Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the M├ętis Nation. More

Architecture: Citing Images

Subject Guide

Basic Requirements

Citing images of works in architecture, arts and design can be challenging. Ask your professor what is the style appropriate for the course. When you document images you need to create captions and bibliographic citations. When image appears in the text you should write a descriptive caption indicating the source of the image. You will create a more detailed entry in your bibliography or figure list. The most important is to be consistent in formatting the text.

  • Architect
  • Building Name
  • Date
  • Location
  • Construction type

An Image from the Web

Include the architect's name, the year the building was constructed, type of construction, followed by the city where it is located.

Include the complete information for the site where you found the image, including the date of access.

For example: (Houses of Parliament)  Sir Charles Barry & A.W.N. Pugin,
1836 - 68
. Web. 10 September 2013. <http://www.parliament.uk/about/images/>

An Image from a Database

Cite the relevant publication information as you would do for print one followed by name of the database or subscription collection. End the citation with the medium of publication - Web, and the date of access. For articles that appear in an online-only format or in databases that do not provide a page number, use the abbreviation n.pag. for no pagination. If no publisher is listed, use N.P. If work has an alternative name you might want to provide both.

For example: Wright, Frank Lloyd. Elevation and Plan of the Fallingwater (Kaufmann House). 1936-38. Artstor Database, Web. 12 September 2013.

An Image from a Book

You need to include name of an artist/architect/designer, a work title, date it was created, repository/location (if applicable), and also the bibliographic information for the source in which this image appears (name of book's author, book title, publisher information, date, page and figure or plate number of the reproduction).

For example: Stevenson, Neil. St. Basil's Cathedral, Barma and Posnik, cathedral, Moscow, 1555-60.  Architecture Explained, London: DK Publishing, 2007:g, 2003: 47. Print.

Citing Images Style Guide PDF

An Image from a Print Article

In addition to information on work of art/architecture include name of article's author, title of the article and periodical title. Follow with the publisher information, date/issue, page and figure number.

For example: Borallo, Anna Living Room in Paul Grey's Apartment in New York. Photograph by Nathan Kirkman. Skolnik, Lisa "High resolution". Metropolitan Home 1.5 (2009):117. Print.