Skip to main content
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the MĂ©tis Nation. More

EDUB 7142: Home

This guide provides some information on research for the 3 roles in the Workshop & Resource for Collective Publication assignment.

How to use this guide

Welcome to the library research guide for EDUB 7124!

How this guide is structured:

  • Information about library research that everyone needs to know will be located on the homepage.
  • More customized information for each role in the group is available in the respective tabs along the top of the page.

I recommend starting on this page and then moving on to the page for your role in the group, referring back as needed.

To use these library research methods, begin on the Libraries website.

How to search for books

How to search for books, when you already know the title:

Please note: When searching for children's books and other teaching materials, pay particular attention to the Location. In the video above, this is mentioned briefly at around 0:43. In that example, there is a location that says Second Floor. You are more likely to find one of the 4 following locations:

Education Collections

  1. Canadian Children's Book Collection. 2nd floor. Shelf #s 11A to 13B This collection does not circulate, meaning that you can not borrow these materials.
    If you find something of interest in the CCBC, check to see if it is also available in another collection. Often we have multiple copies in different collections, meaning that some can be borrowed.
  2. Instructional Materials Collection. 2nd floor, Shelf #s 14A to 18A. This collection includes teaching materials like children's books. The books can be borrowed until the end of the semester. (Please be aware of recalls.)
  3. Young Adult collection. 2nd floor, Shelf #s 18A to 19B. This collection includes teaching materials like children's books. The books can be borrowed until the end of the semester. (Please be aware of recalls.)
  4. Mazinbiige Indigenous Graphic Novel Collection. 1st floor. (In one of the glass rooms behind the Service Desk.) This collection also does not circulate, meaning that you can not borrow these materials.
    If you find something of interest in the Mazinbiige Indigenous Graphic Novel Collection, check to see if it is also available in another collection. Often we have multiple copies in different collections, meaning that some can be borrowed.

Take a look at our Borrowing information, including how long you can borrow books for. Please look closely at the Recall section!

 

How to find a book by its call number:

Please note that when writing down call numbers of books, it's important to also write down the location. It's also very helpful to click Map It! and write down the shelf # as well.

When you are finished using a book that you will not be borrowing please find an empty red or orange shelf to place the items on.

How to find and access academic articles

We often recommend starting on the library's homepage for a basic search. (Please note, the search interface has been updated since this video was created, so it does look a little different, but functions in the same way.)

 

 

 

For more in-depth research in Education, use ERIC, the primary database for Education. Again, the search functions in much the same way.

 

How to access the full-text of an article. Please note that although this video shows how to access full-text through the "One Stop Search" on the library website, this is the same method that would be used in other databases, like ERIC.

 

APA Citation

Quick reference on APA style citations and references

Library Contacts

Education Liaison Librarian

Indigenous Services Librarian

'Keyword' selection

'Keywords' are the words that you type into a search bar, and they are among the most important parts of fidning the information you need.
So how do you decide what words to search?
Try to boil down your topic to its most important concepts, and only search those words. Do not enter full sentences or phrases. I recommend starting broad and narrowing down as you go.

 

Search tips

Optional. This will be of more use to you as you go, rather than from the beginning, but should be of use in all roles in this assignment.

In some of the sample searches provided in this guide, you'll see a number of symbols and words used in potentially unfamiliar ways (eg 'OR'; '*'). To learn why, how, and when to use the symbols, check out these short tutorial videos: