Skip to Main Content

The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More

Renaissance/Baroque Art: Intro: Start Here

Renaissance art, Baroque art

Meninas (Maids of Honor) by Diego Velazquez

1656-57 Museo del Prado, Madrid

Baroque References

Caravaggio : the complete works
Call Number: REF OVERSIZE ND 623 C26 S38 2009
Dutch paintings of the seventeenth century in the Rijksmuseum Amsterdam
Call Number: REF ND 636 D95 2007
Seventeenth- and eighteenth-century Flemish painting
Call Number: REF ND 669 F5 G75 2008
A Corpus of Rembrandt paintings
Call Number: REF ND 653 R4 C638 1982 v.4

Women's Issues

Defining the Renaissance virtuosa: women artists and the language of art history and criticism
Call Number: N 72 F45 J33 1997
Wives, widows, mistresses, and nuns in early modern Italy: making the invisible visible through art and patronage
Call Number: N 5273 W58 2012
Women & art: a history of women painters and sculptors from the Renaissance to the 20th century
Call Number: N 43 F56 1978
Women artists, 1550-1950
Call Number: Q REF N 8354 H35 1976
Women in Italian Renaissance art: gender, representation, identity
Call Number: ND 1460 W65 T56 1997

Beginning Research...

Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Simultaneous user limit: 5

Oxford Art Online provides access to Grove Dictionary of Art and Benezit Dictionary of Artists. It includes hundreds of thousands of articles that span ancient to contemporary art and architecture, including images, structures, plans, and artist signatures.

Lives of the Most Eminent Painters and Sculptors by Georgio Vasari (Renaissance Artist, writer, critic
Through Project Gutenberg you can download the eBook. We also have a copy in the Arch/FA Library N 6922 V48 1963.

A Concise Encyclopedia of the Italian Renaissance

The Getty Research Portal
Provides global access to digitized art history texts in the public domain. Through this multilingual, multicultural union catalog, scholars can search and download complete digital copies of publications for the study of art, architecture, material culture, and related fields.
Italian Renaissance Learning Resources
The National Gallery fo Art, Washington and the Kress Foundation, The Making of an Artist [essays, images, primary sources, and classroom activities on artists’ training and education]

Highlights from the Reference Collection....

European Art of the Fifteenth Century
Call Number: Q REF N 6371 Z8413 2005
Renaissance artists & antique sculpture : a handbook of sources
Call Number: NB 85 B62 2010
Renaissance Art: a topical dictionary
Call Number: REF N 6370 E27 1987
Dictionary of Italian Painting
Call Number: REF ND 611 D513 1964
Northern Renaissance Art
Call Number: Q REF N 6370 S6 2005
Italian Art, 1400-1500: Sources and Documents
Call Number: Q REF N 6915 I78

Reference Help

She/Her

Email Me

Contact:

Architecture/Fine Arts Library, Room 204 John A. Russell Building.
Mailing: 84 Curry Place, University of Manitoba.

Subjects: Art History, Canadian Art, Contemporary Art, Fine Arts

Techniques/Restoration

The Craftsman's handbook : the Italian "Il Libro dell'arte"
Call Number: ND 1130 C3822
The complete book of artists' techniques
Call Number: ND 1260 H463 1958
The painter's practice in Renaissance Tuscany
Call Number: ND 619 T9 T53 1995 (Annex)