LibGuides: Computer Science: Databases

Finding Articles

Not sure where to start? Try these three databases first:

arXiv.org This link opens in a new window arXiv.org is an open access database of preprints and e-prints of scientific papers, maintained by Cornell University Library, covering the subject areas of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, and statistics. Mathematicians and scientists regularly upload their papers to arXiv.org for worldwide access before they are published in peer-reviewed journals. Content is updated monthly.
Compendex Web This link opens in a new window This database abstracts the wide range of all engineering disciplines covering journal articles and conference proceedings with over 2,600 sources world-wide, adding 220,000 annually. The database covers from 1884 to the present and is updated weekly. The Web-based search interface is easy to learn, with access by keyword, author, title words, subject headings, author affiliation, and/or journal title. One can limit by year, discipline or type of document.
IEEE Xplore: IEEE Electronic Library (IEL) This link opens in a new window Please Note: IET Electronic Library (IEL) is now available under IET Journals. The IEEE provides access to the full text of ejournals, ebooks, conference proceedings, and technical standards of: the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) and SAE International (Society of Automotive Engineers). Subject areas include electrical engineering, computer science, electronics, bioengineering, and communication technologies, among other growing areas of research.

Below are databases that can be used to find journal articles in computer science . Additional multidisciplinary databases can be found on the libraries A-Z Databases page and are listed in alphabetical order by database title.

INSPEC Archive This link opens in a new window
Coverage years: 1898-1968

Inspec provides access to scientific literature in electrical engineering, electronics, physics, control engineering, information technology, communications, computers, computing, and manufacturing and production engineering.
The database, produced by the Institution of Electrical Engineers, contains over eight million bibliographic records taken from 3,500 scientific and technical journals and 1,500 conference proceedings.
arXiv.org This link opens in a new window
arXiv.org is an open access database of preprints and e-prints of scientific papers, maintained by Cornell University Library, covering the subject areas of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, and statistics. Mathematicians and scientists regularly upload their papers to arXiv.org for worldwide access before they are published in peer-reviewed journals. Content is updated monthly.
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) Digital Library includes bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews, and the full text of articles published in ACM periodicals and proceedings since 1954. Full text is available for most articles, but full text is not yet available for every proceeding article published before 1991.
Compendex Web This link opens in a new window
This database abstracts the wide range of all engineering disciplines covering journal articles and conference proceedings with over 2,600 sources world-wide, adding 220,000 annually. The database covers from 1884 to the present and is updated weekly. The Web-based search interface is easy to learn, with access by keyword, author, title words, subject headings, author affiliation, and/or journal title. One can limit by year, discipline or type of document.
IEEE Xplore: IEEE Electronic Library (IEL) This link opens in a new window
Please Note: IET Electronic Library (IEL) is now available under IET Journals.

The IEEE provides access to the full text of ejournals, ebooks, conference proceedings, and technical standards of: the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) and SAE International (Society of Automotive Engineers). Subject areas include electrical engineering, computer science, electronics, bioengineering, and communication technologies, among other growing areas of research.
MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
MathSciNet, maintained by the American Mathematical Society, is a Web-based index to the mathematics literature. Coverage includes reviews and abstracts from Mathematical Reviews (updated monthly) from 1940 to the present, and Current Mathematical Publications (updated daily).
SpringerLink (E-Books and E-Journals) This link opens in a new window
SpringerLink provides access to a growing collection of scientific documents, including
journals, books, series, protocols, reference works and proceedings. University of Manitoba Libraries subscribes to select (but not all) SpringerLink content.

* By default, a search in SpringerLink includes Preview-Only content. If a yellow lock icon is next to the book, article, or chapter title, UML does not have access to the full text. You can preview the first two pages of any chapter using the Look Inside button, but you cannot download it
* Ebooks with full text available will not have the yellow lock icon and will have buttons to view online or download either the whole book or each chapter individually as a PDF
* To browse ebooks with full text available:
Connect to SpringerLink (E-Books and E-Journals)
Scroll to the bottom left and click on Books under Our Content.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Please Note: Scopus has limited functionality with Safari.

Scopus is a multi-disciplinary abstract and citation database which includes journal articles and patents. Scopus also tracks cited references, allowing users to search for subsequently published papers that cite an original research paper.
Web of Science (all databases) This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a a comprehensive interdisciplinary, bibliographic database with article references from journals, books, and proceedings from sciences and technology, arts and humanities, and social sciences, brought together under a unified search interface.

Components include:
- BIOSIS Citation Index (2010-present)
- BIOSIS Previews (1926-present)
- Current Contents Connect (1998-present)
- Data Citation Index (1900-present)
- Derwent Innovations Index (1963-present)
- KCI-Korean Journal Database (1980-present)
- MEDLINE® (1950-present)
- Preprint Citation Index (1991-present)
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Citation Index (1637-present)
- SciELO Citation Index (1997-present)
- Web of Science Core Collection (1900-present)
- Zoological Record (1864-present)

CiteSeerX
CiteSeerX is an evolving scientific literature digital library and search engine that has focused primarily on the literature in computer and information science.
CogPrints
An electronic archive for papers in any area of psychology,neuroscience, and linguistics, and many areas of computer science (e.g. artificial intelligence, robotics, vision, learning, speech, neural networks), as well as other areas of science that are pertinent to the study of cognition.
Semantic Scholar
Created by the Allen Institute for Artificial Intelligence, Semantic Scholar is a search engine for Computer Science articles that are published in Open Access journals. Keep in mind, it is new and still operating in beta.

Computer Science

Want More?

Ask a Librarian

Finding Articles