Skip to main content

Elizabeth Dafoe Library: Our Collections

Collections

Main Stacks

Dafoe Main Stacks are located on the second floor. The Stacks contain collections of books, serials and some journals for the study and research of numerous disciplines in the Humanities and Social Sciences (Faculty of Arts), Education, Environment, Earth, and Resources, Nursing, Kinesiology and Recreation Management, and Social Work.

Materials in this collection are arranged by subject according to the Library of Congress (LC) call number classification system. The LC classification system was devised for the Library of Congress in Washington, D.C., and is now being used by many research-level libraries. A call number may be thought of as an item's address on the shelf that helps patrons to find it and allows patrons to browse the shelves in the same area for books on similar topics.  Call numbers for books in the Main Stacks can be found in the Libraries’ One Stop Search.

In addition to the general collection, the Main Stacks includes:

Dewey collection – These are older books that have been in the library’s collection when the Dewey Decimal Classification (DDC) system was used. The Library no longer catalogues books using this system and as a result the Dafoe’s Dewey collection is being gradually re-catalogued and integrated into the LC collection. Call numbers for Dewey collection books are found by searching the Libraries' One Stop Search.

Oversized books section consists of items too large to be shelved in their normal place. This includes Quartos and Folios. Some of these items are library use only, while others can be charged out.

Education Collection - The Education Collection consists of many collections that are located in different areas of the Library. The major portion of these collections is located on the second floor.
Read more >>

Reference Collection

Reference Collection contains scholarly encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, directories, statistical compilations, bibliographies, and other reference books. Items in this collection do not circulate so that they are always on hand when needed. The Collection is located on the first floor of the West side of the building.

Course Reserves

Course Reserves section is located on the first floor near the Service Desk. Materials are placed here by instructors for use by their students in conjunction with specific classes. These materials range from photocopies of class notes to journal articles, and other reading material required by the course.  Loan periods for these materials are determined by the instructors and range from two hours to one week. The items in this section can be searched by author, instructor or course number in One Stop Search.

Current Periodicals

In addition to electronic journals that are found in One Stop Search, the Library maintains print journals.The current issues of periodicals (journals and magazines) that the Library subscribes to are kept in the Current Periodicals section located on the first floor in the Reference Room. The Collection is organized in alphabetical order by title with the most recent issue of each title on display and older issues stored inside the shelf. Since current periodicals are in high demand, they are non-circulating.

Bound Periodicals

The older issues of periodicals that the Library presently subscribes to and back issues of periodicals that are no longer received in print are bound between hard covers and kept on the third floor of the Library.  As well, some periodicals are housed in storage and others that are in microform format are in the Microforms Collection. These are catalogued according to the Dewey Decimal Classification system and, except for microforms, have a seven-day loan period.

Microform Collection

Elizabeth Dafoe Library has a large microform collection including microfilm, microfiche and microcards that contain back issues of many newspapers, journals, theses, large research collections, and personal papers. Some of the research collections consist of reproductions of original works listed in important bibliographies. You can view, print, e-mail or save to a flashdrive individual pages from microfilm and microfiche using microform machines located at the front of the collection on the first floor.

Government Publications

Located on the first floor of the Library, the Government Publications Collection contains material from the Governments of Canada, Manitoba and other provinces, the European Union, the United Nations, Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development, World Bank, and International Labour Office. The collection also includes some American and British government publications. Items in this collection are listed One Stop Search.
Read more >>

Icelandic Collection

Unique in Canadian university libraries, the Icelandic Collection contains more than 27,000 volumes. It is the largest collection of Icelandic materials in Canada and the second largest in North America. This "area studies" collection serves as a primary research tool for the study of Icelandic language, literature, history and culture, while enabling the Icelandic community to preserve, reinforce and cultivate its cultural identity in the North American cultural mosaic.
Read more >>

Slavic Collection

The Slavic Collection is a separate language collection of over 56,000 volumes of books, periodicals, newspapers and microforms. It is located on the third floor of the Elizabeth Dafoe Library. The Collection contains material on a wide range of subjects, mainly in humanities and social sciences. Most material is in Russian, Ukrainian and Polish, although all fourteen languages are represented. The Slavic Collection supports courses and research in the Department of German & Slavic Studies, the Centre for Ukrainian Canadian Studies,
Read more >>

Maps & Atlases

Dafoe Library has a large collection of maps and atlases. Atlases are shelved by call number in the Reference Room on the main floor. Maps are held in special cabinets and are arranged geographically. Canadian topographic and US Geological Survey maps are available online.  Dafoe Library also provides access to a collection of geospatial data. 

Address

Elizabeth Dafoe Library  University of Manitoba 
25 Chancellors Circle Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada R3T 2N2
204 474-9844  |  dafoe@umanitoba.ca