Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Click the links below to jump to sections:
Best Bet Databases for MIS
This is a list of selected resources that fall under Management Information Systems (MIS). For a full list of business-related resources, go to the Resources page. For a full description of the resource, hover over the icon.
ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
ABI/INFORM Complete® is a comprehensive business database. The combination of products forms a business database package that offers numerous full-text titles covering business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, as well as competitive and product information. Its international coverage provides researchers with insight into companies and business trends around the world.
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) Digital Library includes bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews, and the full text of articles published in ACM periodicals and proceedings since 1954. Full text is available for most articles, but full text is not yet available for every proceeding article published before 1991.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier contains full text from the world's top management and marketing journals, including Harvard Business Review, California Management Review, Administrative Science Quarterly, Academy of Management Journal, Academy of Management Review, Industrial & Labor Relations Review, Journal of Management Studies, Journal of Marketing Management, Journal of Marketing Research (JMR), Journal of Marketing, Journal of International Marketing, and many others.
Compendex Web This link opens in a new window
This database abstracts the wide range of all engineering disciplines covering journal articles and conference proceedings with over 2,600 sources world-wide, adding 220,000 annually. The database covers from 1884 to the present and is updated weekly. The Web-based search interface is easy to learn, with access by keyword, author, title words, subject headings, author affiliation, and/or journal title. One can limit by year, discipline or type of document.
Gartner Core IT Research This link opens in a new window Access Restrictions: Only UM faculty, staff, students and researchers with an active UMnetID and a University email address may access this service, for educational purposes only.
Please review the Gartner Usage Policy
before using the service.
for more information about Key Features and Benefits and using Gartner IT Research.
Jointly provided by University of Manitoba Libraries and Information Services & Technology (IST)
IEEE Xplore: IEEE Electronic Library (IEL) This link opens in a new window
Please Note: IET Electronic Library (IEL) is now available under IET Journals.
New for 2022: IEL now has access to IEEE Draft Standards.
The IEEE provides access to the full text of ejournals, ebooks, conference proceedings, and technical standards of: the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) and SAE International (Society of Automotive Engineers). Subject areas include electrical engineering, computer science, electronics, bioengineering, and communication technologies, among other growing areas of research.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Web of Science™ Core Collection is a comprehensive interdisciplinary, bibliographic database with article references from journals, books, and proceedings from sciences and technology, arts and humanities, and social sciences. Coverage dates back to 1900, and content is updated weekly.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present)
- Book Citation Index-Science (2005-present)
- Book Citation Index-Social Sciences & Humanities (2005-present)
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Science (1990-present)
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Social Sciences & Humanities (1990-present)
- Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present)
- Emerging Sources Citation Index (2015-present)
- Index Chemicus (1993-present)
- Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present)
- Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present)
Top Journals in MIS
This is a selective list of key journals available through the UM Libraries. For additional titles, contact the subject librarian.
ACM Special Interest Group on Management Information Systems (SIGMIS)
SIGMIS is an Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) Special Interest Group. Its focus is in defining and developing the field of management and information systems.
AFCOM - Association for Data Centre Management Professionals
"For over 40 years, AFCOM has been advancing the careers of data center and IT professionals, working diligently to help its members meet the growing demands facing our industry."
Association for Information Science and Technology (ASIS&T)
This professional association "bridges the gap between information science practice and research. ASIS&T members represent the fields of information science, computer science, linguistics, management, librarianship, engineering, data science, information architecture, law, medicine, chemistry, education, and related technology."
Association for Information Systems (AIS)
"AIS serves society through the advancement of knowledge and the promotion of excellence in the practice and study of information systems. It is the premier professional association for individuals and organizations who lead the research, teaching, practice, and study of information systems worldwide."
Society for Information Management (SIM)
"SIM connects you with the top IT leaders in the industry including: CIOs, senior IT executives, prominent academicians, consultants, and other top IT professionals."
Head, Social Sciences Division