 | Annual General Meeting, 1975 | |
| 32 | Annual General Meeting, 1976 | |
| 33 | Annual General Meeting, 1977 | |
| 34 | Annual General Meeting, 1978 | |
| 35 | Annual General Meeting, 1979 | |
| 36 | Annual General Meeting, 1980 | |
| 37 | Annual General Meeting, 1981 | |
| 38 | Annual General Meeting, 1982 | |
| 39 | Annual General Meeting, 1983 | |
| 40 | Annual General Meeting, 1984 | |
| 41 | Annual General Meeting, 1985 | |
| 42 | Annual General Meeting, 1986 | |
| 43 | Annual General Meeting, 1987 | |
| 44 | Annual General Meeting, 1988 | |
| 45 | Special Meeting, 1973 | |
| 46 | Special Meeting, 1974 | |
| 47 | Special Meeting, 1975 | |
| 48 | Special Meeting, 1986 | |
| 49 | Special Meeting, 1989 | |
| 50 | Winnipeg Commodity Exchange Meetings, 1986 | |
| 51 | Commercial Letters of Credit, 1970s-1980s | |
| 52 | Bond Ownership Certificates, 1960s-1970s | |
| 53 | Bongard & Co. - Auditor's Report, 1959 | |
| 54 | Pension Plan Application - Employees, 1945, 1950s-1960s | |
| 55 | Income Tax Regulation, Wartime Taxes, 1930s-1940s | |
| 56 | T-4 Documents, 1930s-1960s | |
| 57 | Bylaws & Amendments, 1919-1980s | |
| 58 | Annual General Meeting, 1991 | |
| 59 | Annual General Meeting, 1992 | |
| 60 | Annual General Meeting, 1993 | |
| 61 | Annual General Meeting, 1994 | |
| 62 | Annual General Meeting, 1995 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 3 | 1 | Financial Statements, 1935 |
| 2 | Financial Statements, 1936 | |
| 3 | Financial Statements, 1937 | |
| 4 | Financial Statements, 1938 | |
| 5 | Financial Statements, 1939 | |
| 6 | Financial Statements, 1940 | |
| 7 | Financial Statements, 1941 | |
| 8 | Financial Statements, 1942 | |
| 9 | Financial Statements, 1943 | |
| 10 | Financial Statements, 1944 | |
| 11 | Financial Statements, 1945 | |
| 12 | Financial Statements, 1946 | |
| 13 | Financial Statements, 1947 | |
| 14 | Financial Statements, 1948 | |
| 15 | Financial Statements, 1949 | |
| 16 | Financial Statements, 1950 | |
| 17 | Financial Statements, 1951 | |
| 18 | Financial Statements, 1952 | |
| 19 | Financial Statements, 1953 | |
| 20 | Financial Statements, 1954 | |
| 21 | Financial Statements, 1955 | |
| 22 | Financial Statements, 1956-1995 | |
| 23 | T-Bills, 1991 | |
| 24 | Tax on Shares Sold, 1956 | |
| 25 | Interim Audits, 1949 | |
| 26 | Trial Balance Sheets, 1988-1995 | |
| 27 | Expense Sheets, 1965-1992 | |
| 28 | Expense Sheets, 1965-1994 | |
| 29 | Expense Sheets, 1966-1994 | |
| 30 | Expense Sheets, 1972-1993 | |
| 31 | Expense Ledgers (bound), 1965-1972 | |
| 32 | Beef Margins, 1968-1969 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 4 | 1 | Stock Certificates, 1910-1950s |
| 2 | Stock Certificates, 1950-1974 | |
| 3 | Stock Certificates, 1974-1987 | |
| 4 | Stock Certificates, 1990-1997 | |
| 5 | Membership Applications, 1910-1916 | |
| 6 | Membership Applications, 1916-1930 | |
| 7 | Membership Applications, 1930-1974 | |
| 8 | Membership Applications, 1919-1995 | |
| 9 | Stock Record and Ledger (bound), 1910-1995 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 5 | 1 | Stock Certificates (Bound Ledger), 1910 |
| 2 | Stock Certificates (Bound Ledger), 1910 | |
| 3 | Stock Certificates (Bound Ledger), 1904 | |
| 4 | Stock Certificates (Bound Ledger), 1904-1910 | |
| 5 | Stock Certificates (Bound Ledger), 1910-1915 | |
| 6 | Stock Certificates (Bound Ledger), 1911-1919 | |
| 7 | Stock Certificates (Bound Ledger), 1916-1928 | |
| 8 | Stock Certificates (Bound Ledger), 1928-1933 | |
| 9 | Stock Certificates (Bound Ledger), 1933-1950 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 6 | 1 | Financial Working Papers, 1945 |
| 2 | Financial Working Papers, 1946 | |
| 3 | Financial Working Papers, 1947 | |
| 4 | Financial Working Papers, 1947-1948 | |
| 5 | Financial Working Papers, 1948-1949 | |
| 6 | Financial Working Papers, 1949-1950 | |
| 7 | Financial Working Papers, 1950-1951 | |
| 8 | Financial Working Papers, 1951-1952 | |
| 9 | Financial Working Papers, 1952-1953 | |
| 10 | Financial Working Papers, 1953-1954 | |
| 11 | Financial Working Papers, 1954-1955 | |
| 12 | Financial Working Papers, 1955-1956 | |
| 13 | Financial Working Papers, 1956-1957 | |
| 14 | Financial Working Papers, 1957-1958 | |
| 15 | Financial Working Papers, 1958-1959 | |
| 16 | Financial Working Papers, 1960 | |
| 17 | Financial Working Papers, 1961 | |
| 18 | Financial Working Papers, 1962 | |
| 19 | Financial Working Papers, 1963 | |
| 20 | Financial Working Papers, 1964 | |
| 21 | Financial Working Papers, 1965 | |
| 22 | Financial Working Papers, 1966 | |
| 23 | Financial Working Papers, 1967 | |
| 24 | Financial Working Papers, 1968 | |
| 25 | Financial Working Papers, 1969 | |
| 26 | Financial Working Papers, 1970 | |
| 27 | Financial Working Papers, 1971 | |
| 28 | Financial Working Papers, 1972 | |
| 29 | Financial Working Papers, 1972-1973 | |
| 30 | Financial Working Papers, 1973-1974 | |
| 31 | Financial Working Papers, 1974-1975 | |
| 32 | Financial Working Papers, 1975-1976 | |
| 33 | Financial Working Papers, 1976-1977 | |
| 34 | Financial Working Papers, 1977-1978 | |
| 35 | Financial Working Papers, 1978-1979 | |
| 36 | Financial Working Papers, 1979-1980 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 7 | 1 | Financial Working Papers, 1980-1981 |
| 2 | Financial Working Papers, 1981-1982 | |
| 3 | Financial Working Papers, 1982-1983 | |
| 4 | Financial Working Papers, 1983-1984 | |
| 5 | Financial Working Papers, 1984-1985 | |
| 6 | Financial Working Papers, 1985-1986 | |
| 7 | Financial Working Papers, 1986-1987 | |
| 8 | Financial Working Papers, 1987-1988 | |
| 9 | Financial Working Papers, 1988-1989 | |
| 10 | Financial Working Papers, 1989-1990 | |
| 11 | Financial Working Papers, 1990-1991 | |
| 12 | Financial Working Papers, 1991-1992 | |
| 13 | Financial Working Papers, 1992-1993 | |
| 14 | Financial Working Papers, 1993-1994 | |
| 15 | Financial Working Papers, 1994-1995 | |
| 16 | Financial Working Papers, 1995-1996 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 8 | 1 | Cash Book & Journal, April 1933-January 1936 |
| 2 | Cash Book & Journal, February 1936-October 1938 | |
| 3 | Cash Book & Journal, November 1938-September 1941 | |
| 4 | Cash Book & Journal, October 1941-March 1946 | |
| 5 | Cash Book & Journal, April 1946-June 1951 | |
| 6 | Cash Book & Journal, July 1951-May 1958 | |
| 7 | Cash Book & Journal, June 1958-July 1965 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 9 | 1 | Cash Book & Journal, July 1965-July 1972 |
| 2 | Cash Book & Journal, August 1972-July 1979 | |
| 3 | Cash Book & Journal, August 1979-July 1986 | |
| 4 | Ledger - Certificates of Deposits; Original Margins Trust a/c, August 1922-September 1952; October 1922-December 1948 | |
| 5 | Ledger - Premium Savings a/c, October 1952-August 1981 | |
| 6 | Ledger - Check Receipt Record, 1910-1914 | |
| 7 | Journal, February 1904-December 1904 | |
| 8 | Bound File - Untitled - Association Members Information, 1910? | |
| 9 | Cash Book (first thirty pages are missing), 1914 | |
| 10 | Letter Book - Membership Communication, 1901-1910 | |
| 11 | Ledger - Record of Training, 1904-1930 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 10 | 1 | Stock Ledger - Register of Shareholders, 1916-1921 |
| 2 | Stock Ledger - Register of Shareholders, 1910-1923 | |
| 3 | Stock Ledger - Register of Shareholders, 1936-1953 | |
| 4 | Stock Ledger - Register of Shareholders, 1923-1928 | |
| 5 | Stock Ledger - Register of Shareholders, 1930-1934 | |
| 6 | Stock Ledger - Register of Shareholders, 1923-1947 | |
| 7 | Cash Ledger, 1904-1905 | |
| 8 | Cash Ledger, 1905-1906 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 11 | 1 | Shareholders' Account Numbers [?], 1930s-1960s |
| 2 | Shareholders' Account Numbers [?], 1930s-1960s |
| Box | Folder | |
| 11 | 3 | Minute Book (bound), 1904-1911 |
| 4 | Minute Book (bound), 1911-1931 | |
| 5 | Minute Book (bound), 1960-1991 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 12 | 1 | Cash Books, February 1901-April 1904 |
| 2 | Cash Books, September 1909-December 1909 | |
| 3 | Cash Book & Journal, August 1921-July 1924 | |
| 4 | Cash Book & Journal, August 1924-July 1927 | |
| 5 | Cash Book & Journal, August 1927-May 1930 | |
| 6 | Cash Book & Journal, June 1930-March 1933 | |
| 7 | Cash Ledger, 1907-1908 | |
| 8 | Cash Ledger, 1909 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 13 | 1 | Cash Ledger, 1910-1922 |
| 2 | Ledger - Statement of Grains Cleared, 1930-1971 | |
| 3 | Ledger - Statement of Grains Cleared, 1971-1991 |