Skip to main content

Meet our staff: Elizabeth Dafoe Library

Nicole Michaud-Oystryk
Head, Elizabeth Dafoe Library
(204) 474-9211
E-mail: Nicole.Michaud-Oystryk@umanitoba.ca

Nicole Michaud-Oystryk started her career as a reference librarian at the University of Manitoba in 1976, became Head of Reference Services in 1982, and since 1989 has been Head of the Elizabeth Dafoe Library. For over 25 years, she was the subject specialist responsible for collection management in French, Spanish and Italian. She has extensive experience in all aspects of academic library management. Nicole has been active in professional associations at the provincial and national level and has developed her research interests in academic library management, the role of academic librarians, librarian/faculty collaboration, contemporary French women writers, and women in French Manitoba. She holds a Bachelor of Arts from Collège universitaire de Saint-Boniface, a Master of Library Science from Université de Montréal, and a Master of Arts (French Literature) from the University of Manitoba. Nicole is committed to developing a dynamic environment that will be welcoming and responsive to the needs of students and faculty.

 

Emma Popowich
Head, Public Services, Elizabeth Dafoe Library
(204) 474-6593 
E-mail: emma.popowich@umanitoba.ca

Emma Popowich joined Elizabeth Dafoe Library in January 2008 as a Liaison Librarian for the departments of French, Spanish, Italian and Linguistics. Emma served as Head of Reference Services for the Elizabeth Dafoe Library in 2010-2011 before becoming Head of Public Service in 2015.  She holds a B.A. in French Studies from the University of Winnipeg, an MLIS from the University of Western Ontario and an MA in French from the University of Manitoba. Her research interests include the comparative literature and linguistics of Latin, French, Spanish and Italian.

 

Mia Douchant
Administrative Assistant to the Head, Elizabeth Dafoe Library
(204) 474-7483 
E-mail: mia.douchant@umanitoba.ca

Mia joined the University of Manitoba Libraries staff in early 2011 at the Neil John Maclean Health Sciences Library. Later that year, she moved to the Carolyn Sifton-Helene Fuld Library at St. Boniface Hospital where she continued to enjoy the Health Sciences environment.  In 2014, Mia advanced her library work experience by joining the staff at the Elizabeth Dafoe Library. In her current job Mia wears a variety of different hats: she works in an administrative role for the Head of the Library, functions as a back-up to Circulation Supervisor and assists patrons at the Service Desk.

 

CIRCULATION


Angel Kwan
Circulation Supervisor
(204)474-9707
E-mail: Angel.Kwan@umanitoba.ca

Angel Kwan has been with the University of Manitoba since 1984. She has worked in the Administrative Studies Library and the DW Craik Engineering Library.  In 1991 she moved to the Elizabeth Dafoe Library where she held positions first as Library Assistant and then Office Assistant. Angel became the Circulation Supervisor in 2004.  In her current position, she is responsible for the overall operation of Circulation Services.  She also oversees the shelving and binding/preservation operations.  Angel holds a BA (Economics) from the University of Manitoba.

 

REFERENCE SERVICES: Liaison Librarians


Camille Callison
(204) 480-1054
E-mail: Camille.Callison@umanitoba.ca

Camille Callison joined the Elizabeth Dafoe Library in January 2012. Camille Callison is from the Tsesk’iye (Crow) Clan of the Tahltan Nation and holds a B.A. in Anthropology and an M.L.I.S. First Nations Concentration. Camille is responsible for addressing the unique library needs of the Indigenous (Aboriginal, Metis and Inuit) community at UM, promoting Indigenous scholarship through collection development, the development of new programs aimed to aid in Aboriginal student retention as well as instruction, collection development and reference work pertaining to her subject areas.

Camille's research interests are Indigenous librarianship; the role of libraries and archives in preserving traditional knowledge and languages while contributing to their recovery, revitalization and copyright protection; the development of best practices in Library for Aboriginal people and in Aboriginal archives and continues to be actively involved in promoting First Nations knowledge and cultural preservation.

 

Sarah Clark
(204) 474-6846
E-mail: sarah.clark@umanitoba.ca

Sarah Clark is a Liaison Librarian for Kinesiology & Recreation Management. She is a recent graduate of the University of Western Ontario’s Master of Library and Information Science program and has also earned a Bachelor of Arts in English from the University of Winnipeg. Previously, she completed an internship in reference services with the Elizabeth Dafoe Library and has also worked as a reference librarian at the Neil John Maclean Health Sciences Library. In her current role with the Elizabeth Dafoe Library, she is primarily responsible for instruction, collection development and reference work, among other duties pertaining to her subject areas.

 

Lisa Demczuk
(204) 474-6590
E-mail: lisa.demczuk@umanitoba.ca

Lisa Demczuk joined the Elizabeth Dafoe Library in March 2013 as Liaison Librarian for the Faculty of Nursing. She has been with the University of Manitoba Libraries since 2000, most recently as Hospital Librarian at the Victoria General Hospital as part of the University of Manitoba Health Sciences Libraries. Lisa holds a BA from the University of Guelph and an MA (History of Art) and MLS, both from the University of Toronto. Lisa’s ongoing research interests include new roles for libraries and librarians, information literacy competency development in the education of health care professionals, knowledge translation and the information needs of dementia caregivers. Lisa looks forward to providing information services and working collaboratively with faculty, students and staff.

 

Cynthia Dietz
(204) 474-7134
E-mail: cynthia.dietz@umanitoba.ca

Cynthia joined the University of Manitoba in September, 2011 as GIS Environmental Studies Librarian. She provides workshops at the Elizabeth Dafoe Library pertaining to geospatial data and tools used in several GIS software packages, including ArcGIS, Geomatica, AutoCAD and Google Earth Pro.  She provides subject expertise to patrons in several disciplines, including Environment, Earth and Resources, Geography, Environmental Studies, Geological Sciences, and Resource Management. She helps patrons locate and obtain data pertinent to their GIS and remote sensing imagery needs. Her research interests include the use of SAR, LiDAR and multispectral imagery in addressing flood inundations in Manitoba. She holds a MLIS from Syracuse University and a MS in marine environmental science from SUNY at Stony Brook.

 

Kyle Feenstra
(204) 480-1053
E-mail: kyle.feenstra@umanitoba.ca
Twitter: @hist_librarian

Kyle Feenstra joined Elizabeth Dafoe Library as General Reference Librarian in November 2013 and has been Liaison Librarian for the Department of History since July 2014. He holds a Bachelor of Arts with majors in History and English from University of Winnipeg (2003), a Bachelor of Education from University of Winnipeg (2004), and a MLIS from University of Western Ontario (2013). Previously Kyle taught History and English at the secondary level from 2004-2012. His research interests include information literacy instruction and the role of libraries in community based international development.

 

Lyle Ford
(204) 474-9530
E-mail: Lyle.Ford@umanitoba.ca

Lyle Ford has been with the University of Manitoba Libraries since 1998. He holds a Bachelor of Arts (Advanced) and Master of Arts (English) from the University of Manitoba, and a Master of Library and Information Studies from the University of Alberta. Lyle started in the Donald W. Craik Engineering Library where he provided reference service and developed the collection for biosystems, electrical, mechanical and civil engineering. In 2004, Lyle moved to the Elizabeth Dafoe Library to run the Off-Campus Library Service. From December 2006 to July 2009, he was the Acting Head of Reference Services for Elizabeth Dafoe Library.

Lyle is presently a Liaison Librarian for English, Theatre, Film Studies, Classics and Extended Education.

"My goals as an academic librarian are to support scholars and foster scholarship. I'm here to help people use library resources in print or electronically, on-site or remotely."

 

Katherine Penner
(204) 474-6846
E-mail: katherine.penner@umanitoba.ca
Twitter: @katpenner

Katherine Penner serves our community as the Undergraduate Services Librarian and a Liaison Librarian for the Departments of Political and Religious Studies.  In her roles, she strives to assist students in researching ‘smarter, not harder’ by establishing core skills that will help them in their learning both within and outside of the University. Katherine’s enthusiasm for patron services leads her research to focus on reference strategies for emerging groups and generations in academic library systems, as well as alternative library interaction using mobile technology. Katherine holds a B. Mus. from the University of Manitoba's Faculty of Music (2008), and an MLIS from the University of Western Ontario (2009).

 

Gary Strike - on leave January - June 2017
(204) 474-7086
E-mail: Gary.Strike@umanitoba.ca

Gary Strike is the bibliographer for Sociology and is responsible for the Government Publications collection in Elizabeth Dafoe Library.  He is also responsible for Data Library Services, which provides access to aggregate and survey data. Gary has been with the University of Manitoba Libraries as a Librarian since 1996.  Prior to this, he worked here as a Library Assistant between 1987 and 1993.
Gary has a BSs in Physics and a BA in French, both from the University of Winnipeg, and an MLIS (Master of Library and Information Studies) from McGill University in 1995.

 

Asako Yoshida
Phone: 204-474-6591, 204-227-3587 (Mobile, Text Me!)
E-mail: Asako.Yoshida@umanitoba.ca
E-Portfolio: http://prairies-sky.org/e_portfolio/

Asako is a liaison and reference librarian who resides in Elizabeth Dafoe Library supporting students and instructors in Asian Studies, Economics, Disability Studies, Family Social Sciences, Labour Studies, Peace and Justice Studies, and Political Studies at the University.  She is Lead for Accessibility Support Services Implementation Team of the Libraries and interested in cultivating inclusive library services and service environments guided by the Accessibility for Manitoban Act (2013) and the Manitoba Human Rights Code (1987).  Her current research interest is the roles of "intentionality" and "awareness" in self-directing learning.

 

Reference Services: Support Staff


Nik Lysecki
(204) 474-8025
E-mail: Nicholas.Lysecki@umanitoba.ca

Nik joined the staff at Elizabeth Dafoe Library in August 2010. His duties include providing reference services to students, staff, and the public, as well as assisting in the ordering of books. Nik also works as a library assistant at the J.W. Crane Memorial Library, and prior to that he has worked for both the Neil John Maclean Health Sciences and University of Winnipeg libraries. He has a B.A. in Philosophy from the University of Manitoba and a Diploma in Library and Information Technology from Red River College.

 

 

Michelle Micuda
(204) 480-1439
E-mail: michelle.micuda@umanitoba.ca

Michelle Micuda joined the staff at the Elizabeth Dafoe Library in March 2013. Her areas of specialty include graphical user interface design, usability, media design, communication consultation, and library service for both circulation and reference. Michelle has worked as a Media Designer at the IBM lab in Markham, Ontario and Emm2 Communications in Chatham, Ontario. Her academic qualifications include a B.A. (Hons.) in Communications from Queen’s University, a Graphic Design diploma from St. Lawrence College, a Media Certificate from Sheridan, and finally a diploma from Red River College as a Library Information Technician. Her interests include illustration, and writing of which she has received award recognition. Michelle is happy to share her enthusiasm for information service and design with the students and community at the University of Manitoba.

 

Off-Campus Library Services


Gaitree Boyd
Library Assistant
(204) 474-9183
E-mail: Gaitree.Boyd@umanitoba.ca

Gaitree  has worked at the University of Manitoba Libraries for over 20 years and at Off-Campus Library Services since October 2006. She is here to help Off-Campus students find the relevant books and articles needed for them to write their papers. She is also one of several staff members that regularly assist patrons at the Service Desk.

 

ICELANDIC COLLECTION


Sigrid Johnson
Head, Icelandic Collection 
(204) 474-6345
E-mail: Sigrid.Johnson@umanitoba.ca

A graduate of the Universities of Manitoba and Alberta, Sigrid Johnson joined the University of Manitoba Libraries in 1975. In addition to her responsibilities for the development, organization and administration of the Icelandic Collection section, the largest of its kind in Canadian libraries, she serves as bibliographer for Philosophy. Throughout her career Sigrid has served on numerous University committees as well as on local and national Scandinavian studies and Icelandic Canadian organizations.  In 1992 she received the University of Manitoba Outreach Award, in 2000 the Government of Iceland bestowed upon her its Order of the Falcon, and in 2003 she was honoured by the local Icelandic community when she was named Fjallkona at the annual Islendingadagurinn (Icelandic Festival of Manitoba) held at Gimli.

 

SLAVIC COLLECTION


James Kominowski
Liaison Librarian, Slavic Collection, and German Studies
(204) 474-9681
E-mail: James.Kominowski@umanitoba.ca
Blog: http://uofmslavicstudies.blogspot.com/

James Kominowski is the Slavic Librarian and Archivist responsible for the development, maintenance, and enhancement of the Dafoe Library’s Slavic Collection, and the Archives of the Ukrainian Canadian Experience. He serves as the bibliographer for Slavic Studies and is the acting Liaison Librarian for German Studies. He also provides reference and orientation assistance to faculty, students and researchers, and serves as the Libraries’ liaison with Manitoba’s Slavic communities.

James holds a BSc (Chemistry) and an MA (Ukrainian Literature) from the University of Manitoba, and an MLIS from the University of Western Ontario.

 

Address

Elizabeth Dafoe Library  University of Manitoba 
25 Chancellors Circle Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada R3T 2N2
204 474-9844  |  dafoe@umanitoba.ca