Skip to main content

Theses and Dissertations: Home

How to find theses and dissertations at UMLibraries

The University of Manitoba Libraries receives a copy of each master’s thesis, doctoral dissertation and practicum submitted for a degree by students at the University of Manitoba (U of M). Theses, dissertations and practica are catalogued and can be searched through the Libraries’ One Stop Search.

The Elizabeth Dafoe Library holds most theses, dissertations and practica.  Theses and dissertations completed in the faculties of Medicine, Dentistry, Law and Architecture are located in their respective libraries. While the theses found here can be from any graduate program, the practica are predominantly from the Master of Social Work, Master of Nursing and Master of Natural Resources Management Programs.

For information on writing and submission of a thesis, dissertation or practicum see Faculty of Graduate Studies Graduate Thesis/Practicum Guidelines and Info .

Find UM-Authored Theses, Dissertations and Practica

One Stop Search

The Libraries’ One Stop Search is the recommended way to search for theses, dissertations and practica produced at U of M.

  • Search by author, title or keyword
  • Search by department using a keyword search to retrieve all theses and dissertations associated with that department. For example: university manitoba history dissertations or university manitoba social work dissertations

Circulating Print Copies

Print copies of U of M theses, dissertations and practica that are located in the Elizabeth Dafoe Library and published within the last 5 years are shelved on the second floor of the library starting along the walls directly below the mezzanine level. Theses and dissertations are bound in black covers. Practica are bound in green covers. Call numbers are generated from the name of the author rather than the subject, so browsing is not practical here unless you are looking for a specific author.

Theses, dissertations and practica published more than 5 years ago are kept in Storage. These may be requested through the U of M Libraries One Stop Search and are generally obtained within 2 to 3 business days.

Microfiche Copies

The U of M theses, dissertations and practica are also available in a Microfiche format and are available for use in the Microforms Section on the main floor of the Elizabeth Dafoe Library.

Electronic Copies

Search Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest) database, available via Databases A-Z on the Libraries’ main page.  Full text (PDF) of U of M theses and dissertations is available to U of M students, faculty and staff at no charge.  Full text (PDF) of theses and dissertations from other institutions is available for purchase from ProQuest via the database.

Search the U of M institutional repository - MSpace to find and download full text of UM theses and dissertations.

University Archives

The archival copies of U of M theses and dissertations are held by the Archives and Special Collections.
Archival copies are limited to in-library use, and may be used only when no other copy is available.

Find Theses and Dissertations Authored at Other Institutions

Canadian Theses

Theses Canada Portal (Library and Archives Canada): Coverage from 1965 to the present. Provides full text from 1998 when available. All theses in Library and Archives Canada's collection are available on interlibrary loan. To borrow a thesis or dissertation from Library and Archives Canada's collection request it through U of M Libraries Document Delivery Service

Dissertations and Theses (Proquest) database: Coverage from 1861 – present. Provides citations and abstracts when available. Full text in PDF format and 24 page previews are available for most dissertations and theses added since 1997.  Titles are available for purchase and payable by credit card.

International Theses

Dissertations and Theses (Proquest) database: Coverage from 1861 – present. Provides citations and abstracts when available to dissertations and theses from around the world. Full text in PDF format and 24 page previews are available for most dissertations and theses added since 1997.  Titles are available for purchase and payable by credit card.