This is the "Library" page of the "Elizabeth Dafoe Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Elizabeth Dafoe Library  

Last Updated: Aug 21, 2014 URL: http://libguides.lib.umanitoba.ca/dafoe Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Library Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library menu (no border)

 

Help Pages

Frequently Asked Questions

Virtual Reference Shelf

Write and Cite: Contains library helpsheets for APA, MLA, and Chicago style of documentation, RefWorks and more.

 

LibraryCenterTop2

Welcome to the Elizabeth Dafoe Library

 

The largest of the libraries at the University of Manitoba, the Elizabeth Dafoe Library serves the research, study, and teaching requirements of the Faculties of Arts (Humanities, Social Sciences), Education, Environment, Earth, and Resources, Human Ecology, Nursing, Kinesiology and Recreation Management, and Social Work, and provides service to the University community, off-campus students, and the general public.

The Elizabeth Dafoe Library boasts a large collection of books, periodicals, government publications, microforms, maps, and special collections supporting Icelandic and Slavic Studies. It also houses the Department of Archives and Special Collections, which includes university archives, manuscripts and rare books. The Library also provides access to an array of electronic resources including bibliographic and full-text databases and a wide range of Canadian and international primary data sets and geographical information products.

Who is Elizabeth Dafoe?


Click here for Library Hours

Service Desk: Phone: (204) 474-9844; E-mail: dafref@ad.umanitoba.ca

Elizabeth Dafoe Library
25 Chancellors Circle
University of Manitoba
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Canada R3T 2N2

<![if !IE]>


View Larger Map

<![endif]> For parking information please see Parking Services.

 

 


Elizabeth Dafoe Library Floor Plans:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Mailing address:

Elizabeth Dafoe Library
University of Manitoba
25 Chancellors Circle
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Canada R3T 2N2

Service Desk:

Phone: (204) 474-9844
Fax: (204) 474-7921
E-mail: dafref@ad.umanitoba.ca

 

Liaison Librarians Contact Information

 

Meet our staff

 


The Elizabeth Dafoe Library offers a number of Library services.

Go to the Service Desk, located on the main floor, when you need to check out books, check out and return reserve material, pick-up items you have requested in Library Catalogue or Document Delivery, reserve Group Study Rooms or check for items lost in the Library, to name just a few things. Phone: (204) 474-9844; E-mail: dafref@ad.umanitoba.ca.

Research Services: Do you need to find articles and books for your assignment? Walk-up to the Service Desk or send us an e-mail to get help with any research questions you have and with any other library related questions or problems. If you are a graduate student and would like a one-on-one consultation, you may want to make an appointment with a librarian in your subject area.

Also, we are home for Off-Campus Access & Services for the Fort Garry campus.

Studying: The Dafoe Library is a popular place for students to study. There are approximately 650 study spaces in Dafoe, distributed throughout the three floors of the Library. There is a mixture of study carrels, open library tables, group study rooms and two areas with assigned graduate student carrels. If you are a graduate student in a faculty served by Dafoe you can apply for a carrel at the Circulation/Reserve Desk. The first floor of Dafoe is used for group study and can be very noisy. The second and third floors are quieter and the Iceland Reading Room offers a quiet study environment.

The two group study rooms are located on the main floor of the Library. They are available for use by small groups of students to work on academic assignments. Faculty are also welcome to reserve the rooms for small group discussions and class projects. Available on a first-come, first-served basis, the rooms can be booked at the Circulation/Reserve Desk for a maximum of two hours per day.

Computing:  There are two computer classrooms available on the main floor of the Library. The first classroom, called Technology Resource Centre or Brown Lab, is located in Room 110 and the second classroom, Gold Lab, is in Room 111. The computer classrooms are open during the Library's regular hours for general use except when booked for training sessions.   Computers are available on a first-come, first-served basis.

To book one of the computer labs for a class, faculty are advised to contact their liaison librarian

There are also computers in the Reference Room, Commons area across from the Circulation Desk, and a number of computers on the second and third floors.

Wireless access is available on all three floors of the Library so bring your own laptop or borrow an Acer Netbook at the Circulation/Reserve Desk.

Copying, Printing and Scanning: Public photocopying machines are located on the first and third floors of the Library. There are two black and white and one colour networked laser printers on the main floor near the photocopiers. There are two scanners available in the Brown Lab, one scanner in the Gold Lab and one scanner in the Commons area across from the Circulation Desk.

Photocopiers accept copy cards and coin. Laser printers accept copy cards only. A change machine and a value adding station are located across from the public photocopiers on the main floor. You can add value to your student ID card or get a copy card at the Circulation Desk. Laws regarding copyright must be observed, and patrons are urged to use care in copying library books.  Please consult the UM Fair Dealing Guidelines for information about copyright, details about fair dealing, when copyright permission is needed, how to obtain permission, how to protect your own work and more.

Want to take a break and relax? Visit the Starbucks located in the Reference Room on the main floor.

 

 


Icelandic Collection
Slavic Collection
Government Publications and Data Library Services
Microform Collection

 

Icelandic Collection


Unique in Canadian university libraries, The Icelandic Collection contains nearly 27,000 volumes. It is the largest collection of Icelandic materials in Canada and the second largest in North America. This "area studies" collection serves as a primary research tool for the study of Icelandic language, literature, history and culture, while enabling the Icelandic community to preserve, reinforce and cultivate its cultural identity in the North American cultural mosaic.

The nucleus of The Collection was the Arnljotur Bjornsson Olson library of 1,300 volumes, which was presented to the University of Manitoba in 1936 by Mr. Olson of Gimli. The future of The Collection was assured in 1939, when the Government of Iceland designated The Collection as an official depository of all Icelandic publications. This continued in varying degrees until 1978, when The Collection was redesignated as a selective depository. Meanwhile, the University of Manitoba Libraries, recognizing The Collection’s value and research potential, assumed an increased responsibility for funding The Collection, so that it might continue to receive most books, periodicals, and newspapers published in Iceland.

Collection Holdings

The Collection includes books, periodicals, newspapers, and manuscript & multimedia materials. Icelandic is the primary language of The Collection. Selected items in English, the other Scandinavian languages, the Romance languages and German are included. Geographically The Collection covers mainly Iceland, but also includes publications dealing with Scandinavia, Greenland, the Faroe Islands, and the Arctic, and acquires available material by and about Icelanders in North America. Among The Collections prized possessions are the personal libraries of two of the Icelandic-Canadian community’s foremost poets, Stephan G. Stephansson and Guttormur J. Guttormsson.  

Borrowing Information

Items in The Icelandic Collection are listed in  the Library Catalogue (BISON). Reference books, periodicals, rare and/or fragile items, and manuscript materials do not circulate. Circulating materials are checked out at the circulation desk, located on the main floor of the Library. 

For more information about the Icelandic Collection click here.

Contact Info

If you require assistance, but cannot come to the Library, please contact Sigrid Johnson, Head, The Icelandic Collection at:

Phone: (204) 474-6345
Fax: (204) 474-7577
Email: sigrid_johnson@umanitoba.ca

 

The Slavic  Collection


The Slavic Collection is a separate language collection of over 56,000 volumes of books, periodicals, newspapers and microforms. It is located on the second floor of the Elizabeth Dafoe Library. The Collection, one of the best in Canada, contains material on a wide range of subjects, mainly in humanities and social sciences. Most material is in Russian, Ukrainian and Polish, although all fourteen languages are represented.

The Slavic Collection supports courses and research in the Department of German & Slavic Studies, the Centre for Ukrainian Canadian Studies, Central and East European Studies, and other departments. In addition, the Collection complements the Archives of the Ukrainian Canadian Experience, which is housed in the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections. Materials are also used by multilingual members of the university community and general public.

The majority of the catalogued material is listed in the Library Cataloguy (BISON). BISON lists Cyrillic titles in the Latin alphabet, using the Library of Congress transliteration system. Materials located in the Slavic Collection are distinguished by the prefix Slav in the call number.

Periodicals, reference materials, rare books and fragile books do not circulate. Any other items in the collection may be borrowed for 60 days at the Circulation Counter on the main floor of the library. If you require assistance in locating materials, please consult the staff of the Slavic Collection: Monday to Friday, 8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. Evenings, Saturdays and Sundays please ask for assistance at the Reference Desk on the main floor of the library. 

Click here to see more information about the Collection. Need assistance with research click here

Phone (204) 474-9681
Fax (204) 474-7577
Email: jkomin@cc.umanitoba.ca

 

Government Publications and Data Library Services


The Government Publications section is located on the Main floor of the Elizabeth Dafoe Library. It is open for use during the regular hours of the Library. Reference assistance is available at the Elizabeth Dafoe Library Reference Desk. The phone number is 474-9844.

As a depository library, Dafoe Library receives publications automatically from the Governments of Canada, Manitoba and the European Union. We also obtain documents from other provinces and international governmental organizations such as the United Nations and World Bank, as well as items from other countries. Many government documents are now available online.

Data Library Services at the University of Manitoba Libraries was established in 1995. With support from Academic Computing, its mission is to assist students, staff and faculty at the University of Manitoba in identifying, acquiring and manipulating machine-readable data. 

Resources that are made available through Data Library Services come from two major sources. The Data Liberation Initiative (DLI - http://www.statcan.gc.ca/dli-ild/dli-idd-eng.htm), which began in 1996, provides Statistics Canada data to subscribing institutions. The Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) provides access to thousands of data files, emanating from countries around the world.

For more information please see the following subject guides:

If you would like to explore Data Library Services, need more information, or would like to access a particular data file, please contact:
Gary Strike
Email: Gary_Strike@umanitoba.ca
Phone: (204) 474-7086

 

Microform Collection


Elizabeth Dafoe Library has a large microform collection, including microfilm, microfiche and microcards. This area contains back issues of many newspapers, journals, theses, many large research collections, and personal papers. Some of the research collections consist of reproductions of original works listed in important bibliographies. Some notable large collections in Microforms are:

  • American Culture Series
  • American Indian Periodicals
  • American Periodical Series
  • British Fiction Archives
  • CIA Research Reports
  • CIHM - Canadian Institute for Historical Micro-reproductions
  • Documents on British Policy Overseas
  • Early English Books 1475 - 1600
  • Early English Books 1601 - 1700
  • ERIC - Educational Resources Information Centre
  • History of Nursing
  • History of the Canadian Northwest
  • Human Relations Area Files (HRAF)
  • Local & Traditional Costumes in the Victoria & Albert Museum
  • Peel Bibliography (based on titles listed in A Bibliography of the Prairie Provinces to 1953)
  • Reformed Protestantism
  • Victorian fiction
  • Wright American Fiction 1774 - 1905

Microforms do not circulate. There are facilities to photocopy individual pages of microfilm and microfiche. For more information please phone (204) 474-9844.

Dafoe Update is a newsletter published regularly to keep faculty, students and
staff informed of new services, developments and changes.

 

Information for Faculty

 

Ask a Librarian (small, no border)

 

News

Dafoe Update - Spring 2014

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Events

Long Night Against Procrastination
November 20 - 21, 2014

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Dafoe Construction Update

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip