The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More
Below are books to help enhance your ability to gather relevant data, organize information in logical manner, assist in carrying out surveys, focus groups and analysis, and identify trends in data.
Creative Research by
Techniques and procedures for collecting and analysing different types of data are examined and analysed in detail. The skills necessary to promote the effectiveness and validity of research within the creative industries are highlighted in case studies, all of which also demonstrate what a well-designed research project can achieve.
Designing and Conducting Mixed Methods Research by
Combining the latest thinking in the field with practical, step-by-step guidance, the Third Edition of John W. Creswell and Vicki L. Plano Clark's Designing and Conducting Mixed Methods Research now includes seven mixed methods designs with accompanying journal articles illustrating each design. The authors walk readers through the entire research process and present updated examples from published mixed methods studies drawn from multiple disciplines. In addition, this new edition includes information about the dynamic and evolving nature of the field of mixed methods research, four additional methodological approaches, and coverage of new directions in mixed methods.
Developing Research Proposals by
Writing a research proposal is one of the most important tasks facing academics, researchers and graduate students. Yet there is a good deal of misinformation and a great lack of guidance about what constitutes a good research proposal and what can be done to maximize one's chances of writing a successful research proposal.Pam Denicolo and Lucinda Becker recognize the importance of developing an effective research proposal for gaining either a place on a research degree program or funding to support research projects and set out to explore the main factors that that proposal writers need to attend to in developing successful proposals of their own. Developing Research Proposals will help readers to understand the context within which their proposal will be read, what the reviewers are looking for and will be influenced by, while also supporting the development of relevant skills through advice and practical activities.This book: Explores the nature and purpose of different kinds of proposalsFocuses on the actual research proposed Discusses how best to carry out and structure the literature reviewExamines the posing and phrasing of research questions and hypothesesLooks at how methods and methodology should be handled in a proposalDiscusses the crucial issues of planning, strategy and timing in developing targeted proposalsThe authors draw together the key elements in the process of preparing and submitting a proposal and concludes with advice on responding to the results, successful or not, and their relevance to future proposals.
Doing Research/Reading Research by
This bestselling text enables beginning researchers to organise and evaluate the research they read, and to plan and implement small scale research projects of their own. It gives structured, practical guidance on: the development of a research question techniques of data collection qualitative and quantitative forms of analysis the writing and dissemination of research. The authors present research as a principled activity that begins with the establishing and structuring of theoretical and empirical fields and research findings as serving to ask questions of educational practice rather than directing it. This revised and updated second edition includes a new chapter dealing with the complex issue of research ethics. It also includes consideration of digital technologies and new media, both as settings of research and research tools, the chapters on qualitative and quantitative analysis have been expanded and the annotated bibliography updated. The authors have been active researchers in educational studies for more than twenty years. They have also supervised numerous doctoral and masters dissertations and taught research methods programmes in various higher education institutions around the world as well as in the Institute of Education, University of London.
Introduction to Action Research by
The Second Edition of Introduction to Action Research: Social Research for Social Change makes social science matter! It focuses on how it is possible to combine practical problem solving with generating new theoretical insights. Authors Davydd J. Greenwood and Morten Levin combine a thorough discussion of the epistemological foundations of action research with a broad overview of major contemporary trends in the field. New to the Second Edition: Includes a vast amount of updated information: Nine chapters have been significantly updated, including two new chapters that engage readers into the current debates on action research as "tradition" or its own "methodology," and how action research takes shape in the university environment. New textboxes highlight important issues in each chapter and more detailed cases and real-world examples illustrate the practical implications of AR in a variety of settings. Incorporates a new structure: New information pertains specifically to issues of techniques, work forms, and research strategies based on the authors' experiences in using the book in teaching. The book now has 4 parts instead of 3, with an entirely new section on higher education and democracy as a concluding section. Emphasizes the skill sets needed to do action research: This book deals with the process of educating action researchers and reviews a number of programs that do this. Specific attention is given to the challenges of writing and intellectual property in AR, and more focus is devoted to both adult and formal education, creating a comprehensive overview of the field that is not found in any other action research book. Intended Audience: This is an excellent textbook for advanced undergraduate and graduate courses in Action Research, Social Research, and Qualitative Research across the social sciences.
Managing Research Data by
Why manage research data? / Graham Pryor -- The lifecycle of data management / Sarah Higgins -- Research data policies : principles, requirements and trends / Sarah Jones -- Sustainable research data / Brian F. Lavoie -- Data management plans and planning / Martin Donnelly -- Roles and responsibilities / Sheila Corrall -- Research data management : opportunities and challenges for HEIs / Rob Procter, Peter Halfpenny, and Alex Voss -- The national data centres / Ellen Collins -- Contrasting national research data strategies, Australia and the USA / Andrew Treloar, G. Sayeed Choudhury, and William Michener -- Emerging infrastructure and services for research data management and curation in the UK and Europe / Angus Whyte.
Moderating Focus Groups by
Designed specifically for the needs of the focus group moderator, this comprehensive guide covers everything from pre-session participant recruitment to post-session reporting. In addition, the author includes a wealth of advanced and new techniques, such as those for managing group dynamics, energizing a tired group, projective techniques, personality association and position fixing. Extremely practical and well-written, the book includes chapter summaries and a helpful glossary.
Qualitative Research by
This up-to-date book is the first of its kind to build upon the basic skills needed to do qualitative research. Skills, such as observing, conversing, participating, and interpreting are introduced through exercises and then developed based on the current understandings in the field. Comprehensive and user-friendly, this book incorporates hands-on learning into the overall process with ten exercises associated with the basic skills. Topics include: Being a Skilled Qualitative Researcher; Observing; Conversing; Participating; Interpreting; Conceptualizing; Reasoning; Analyzing; Narrating; Writing; The Seven Deadly Sins of Qualitative Research; Once and Future Qualitative Research. For qualitative researchers.
Qualitative Research by
Qualitative Research helps those who have limited experience of qualitative research, to become proficient buyers of research. It will enable buyers to commission QR with confidence; to choose a supplier, agree a methodology with the research agency, understand the process and end up with useful outputs which address the initial research issues. It will help train new practitioners in terms of the basics of qualitative research and it will also develop the knowledge and understanding of more experienced qualitative researchers. Qualitative research explores questions such as what, why and how, rather than how many or how much; it is primarily concerned with meaning rather than measuring. Understanding why individuals and groups think and behave as they do lies at the heart of qualitative research, and market research practitioners and students of market research will all benefit from this title.
Research Design and Statistical Analysis by
Research Design and Statistical Analysis provides comprehensive coverage of the design principles and statistical concepts necessary to make sense of real data.nbsp; The book's goal is to provide a strong conceptual foundation to enable readers to generalize concepts to new research situations.nbsp; Emphasis is placed on the underlying logic and assumptions of the analysis and what it tells the researcher, the limitations of the analysis, and the consequences of violating assumptions.nbsp; Sampling, design efficiency, and statistical models are emphasized throughout. As per APA recommendations, emphasis is also placed on data exploration, effect size measures, confidence intervals, and using power analyses to determine sample size. "Real-world" data sets are used to illustrate data exploration, analysis, and interpretation. The book offers a rare blend of the underlying statistical assumptions, the consequences of their violations, and practical advice on dealing with them. Changes in the New Edition: Each section of the book concludes with a chapter that provides an integrated example of how to apply the concepts and procedures covered in the chapters of the section. In addition, the advantages and disadvantages of alternative designs are discussed. A new chapter (1) reviews the major steps in planning and executing a study, and the implications of those decisions for subsequent analyses and interpretations. A new chapter (13) compares experimental designs to reinforce the connection between design and analysis and to help readers achieve the most efficient research study. A new chapter (27) on common errors in data analysis and interpretation. Increased emphasis on power analyses to determine sample size using the G*Power 3 program. Many new data sets and problems. More examples of the use of SPSS (PASW) Version 17, although the analyses exemplified are readily carried out by any of the major statistical software packages. A companion website with the data used in the text and the exercises in SPSS and Excel formats; SPSS syntax files for performing analyses; extra material on logistic and multiple regression; technical notes that develop some of the formulas; and a solutions manual and the text figures and tables for instructors only. Part 1 reviews research planning, data exploration, and basic concepts in statistics including sampling, hypothesis testing, measures of effect size, estimators, and confidence intervals.nbsp; Part 2 presents between-subject designs. The statistical models underlying the analysis of variance for these designs are emphasized, along with the role of expected mean squares in estimating effects of variables, the interpretation of nteractions, and procedures for testing contrasts and controlling error rates. Part 3 focuses on repeated-measures designs and considers the advantages and disadvantages of different mixed designs. Part 4 presents detailed coverage of correlation and bivariate and multiple regression with emphasis on interpretation and common errors, and discusses the usefulness and limitations of these procedures as tools for prediction and for developing theory. This is one of the few books with coverage sufficient for a 2-semester course sequence in experimental design and statistics as taught in psychology, education, and other behavioral, social, and health sciences.nbsp; Incorporating the analyses of both experimental and observational data provides continuity of concepts and notation. Prerequisites include courses on basic research methods and statistics. The book is also an excellent resource for practicing researchers.
Research Synthesis and Meta-Analysis by
The Fifth Edition of Harris Cooper's bestselling text offers practical advice on how to conduct a synthesis of research in the social, behavioral, and health sciences. The book is written in plain language with four running examples drawn from psychology, education, and health science. With ample coverage of literature searching and the technical aspects of meta-analysis, this one-of-a-kind book applies the basic principles of sound data gathering to the task of producing a comprehensive assessment of existing research. Available with Perusall--an eBook that makes it easier to prepare for class Perusall is an award-winning eBook platform featuring social annotation tools that allow students and instructors to collaboratively mark up and discuss their SAGE textbook. Backed by research and supported by technological innovations developed at Harvard University, this process of learning through collaborative annotation keeps your students engaged and makes teaching easier and more effective. Learn more.
Successful Qualitative Research by
*Shortlisted for the BPS Book Award 2014 in the Textbook Category* *Winner of the 2014 Distinguished Publication Award (DPA) from the Association for Women in Psychology (AWP)* Successful Qualitative Research: A Practical Guide for Beginners is an accessible, practical textbook. It sidesteps detailed theoretical discussion in favor of providing a comprehensive overview of strategic tips and skills for starting and completing successful qualitative research. Uniquely, the authors provide a "patterns framework" to qualitative data analysis in this book, also known as "thematic analysis." The authors walk you through a basic thematic approach, and compare and contrast this with other approaches. This discussion of commonalities, explaining why and when each method should be used, and in the context of looking at patterns, will provide you with complete confidence for your qualitative research journey. This textbook will be an essential textbook for undergraduates and postgraduates taking a course in qualitative research or using qualitative approaches in a research project. Electronic Inspection Copy available for instructors here.
Developing Research Proposals by
Writing a research proposal is one of the most important tasks facing academics, researchers and graduate students. Yet there is a good deal of misinformation and a great lack of guidance about what constitutes a good research proposal and what can be done to maximize one's chances of writing a successful research proposal.Pam Denicolo and Lucinda Becker recognize the importance of developing an effective research proposal for gaining either a place on a research degree program or funding to support research projects and set out to explore the main factors that that proposal writers need to attend to in developing successful proposals of their own. Developing Research Proposals will help readers to understand the context within which their proposal will be read, what the reviewers are looking for and will be influenced by, while also supporting the development of relevant skills through advice and practical activities.This book: Explores the nature and purpose of different kinds of proposalsFocuses on the actual research proposed Discusses how best to carry out and structure the literature reviewExamines the posing and phrasing of research questions and hypothesesLooks at how methods and methodology should be handled in a proposalDiscusses the crucial issues of planning, strategy and timing in developing targeted proposalsThe authors draw together the key elements in the process of preparing and submitting a proposal and concludes with advice on responding to the results, successful or not, and their relevance to future proposals.
Doing Research/reading Research by
This best-selling text provides a scheme which enables the beginning researcher to organize and evaluate the research that they read and to plan and implement small scale research projects of their own. The authors also give structured, practical guidance on the development of a research question, techniques of data collection, qualitative and quantitative forms of analysis, and the writing and dissemination of research.
The Focus Group Guidebook by
Providing a general introduction to focus group research, The Focus Group Guidebook includes the appropriate reasons for using focus groups and what you can expect to accomplish with them. It provides a brief history of focus groups, a discussion of when to use focus groups and why, and several brief case studies illustrating different uses of focus groups. Author David L. Morgan also extensively provides the timeline and costs associated with focus groups, including a discussion of the ethical issues involved in focus group research. Thoroughly covering all the information to help you start your focus group project, this guidebook is appropriate for anybody beginning a focus group, as well as manager or clients who will be using focus groups.
Handbook of Quantitative Methods for Educational Research by
This handbook serves to act as a reference for educational researchers and practitioners who desire to acquire knowledge and skills in quantitative methods for data analysis or to obtain deeper insights from published works. Written by experienced researchers and educators, each chapter in this handbook covers a methodological topic with attention paid to the theory, procedures, and the challenges on the use of that particular methodology.
Introduction to Action Research by
The Second Edition of Introduction to Action Research: Social Research for Social Change makes social science matter! It focuses on how it is possible to combine practical problem solving with generating new theoretical insights. Authors Davydd J. Greenwood and Morten Levin combine a thorough discussion of the epistemological foundations of action research with a broad overview of major contemporary trends in the field. New to the Second Edition: Includes a vast amount of updated information: Nine chapters have been significantly updated, including two new chapters that engage readers into the current debates on action research as "tradition" or its own "methodology," and how action research takes shape in the university environment. New textboxes highlight important issues in each chapter and more detailed cases and real-world examples illustrate the practical implications of AR in a variety of settings. Incorporates a new structure: New information pertains specifically to issues of techniques, work forms, and research strategies based on the authors' experiences in using the book in teaching. The book now has 4 parts instead of 3, with an entirely new section on higher education and democracy as a concluding section. Emphasizes the skill sets needed to do action research: This book deals with the process of educating action researchers and reviews a number of programs that do this. Specific attention is given to the challenges of writing and intellectual property in AR, and more focus is devoted to both adult and formal education, creating a comprehensive overview of the field that is not found in any other action research book. Intended Audience: This is an excellent textbook for advanced undergraduate and graduate courses in Action Research, Social Research, and Qualitative Research across the social sciences.
Managing Research Data by
Title page; Contents; Preface; Contributors; CHAPTER 1 Why manage research data?; A challenge for the information professional; The data deluge; The wealth of data and the merits of planning; The research lifecycle; A data curation lifecycle; The sustaining professional: a longer view; Cultural barriers; The re-purposed librarian; Risky business; National centres, services and strategies; After Doomsday; References; CHAPTER 2 The lifecycle of data management; Introduction; Drivers for lifecycle management of data; The lifecycle of research; The nature of data; The data policy environment
Data management stylesThe curation lifecycle; Conclusion; References; CHAPTER 3 Research data policies: principles, requirements and trends; The UK data policy landscape; The UK in context: the international data policy landscape; Emerging trends in research data policies; References; CHAPTER 4 Sustainable research data; Introduction; Economic sustainability: a definition; Challenges and approaches; Conclusion; References; CHAPTER 5 Data management plans and planning; Introduction; Why plan?; The limits of planning: what does a data management plan cover?
Preparatory work: conducting analyses of existing data sourcesCreating a data management plan: influences and actors; What does a data management plan look like?; Checklist for a data management plan; Other tools and resources; Guidance; Conclusion; Acknowledgements; References; CHAPTER 6 Roles and responsibilities: libraries, librarians and data; Introduction; The case for library engagement; Data management and library practice; Strategies for engaging with data; Professional education for data management; Conclusion; Acknowledgements; References
CHAPTER 7 Research data management: opportunities and challenges for HEIsIntroduction; Current practices in research data management and sharing; ICT and library services; Implementation strategies; Service management and governance; Developing the business case and modelling for sustainability; Conclusion; References; CHAPTER 8 The national data centres; Introduction; The data centres; Data centre services; Dealing with the idiosyncrasies of data; The dynamics of data discovery and access management; Additional attributes; Measuring the impact of data centres
Data centres, their strengths and weaknessesLife without data centres; Conclusion; References; CHAPTER 9 Contrasting national research data strategies: Australia and the USA; Australia: a national research data service; The USA: the NSF DataNet Program; Conclusion; References; CHAPTER 10 Emerging infrastructure and services for research data management and curation inthe UK and Europe; Introduction; Concepts of research data infrastructure and service; Three levels of infrastructure design; Clouds and horizons: issues to navigate; Conclusion; References; Index
Data management has become an essential requirement for information professionals. This title defines what is required to achieve a culture of effective data management offering advice on the skills required, legal and contractual obligations, strategies and management plans and the data management infrastructure of specialists and services.
Moderating Focus Groups by
"Like every other agency research director, I suffer from focus-group anxiety. Pumping M&M′s behind the one-way mirror, I′m monitoring the groups, the moderator and the client simultaneously. It′s tough enough to manage the client′s expectations and responses. Worrying about whether the moderator can effectively manage the content flow and the group dynamic makes the experience life threatening. Watching Tom moderate, I find myself constantly thinking, ′Wow, he′s smart. I wish I thought of that. He′s the best.′" --George Scribner, Research Manager, Organic Inc. "Dynamic, entertaining, and armed with information on new drugs and medical techniques that would challenge the knowledge of most physicians, Tom Greenbaum presides over an attentive yet relaxed group of medical specialists anxious to share their opinions and prejudices with this most charming of focus group moderators. Serving as a polished master of ceremonies, Mr. Greenbaum is able to work with the many individual styles of his physician panel and at the conclusion, leaves one with the sense of having participated in something important." --Alan H. Richman, M.D., Chairman, Department of Radiology of Norwalk Hospital "Tom Greenbaum is a highly effective moderator who has the special ability to quickly learn any subject matter and can conduct groups with expert knowledge. From the discussion guide to the final report, Tom works with speed and accuracy." --Mark Alfonso, V. P. of Marketing, The Purdue Frederick Company "Tom is one of the most competent and intuitive moderators I have ever worked with: not only does he have an impeccable understanding of the technical skills necessary for a successful moderator, he also has a unique and uncanny ability to foster and capitalize on the internal dynamics of any group." --Joseph A. Ciaralli, The Prudential Insurance Company of America "Thomas L. Greenbaum eats and breathes focus groups. If you want a definitive look at this research technique, you need to either live with the guru for a year or read his books." --Dave Quincy, Clarion Marketing and Communications The entire range of facilitation techniques is covered in this comprehensive handbook, from pre-session tips in participant recruitment to post-session reporting. Moderating Focus Groups covers all the fundamentals of successful group facilitation, and also includes a wealth of advanced techniques not found in other books on focus group research (on managing group dynamics, energizing a tired group, and digging deeper into the minds of participants.) Greenbaum also goes beyond the basics with chapters on how to build a business moderating focus groups, and how to price moderating services. While this book is particularly aimed at the needs of focus group practitioners, there is plenty of advice that will benefit anyone who conducts in-depth interviews or group facilitation. Additionally, the many people who hire moderators to facilitate their sessions will benefit from reading this book because it will provide them with valuable insights on how to evaluate their moderators′ work.
A New Era in Focus Group Research by
This volume provides a critical approach to using focus groups, examining how focus groups have been utilized to research a diverse set of research questions covering a broad spectrum of substantive fields. The collection acknowledges the tensions between different research traditions, disciplinary emphases, funding climates, cultural, political, and ethical contexts, and the ever-changing policy backdrop. Contributors to this book encourage researchers to question and surmount disciplinary and terminological labels and disputes in order to capitalize on the full potential of focus groups, to illuminate the complex collaborative processes involved in forming, debating, contesting, and revising opinions; making decisions; and forging identities. The four sections that comprise this collection address, respectively, using focus groups in novel contexts; employing focus groups in mixed methods research designs; innovations in generating focus group data; and new theoretical developments. A New Era in Focus Group Research will be of interest to students and scholars across disciplines as well as focus group practitioners outside of academia.
Qualitative Research: Good Decision Making Through Understanding People, Cultures and Markets by
Qualitative Research helps those who have limited experience of qualitative research, to become proficient buyers of research. It will enable buyers to commission QR with confidence; to choose a supplier, agree a methodology with the research agency, understand the process and end up with useful outputs which address the initial research issues. It will help train new practitioners in terms of the basics of qualitative research and it will also develop the knowledge and understanding of more experienced qualitative researchers. Qualitative research explores questions such as what, why and how, rather than how many or how much; it is primarily concerned with meaning rather than measuring. Understanding why individuals and groups think and behave as they do lies at the heart of qualitative research, and market research practitioners and students of market research will all benefit from this title.
Statistical Research Methods by
This textbook will help graduate students in non-statistics disciplines, advanced undergraduate researchers, and research faculty in the health sciences to learn, use and communicate results from many commonly used statistical methods. The material covered, and the manner in which it is presented, describe the entire data analysis process from hypothesis generation to writing the results in a manuscript. Chapters cover, among other topics: one and two-sample proportions, multi-category data, one and two-sample means, analysis of variance, and regression. Throughout the text, the authors explain statistical procedures and concepts using a non-statistical language. This accessible approach is complete with real-world examples and sample write-ups for the Methods and Results sections of scholarly papers. The text also allows for the concurrent use of the programming language R, which is an open-source program created, maintained and updated by the statistical community. R is freely available and easy to download.