The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More
Inventory prepared by Brett Lougheed
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
(August 29, 2003)
Finding aid encoded by Brett Lougheed (August 29, 2003)
Finding aid written in English.
Table of Contents
Administrative History of Winnipeg Commodity Clearing Ltd.
Scope and Contents of the Papers
Detailed Description of the Collection
Winnipeg Commodity Clearing Ltd. File Listing, 1972, 1988-1999
Administrative History of Winnipeg Commodity Clearing Ltd.
The Winnipeg Commodity Clearing Ltd. was a commodities' futures clearing business. It was incorporated in June 1901 under the Corporations Act of the Province of Manitoba as the Winnipeg Grain and Produce Clearing Association. Its sole purpose upon inception was to clear trades effected through the Winnipeg Commodity Exchange. It began doing so in February 1904. In later years, the WCCL cleared Commodity Futures and Options transactions for the Winnipeg Commodity Exchange. This function included ensuring that every trade had an appropriate counter-party, paying and collecting funds as a result of trading, and arranging for the delivery or exercise of items traded.
The Winnipeg Commodity Clearing Ltd. was a member-owned company consisting of numerous shareholders. Only good standing members of the Winnipeg Commodity Exchange could become shareholders. The WCCL was governed by the Canadian Grain Commission, as well as by a Board of Directors, all of whom were representatives of clearing members or clearing members themselves with the exception of one who was an outside director. Board members were elected by shareholders on an annual basis.
In August 1998, the Winnipeg Commodity Exchange ended its nearly century-long association with the Winnipeg Commodity Clearing Ltd. when it announced that their new clearing provider would be the Canadian Derivatives Clearing Corporation (CDCC). The Winnipeg Commodity Clearing Ltd. dissolved and ceased operations on July 31, 1999.
Scope and Contents of the Papers
The collection consists of financial statements, notices of meetings, correspondence, agendas, proxies, minutes, applications, membership listings, draft agreements, memorandums, and by-laws concerning the Winnipeg Commodity Clearing Ltd. The material predominantly concerns the transition of the commodity clearing responsibilities for the Winnipeg Commodity Exchange from the Winnipeg Commodity Clearing Ltd. to the Canadian Derivatives Clearing Corporation and the subsequent dissolution of the WCCL.
This collection has yet to be organized.
This collection has yet to be arranged.
There are no restrictions on this material.
The University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections also houses another unprocessed accession of the Winnipeg Commodity Clearing Ltd. (A.98-63) as well an accession of the Winnipeg Commodity Exchange (A.01-42).
The material was donated to the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections by the Winnipeg Commodity Clearing Ltd. in 1999.
An online file listing of Winnipeg Commodity Clearing Ltd. accession, A.98-63, is also avaible.
Detailed Description of the Collection
| Box | Folder | |
| 1 | 1 | General Correspondence and Other Material, 1994 |
| 2 | General Correspondence and Other Material, 1995 | |
| 3 | General Correspondence and Other Material, 1996 | |
| 4 | General Correspondence and Other Material, 1997 | |
| 5 | General Correspondence and Other Material, 1998 | |
| 6 | Correspondence and Other Material - John Heimbecker/WCCL Transition, 1998-1999 | |
| 7 | Correspondence and Other Material - Rick Willerton/WCCL Transition, 1972, 1991, 1998 | |
| 8 | Correspondence and Other Material - Harvey Hanec/WCCL Transition, 1996-1998 | |
| 9 | Minutes, 1991-1998 | |
| 10 | Correspondence and Other Material - John Heimbecker/WCCL Transition, 1996-1999 |