Searching for scholarly articles about music? Looking for a music dictionary or encyclopedia online?
Go to our Databases A-Z list, and search for the word "music" at the top of the page. You will find all our great online music resources.
Classical Music Library is a fully searchable database of classical recordings that range from Medieval music up to the present, including choral works, symphonies, operas, and the avant-garde. CML also includes a Reference section containing selected biographies, images, glossary, and other resources.
Freegal gives you access to songs from Sony Music Entertainment Canada’s catalog. Find the tracks you want, download, and keep them! You can download 5 tracks per week, starting on Mondays. If you run out of downloads for the week, you can use the wishlist feature to mark items for download the following week.
With your WPL card, you can access this huge database of streaming classical, jazz, and world music from home or school. Contains over 54,000 CDs, including the entire Naxos catalogue and dozens of other labels it distributes.
Classical Scores Library contains 400,000 pages of classical music scores, manuscripts, and previously unpublished material from both in-copyright and public domain editions. The major composers output is represented, as well as many lesser known composers and works. Content in the database includes in-copyright material from Boosey and Hawkes and selected material from the University Music Editions microfilm series.Classical Scores Library, Volume II will contain an additional 200,000 pages and over 10,000 in-copyright editions when complete. Classical Scores Library, Volume II complements and expands on Classical Scores Library with a new focus on major composers not represented in the first collection; new contemporary self published scores by major living composers around the world; and critical editions of compositions that are lesser known but often studied.
The Internet Music Score Library Project, also called the Petrucci Music Library, is a public project that allows anyone to upload scanned music scores. The site contains thousands of music scores. Quality of scanned images varies. The scores must be public domain (out of copyright) in the uploader's home country--be aware that they may not always be public domain in Canada!
Access to over 300,000 pages of sheet music from over 35,000 works including the entire piano works of Chopin, all the songs of Schubert, all the organ music of J. S. Bach, and all the orchestra parts and scores of Beethoven.
1) Run the installer once it is done downloading
2) Follow the step by step instructions
Open in Viewer:
1) Click "Open in Viewer" for the song you would like to view/print
2) The viewer will launch and open the title you have selected
You can now view, print, transpose, or listen to your song.
Contains over 450 full-length videos of live classical music concerts, operas, ballets, and documentaries, including performances from artists such as Luciano Pavarotti, Placido Domingo, and Martha Argerich. Naxos Video Library also includes valuable tools for students and educators alike including customizable clips and playlists, subtitles, libretti, and more.
Opera in Video will contain 250 of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work’s importance to the operatic canon. The collection presents an overview of the most commonly studied operas in music history, opera literature, and performance classes. Multiple performances and stagings worldwide of the major opera.