Comb1SSandMenu
Ten Amazing Databases
The Ten Most Amazing Databases in the World from Popular Science November 2011: Data is Power
---------------------------------------
The Combined DNA Index System: FBI master DNA database
The Encyclopedia of Life / Smithsonian Institution, ... et al.Information on 40% of the planet's 1.9 million species.
FAOSTAT: Food and Agriculture Organization statistics databaseOver a million statistics, over 5 decades, 245 countries / territories
The Genographic Project / National Geographic Society and IBM420,000 human DNA profiles
International Panel on Climate Change's Data Distribution Centre
OKCupid's OKTrendsdating site collects data on human behaviour
The Sloan Digital Sky Surveycollection of astronomical images
Wayback Machine150 billion web pages archived from 1995 to present
WorldCat Bibliographic information from 72,000 libraries in 170 countries.
Statistics and Data
Data Library Services will assist users in identifying and accessing data, including: aggregate data, survey data, and spatial data. The purpose of this guide is to provide information about, and access to, a wide variety of data resources. Please feel free to browse, or contact the Data Librarian for assistance. Requests can be dealt with using email where possible, or an appointment can be made to meet where more mediation is required.
Aggregate data is often found in the form of tables and charts in publications. A selection of the more important online publications and titles can be found by clicking on the publications link above.
The University of Manitoba Libraries subscribe to many sources of aggregate statistical data, with many more sources being freely available. The more important sources are listed under this statistical databases tab found above.
(coming soon) Census data tab, will have information about the Census of Canada, population and agriculture.
(coming soon) Survey data tab, will have information about the DLI and ICPSR subscriptions to survey data resources.
The GIS/Spatial data page provides links to selected sources of online imagery, information about University of Manitoba Libraries subscriptions, links to GIS on the web, and information about Statistics Canada spatial resources and maps.
The Aboriginal Statistics tab provides information about and links to a wide variety of resources about the Aboriginal Peoples of Canada. This includes Statistics Canada and other sources, aggregate and survey data, that deal with all aspects of this topic.
The Polls tab above provides information on public polls by various agencies, and those run by the Government of Canada, plus a selected list of books about public opinions and what people beliefs.
For help in finding and citing data products, please see the links below or contact Data Library Serivices:
- Africa Development Indicators

- Balance of Payments Statistics
- Bank of Canada
- Canadian Census Analyser
- Canadian Financial Markets Research Centre (CFMRC)
- CANSIM II
- CCINFO CHEMINFO, MSDS
- Centre for Research in Security Prices - (CRSP)
- China Data Online
- Direction of Trade Statistics
- E-STAT
- EIU - Economist Intelligence Unit Country Profile
- EIU - Economist Intelligence Unit Country Report
- EIU - Economist Intelligence Unit Industry Briefing
- EIU - Economist Intelligence Unit ViewsWire
- FINANCIALPOST.infomart.ca
- Global Development Finance

- Government Finance Statistics
- International Financial Statistics
- Journal Citation Reports
- Mergent Online
- Metis National Council Historic Online Database

- OECD Health Data
- Sigma-Aldrich
- 2006 Census Data
- Canada & U.S. Indicators
- International Indicators
- European Union
- TaxFind
- Trade Analyser
- TSX Venture Exchange eReview
- UNdata (replaces UNSTATS)

- WDI Online (World Development Indicators)
- Wiley Registry of Mass Spectral Data
Subject Guide |
Links: Profile & Guides |



Loading...
