Skip to main content

Slavic Studies Collection: Home

Slavic Collection at the Elizabeth Dafoe Library

The Slavic Collection is a separate language collection of over 70,000 volumes of books, periodicals, newspapers and microforms. It is located on the third floor of the Elizabeth Dafoe Library. The Collection contains material on a wide range of subjects, mainly in the humanities and social sciences. Although all fourteen languages are represented in the Collection, most of the material is in Russian, Ukrainian and Polish. The Slavic Collection supports courses and research in the Department of German & Slavic Studies, the Centre for Ukrainian Canadian Studies, Central and East European Studies, and other departments. In addition, the Collection complements the Archives of the Ukrainian Canadian Experience, which is housed in the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections. Materials are also used by multilingual members of the university community and general public.

The majority of the catalogued material is listed in the Libraries online catalogue . The catalogue lists Cyrillic titles in the Latin alphabet, using the Library of Congress transliteration system. Materials located in the Slavic Collection are distinguished by the prefix Slav in the call number.

Periodicals, reference materials, rare books and fragile books do not circulate. Any other items in the collection may be borrowed for regular loan periods (i.e., end of terms loan periods of: December 15, April 15, and August 15) at the Public Service Desk on the main floor of the library. If you require assistance in locating materials, please consult the staff of the Slavic Collection: Monday to Friday, 8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m (Room 234 Dafoe Library). Evenings, Saturdays and Sundays please ask for assistance at the Public Service Desk on the main floor of the library.

Unique Collections