Skip to main content

Citing and Writing in the Humanities and Social Sciences: Citing and Writing

This page provides tips and examples of writing book reviews, essays, dissertations and referencing styles using specific style manuals.

Elements of Article Citations

Articles are in Journals

Journals are in Databases

Databases are searchable collections of journal articles, book chapters, books and more.

Example of an article:

Misri, S., Kostaras, X., Fox, D., & Kostaras, D. (2000). The impact of partner support in the treatment of postpartum depression. Canadian Journal of Psychiatry, (45)6, 554‐558. Retrieved from EBSCOhost Academic Search Complete database.

Authors: Misri, S., Kostaras, X., Fox, D., & Kostaras, D.

Publication Date: (2000)

Article Title:The impact of partner... 

Journal Title, Vol.#, Iss.#, Pg.#: Canadian Journal of ...,
(45)6, 554‐558.  

Database Info: Retrieved from EBSCOhost Academic... 

Writing Tutors

Need help with writing papers?

Visit the Academic Learning Centre located in 203 Tier Building, book your appointment online, or call 480-1481.

For more information please see the Academic Learning Centre Web Page.

Style Manuals in the Dafoe Library

American Psychological Association. (2010). Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association. 6th ed. Washington, D.C.: American Psychological Association. (Location: Elizabeth Dafoe Library; Call number BF 76.7 P83 2010 Quick Reference)

Gibaldi, Joseph, ed. (2016). MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. 8th ed. New York: Modern Language Association of America. (Location: Elizabeth Dafoe Library; Call number LB 2369 G53  Quick Reference)

Turabian, Kate L. (2013). A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations: Chicago Style for students and Researchers. 8th ed. Chicago: University of Chicago Press. (Location: Elizabeth Dafoe Library; Call number LB 2369 T8  Quick Reference)

The Chicago Manual of Style. (2010). 16th ed. Chicago: University of Chicago Press. (Location: Elizabeth Dafoe Library; Call number Z 253 U69 2010 Quick Reference)

Citation Managers

About Citation Managers

E-Shelf is a feature available via One Stop Search. About E-Shelf & help page

EndNote is available for free whereas full edition is available for purchase from the U of M Bookstore. About EndNote & help pageWebsite

Mendeley is a free desktop and web program for managing and sharing research papers.  With Mendeley you can organize and manage the PDF documents that are already on your computer, annotate PDFs and search within the text of all of your PDFs. You can also create bibliographies and sync PDFs to your web account for access to them anywhere online.  About Mendeley & help page Website

Zotero is a free Firefox citation management software that helps manage documents found online through the browser. You can save your citations within the browser, with an option to sync online so you can access them from anywhere. Zotero can store PDFs, files, images, links, and whole web pages as well as a "snapshot" of the document.  About Zotero & help page Website

One Stop Search

Ask a Librarian