LibGuides: Ceramics: Articles

Ceramics

Books

Articles

Images

Web Resources

Chemistry

Citing & Writing

Arch/FA Library

Searching for Articles

These are some of the databases available to you for finding information on fine art. As each database is different to conduct the most comprehensive search it is important to look in multiple databases.

ARTbibliographies Modern This link opens in a new window
ABM provides wide-ranging coverage of information on all forms of modern and contemporary arts, dating from the late 19th century onward. It includes abstracts of English and other language material on artists, movements, and trends. It provides full abstracts of a variety of literary forms, dating from the late 1960s onward.
Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
This database offers full text plus abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications—now with expanded coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.
Art Index Retrospective (1929-1984) This link opens in a new window
An in-depth record of contemporary art history, Art Index Retrospective allows users to search 55 years of art journalism at a keystroke. Users can research leading English-language sources, plus others published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch. Besides periodicals, users have access to data from important yearbooks and select museum bulletins.
EBSCOhost Full Text This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost provides indexing and abstracting for thousands of periodicals, in most cases back to 1984. It also contains full text for over a thousand periodicals, in many cases going back to 1990. Many of these periodicals are peer-reviewed journals. Different modules cover academic journals, popular magazines, Canadian magazines, high school magazines, and children's magazines. These can be searched separately or combined.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a database of back issues of academic journals, books, and primary sources. With content extending over a century, subject areas include area studies, the arts, business & economics, history, the humanities, law, medicine, science & mathematics, and social sciences.
Project MUSE Full Database This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE offers full-text articles from scholarly journals from major university presses, covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Search interface for a variety of ProQuest databases

Browse Journal Titles

The journal titles listed below are located in the Architecture/Fine Arts Library in the Reading Room.

Ceramics, Art and Perception
Call Number: 730 C334
Available in print and online

Ceramics Monthly
Call Number: 738 C3345
Available in print and online

Ceramic Review
Call Number: 738 C334
Available in print and online

Ceramics Technical
Call Number: 730 C334
Available in print and online

Interpreting ceramics
Available online only

Studio (Ontario Crafts Council)
Call Number: 745 S933 On
Available in print only

Studio Potter
Call Number: 738 S9334 Po
Available in print and online

Reference Help

Liv Valmestad

She/Her

Email Me

Contact:

Architecture/Fine Arts Library, Room 204 John A. Russell Building.
Mailing: 84 Curry Place, University of Manitoba.

Subjects: Art History, Canadian Art, Contemporary Art, Fine Arts