LibGuides: COMP 3190: Home

University of Manitoba Libraries

University of Manitoba Libraries home page

One Stop Search (Libraries Online Catalogue)

Using One Stop Search
How to use One Stop Search, the University of Manitoba's library catalogue.

One Stop Search is the University of Manitoba's online library catalogue. It can also be used to search for many journal articles.

Best Databases to Search for Journal Articles, Conference Proceedings, Etc.

INSPEC
Inspec provides access to scientific literature in electrical engineering, electronics, physics, control engineering, information technology, communications, computers, computing, and manufacturing and production engineering.

The first three databases listed are licensed products made available by the University of Manitoba Libraries, and they are highly recommended for finding materials in computer science. The final three databases are Internet-based resources which may also be useful in finding materials.

Scopus
A multi-disciplinary abstract and citation database covering the health, life, physical and social sciences. Incorporates Medline, EMBASE and more. Track cited references from 1996 to search for subsequently published papers that cite an original article. Includes the SCIRUS search engine for searching science-related Web pages and institutional repositories.
Web of Science
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary database that provides access to current and retrospective information from approximately 8,700 international journals. A unique feature of Web of Science is the ability to find articles that cite a previously published work. Web of Science includes an expanded version of Science Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index.
Google Scholar
arXiv.org
CiteSeerX
CiteSeerX is an evolving scientific literature digital library and search engine that has focused primarily on the literature in computer and information science.

Helpsheets for Databases

Using INSPEC
How to search the INSPEC database.

Here are helpsheets for some of the databases listed above.

Using Web of Science
How to use the Web of Science database.
Scopus - Quick Reference Guide