Mathematics

This guide will help you find information for mathematics research. If you can’t find what you’re looking or don’t know where to start, please contact Justin Fuhr, the Mathematics librarian.

If you need to find:	Use:
Peer-reviewed journal articles	Articles & Databases
Broad topics or background information	Books
Influential or highly-cited journals	Articles & Databases
Most recent mathematics research that may not be formally published	Preprints & Current Research
Information on how to cite or organize journal articles, books, or other sources	Citing & Writing
Help with academic writing	Citing & Writing
Information on using generative AI tools for library research	Using Generative AI Tools for Library Research

Wondering how librarians can help you?

Students

For students, I can:

Discuss your research goals and questions to find relevant resources.
Help you develop a search strategy to find scholarly journal articles or other resources.
Choose the best databases for your research.
Help you to understand citation and reference styles.
Answer any questions about using the library to finish an assignment.
Help you deposit your thesis or dissertation in MSpace, our institutional repository.
Tell you about our amazing library services.

Faculty and Staff

For faculty and staff, I can:

Guide you to an appropriate journal to publish in, open access or otherwise.
Help you to deposit your scholarly work in MSpace, our institutional repository.
Instruct your class on library services and information literacy, such as searching for and evaluating scientific literature.
Answer any questions you have about systematic or scoping reviews.
Speak with your students about an assignment.
Create library content in UMLearn for your class.
Consider book or resource purchase suggestions.
Help make your academic work open, such as using the Open Science Framework.
Interpret journal author agreements.
Answer any questions you have about library services.

Featured Resource

Cree Dictionary of Mathematical Terms with Visual Examples and Sound (3rd ed.)
Arzu Sardarli and Ida Swan

Key Databases

MathSciNet This link opens in a new window MathSciNet, maintained by the American Mathematical Society, is a Web-based index to the mathematics literature. Coverage includes reviews and abstracts from Mathematical Reviews (updated monthly) from 1940 to the present, and Current Mathematical Publications (updated daily).
Scopus This link opens in a new window Please Note: Scopus has limited functionality with Safari. Scopus is a multi-disciplinary abstract and citation database which includes journal articles and patents. Scopus also tracks cited references, allowing users to search for subsequently published papers that cite an original research paper.Scopus Search Help
zbMATH Open This link opens in a new window zbMATH Open (formerly known as Zentralblatt MATH) is an abstracting and reviewing service in pure and applied mathematics. Currently, zbMATH Open contains bibliographic entries with reviews or abstracts drawn from journals and book series. Coverage ranges from 1868 to the present.
arXiv.org This link opens in a new window arXiv.org is an open access database of preprints and e-prints of scientific papers, maintained by Cornell University Library, covering the subject areas of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, and statistics. Mathematicians and scientists regularly upload their papers to arXiv.org for worldwide access before they are published in peer-reviewed journals. Content is updated monthly.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window Web of Science™ Core Collection is a comprehensive multidisciplinary bibliographic database with article references from journals, books, and proceedings from sciences and technology, arts and humanities, and social sciences. Coverage dates back to 1900, and content is updated weekly. Components include:Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present)Book Citation Index-Science (2005-present)Book Citation Index-Social Sciences & Humanities (2005-present)Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Science (1990-present)Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Social Sciences & Humanities (1990-present)Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present)Emerging Sources Citation Index (2015-present)Index Chemicus (1993-present)Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present)Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present) Web of Science Search Help
Library Search This link opens in a new window A single search interface provides a gateway to the University of Manitoba Libraries scholarly content, including print, electronic and digital collections. Library Search Help

Lean Library Browser Extension

Access your research anytime, anywhere. The Lean Library browser extension makes it simple to access academic articles, journals and databases licensed by the UM Libraries, wherever you are and whenever you need it.

Install the browser extension once and enjoy a simpler, faster way to get access.

Ask Us

Need more help? Use our Ask Us online chat service to get help from library staff.

If library staff are not currently available, your request will be added to an email queue. We will respond as soon as possible.

Mathematics

Mathematics

Students

Faculty and Staff

Cree Dictionary of Mathematical Terms with Visual Examples and Sound (3rd ed.) Arzu Sardarli and Ida Swan

Cree Dictionary of Mathematical Terms with Visual Examples and Sound (3rd ed.)
Arzu Sardarli and Ida Swan