Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding journal articles: Best bets
Family & Society Studies Worldwide
Provides access to records and publications covering research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, selected popular literature, government reports, discussion and working papers, unpublished material such as poster sessions, statistical documents, theses & dissertations and other sources.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive, scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database. It includes numerous full-text periodicals, many of which are peer-reviewed. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for a number of journals and other publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in searchable PDF format.
Child Development & Adolescent Studies
Child Development & Adolescent Studies produced by NISC, is a source for references to current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through to the age of 21. This database includes all of the issues of Child Development Abstracts & Bibliography from 1927-2001 previously published by the Society for Research in Child Development plus new coverage on Child Rights and welfare issues.
Please note: Scopus has limited functionality with Safari.
Scopus is a multi-disciplinary abstract and citation database which also tracks cited references, allowing users to search for subsequently published papers that cite an original research paper.
AGELINE database produced by the American Association of Retired Persons (AARP) provides extensive coverage of articles from numerous periodicals, books, government publications, and research reports pertaining to aging and age related issues. The journal titles include research, professional, and general interest periodicals focused on the study of aging from psychological, health-related, sociological, and economic perspectives.
Child Welfare Information Gateway
The Child Welfare Information Gateway is for researchers, practitioners, policy makers, and administrators working to prevent and treat child abuse and neglect, and to provide out-of-home placement and permanency planning services. Citations and abstracts are to books, journal articles, final reports from federally-funded grant, conference papers, unpublished papers, reports on completed or continuing research, as well as descriptions of service programs and more.
Social Care Online
Please note: In order to get full access to all features and content, patrons will need to Register or log in to create a Social Care Institute for Excellence (SCIE) account.
Social Care Online is the UK's largest online database of information on all aspects of social work and social care. It includes legislation, government documents, practice and guidance, systematic reviews, research briefings, UK grey (informally-published) literature, reports, and journal articles. The database is updated daily and contains numerous records from the 1980s onward.
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to millions of citations from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database (CBCA)
Please note: Users can create a "My Research" account to save searches, documents, and citations (up to 4000). Citations can be exported up to 1000 at a time.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database includes over 540 periodicals and daily news sources (over 480 of which are Canadian), plus indexing to an additional 1,100 other titles (over 95% Canadian).
Library Access Browser Extension