Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases for Locating Journal Articles
Labour Studies Index
Last Update: January 15, 2021. Open-access index of publications in Canadian labour studies including books, book chapters, journal articles, reviews, commissioned reports, and theses. Indexes comprehensively the journals Labour/Le Travail, Relations industrielles/Industrial Relations and Just Labour: A Canadian Journal of Work and Society. The Index is produced by Desmond Maley and Dan Scott, J.-N. Desmarais Library, Laurentian University. See the section of Selected Labour Studies Journal Titles below.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive, scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database. It includes numerous full-text periodicals, many of which are peer-reviewed. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for a number of journals and other publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in searchable PDF format.
Alternative Press Index
Alternative Press Index is a bibliographic database of journal, newspaper and magazine articles from international alternative, radical and left periodicals. Covering 1991 to the present, it provides access to emerging theories and practices of social change.
Alternative Press Index Archive
This archive companion to the Alternative Press Index is a guide to articles from alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Coverage spans 1969 through 1990.
America: History and Life
Simultaneous user limit: 6
America: History and Life is an index to scholarly literature dealing with Canadian and U.S. history. It covers the history of these two countries from prehistoric times to the present. The database indexes articles, book reviews and dissertations. Political, diplomatic, military, economic, social, cultural, religious and intellectual history are included. The history of science, technology and medicine is also covered.
Business Source Premier
Business Source Premier contains full text from the world's top management and marketing journals, including Harvard Business Review, California Management Review, Administrative Science Quarterly, Academy of Management Journal, Academy of Management Review, Industrial & Labor Relations Review, Journal of Management Studies, Journal of Marketing Management, Journal of Marketing Research (JMR), Journal of Marketing, Journal of International Marketing, and many others.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database (CBCA)
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database includes over 540 periodicals and daily news sources (over 480 of which are Canadian), plus indexing to an additional 1,100 other titles (over 95% Canadian).
Conference Board of Canada e-Library
Please Note: There is a 60-day viewing embargo on webinars.
Conference Board of Canada e-Library contains research documents produced by the Conference Board of Canada and Conference Board Inc. (New York). These documents include research reports that provide insights into key areas of economic trends, organizational performance and public policy. To access: You may see an option to access this document without creating an account or create a new account. Please choose the "without creating an account" option to access the item.
JSTOR is a database of back issues of academic journals, books, and primary sources. With content extending over a century, subject areas include area studies, the arts, business & economics, history, the humanities, law, medicine, science & mathematics, and social sciences.
Please Note: Before searching, select LabourSource from My Subscriptions on the right side of screen.
LabourSource integrates labour-related case law, labour arbitration decisions, court decisions, and labour and employment related legislation from all Canadian jurisdictions. Includes access to Canadian Labour Arbitration, Fourth Ed. (Brown & Beatty).
PAIS International, from Public Affairs Information Service, is an index to literature on political, economic, and social issues of current interest. The database covers the public and social policy literature of business, economics, finance, law, international relations, public administration, government, political science, and other social sciences. Emphasis is on issues that are, or might become, the subject of legislation. Coverage dates back to 1915.
Please Note: Scopus has limited functionality with Safari.
Scopus is a multi-disciplinary abstract and citation database which also tracks cited references, allowing users to search for subsequently published papers that cite an original research paper.
Selected Labour Studies Journal Titles:
Global Labour Journal
"The Global Labour Journal is an open-access, fully peer-reviewed online journal launched in January 2010. It is the official journal of the International Sociological Association’s Research Committee on Labour Movements (RC44). The Journal is co-hosted by the Global Labour University (GLU), and supported by the International Center for Development and Decent Work (ICDD) in Kassel, Germany, and the Center for Global Workers’ Rights (CGWR) at Penn State University in State College, USA."
International labour and working class history
ILWCH "explores diverse topics from globalisation and workers’ rights to class and consumption, labor movements, class identities and cultures, unions, and working-class politics. ILWCH publishes original research, review essays, conference reports from around the world, and an acclaimed scholarly controversy section. Comparative and cross-disciplinary, the journal is of interest to scholars in history, sociology, political science, labor studies, global studies, and a wide range of other fields and disciplines."
York University's Centre for Research on Work and Society (CRWS) offers this journal to academics, trade-unionists, community activists, researchers, policymakers, and students.
Labour, Capital, and Society/Travail, capital et société
"Labour, Capital and Society (LC&S) is an interdisciplinary, bilingual, refereed journal on labour issues concerning the regions of Africa, Asia, Latin America, the Caribbean and the Middle East. It is published twice a year.
Labour: Canadian Labour Studies Journal
"Labour/Le Travail is the official, semi-annual publication of the Canadian Committee on Labour History. Since it began publishing in 1976, it has carried many important articles in the field of working-class history, industrial sociology, labour economics, and labour relations. Although primarily interested in a historical perspective on Canadian workers, the journal is interdisciplinary in scope. In addition to articles, the journal features documents, conference reports, an annual bibliography of materials in Canadian labour studies, review essays, and reviews. While the main focus of the journal's articles is Canadian, the review essays and reviews consider international work of interest to Canadian labour studies. Many of Labour's articles are illustrated and each issue is book length, averaging 350 pages an issue."
Labour History Review
Labour History Review, published by Liverpool University Press, has explored the working lives and politics of 'ordinary' people since 1960 and has played a key role in redefining social and political history. Labour History Review is indexed in Arts & Humanities Citation Index (Web of Science).
Monthly Labor Review
United States. Bureau of Labor Statistics.
Relations industrielles/Industry Relations
"Relations Industrielles / Industrial Relations (RI/IR) is a bilingual quarterly published since 1945 by the Industrial Relations Department of Université Laval (Québec, Canada). It is the world’s first scientific journal on industrial relations and Canada’s only such publication."
Studies in Political Economy
"Studies in Political Economy is an interdisciplinary journal committed to the publication of original work in the various traditions of socialist political economy. Researchers and analysts within these traditions seek to understand how political, economic and cultural processes and struggles interact to shape and reshape the conditions of people's lives."
Work, employment & society
"Work, Employment and Society is a leading international peer-reviewed journal of the British Sociological Association which publishes theoretically informed and original research on the sociology of work.
Work, Employment and Society is an official journal of the British Sociological Association. Work, Employment and Society analyses all forms of work and their relation to wider social processes and structures, and to quality of life. It embraces the study of the labour process; industrial relations; changes in labour markets; and the gender and domestic divisions of labour. It supports contemporary, historical and comparative studies and both qualitative and quantitative methodologies."
Canadian Labour Unions Archives:
Canadian Labour Unions
Compiled by University of Toronto since March 2006. The page provides "[a] collection of the documents published on the websites of Canada's public sector unions, private sector unions, and labour federations. The collection is national in scope. Most websites include administrative and organizational information, press releases and newsletters, and collective bargaining information (including some collective agreements)."
Aggregator E-Book Platforms:
The following are e-book collections that can be searched individually. These e-book collections are also integrated and searchable in UML Catalogue. Search above Library Searching Engine.
Simultaneous user limit: varies by title.
EBSCOhost's ebook collection provides access to a growing collection of electronic books from various publishers.
Simultaneous user limit: varies by title.
Ebook Central from ProQuest provides access to electronic books across a wide range of disciplines from well known and lesser known publishers.
Scholarly Portal eBooks
A collection of ebooks from various Canadian University Presses covering multidisciplinary subject areas, including History, Political Science, and many others.
Access is to the 2014-2016 output of participating Canadian University Presses.
EBOOK Navigational Guides:
Library Access Browser Extension
U of Manitoba Institutional Depository
MSpace is the University of Manitoba's institutional repository, dedicated to collecting, storing, and preserving digital versions of the intellectual output of University of Manitoba faculty, researchers,and students. It contains datasets, undergraduate and graduate theses, historical pamphlets, and other research publications.