Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the Métis Nation. More

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Please note: Due to COVID-19, and in support of the move to online learning, the publisher has provided temporary access to this resource until June 30, 2021.

19th Century British Pamphlets is a corpus of primary sources for the study of sociopolitical and economic factors impacting 19th-century Britain. Created by Research Libraries UK (RLUK) with funding from the JISC Digitisation Programme, the collection is comprised of more than 26,000 important pamphlets held in research libraries in the United Kingdom.
New
The A&AePortal is an ebook resource that features works of scholarship in the history of art, architecture, decorative arts, photography, and design. With innovative functionality and extensive metadata, the site offers students and scholars an engaging experience, encouraging critical thinking skills and supporting rigorous academic research.
  • Alumni Access Permitted
  • A Canadian resource
New
A commercial directory of contemporary Canadian artists, art galleries and art-related businesses. Intended to provide marketing and communication opportunities, members create profiles of their work with links to their websites/galleries. Searchable by artist name, location, and artist technique/genre.
New
Bates’ Visual Guide delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course. The site features more than 8 hours of video content. Students and faculty in medical, nursing, and related programs will appreciate the careful attention to clinical accuracy, as well as the range of patient types profiled in the series. It includes OSCE Clinical Skills videos designed to help students test clinical reasoning skills.
New
Collection of resources to support the study of architecture, urbanism, and interior design. You can browse through an interactive visual timeline of global architectural history; study in-depth buildings pages; or research Bloomsbury's library of architecture ebooks.
  • Alumni Access Permitted
New
This primary source database provides original materials from the Church Missionary Society (CMS), founded in 1799 as an Anglican evangelical organization. It includes documents related to CMS missions to Africa, the Americas, India, the Middle East, Missions to Women, and the central records of the CMS.
New
The Global Environmental Justice documentaries explore human rights and environmental protection issues triggered by inequality, global development and climate change. The films were selected by faculty from Whittier College, Yale, Bates College, Brandeis, and NYU and are supported by teaching guides. The project is supported by the Luce Foundation and the Global Reporting Centre and is produced by Face to Face Media.
Please note: Due to COVID-19, and in support of the move to online learning, the publisher has provided temporary access to this resource until June 30, 2021.

Consisting of nearly 3 million objects, Global Plants is the largest community-contributed database in which herbaria share their plant type specimens and experts determine and update plant names. The collection also includes partner-contributed reference works and primary sources, such as collectors’ correspondence and diaries, paintings, drawings, and photographs. The database is an essential resource for institutions supporting research and teaching in botany, ecology, and conservation studies.
New
Newspapers spanning the 18th, 19th, and early 20th century, up to the 1917 Bolshevik Revolution. Includes titles from Moscow and St. Petersburg as well as regional newspapers from across the Russian Empire.
Please note: Due to COVID-19, and in support of the move to online learning, the publisher has provided temporary access to this resource until June 30, 2021.

JSTOR Sustainability is a collection of academic and open policy research on environmental stresses and their impact on society. This collection was built in collaboration with librarians, scholars, and policy researchers, and looks at sustainability and resilience through a broad lens spanning more than 30 disciplines.
New
Coverage: 1944-1980

Written in the French language and covering leading issues and events, like World War II and the Fifth Republic, to French, European and international politics, society and business, ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Le Monde reveals the day-to-day news coverage.
Video tutorials, text entries, and practice datasets to teach both beginner and advanced researchers the fundamentals of data and design necessary to create impactful visualizations. Step-by-step guides allow users to practice creating visualizations using a variety of tools.
New
Titles from BFI Publishing's list of books on film history, theory, national cinemas, genres, film-makers, and stars. It includes titles published in the BFI Screen Guides, World Directors, Film Stars, BFI Silver and International Screen Industries series, as well as essential companions to film studies such as Pam Cook’s The Cinema Book.
New
Snara is an online dictionary, compiling information from dozens of dictionaries and thesauri. The dictionary provides translations between Icelandic and English, French, German, Greek, Italian, Spanish, Danish, and Polish. Entries include definitions, sentences and grammar rules, including declinations and examples.

Snara also contains recipes for traditional and popular Icelandic dishes. Users can look up recipes by type and specific ingredient.
  • Alumni Access Permitted
New
Please note: In order to get full access to all features and content, patrons will need to Register or log in to create a Social Care Institute for Excellence (SCIE) account.

Social Care Online is the UK's largest online database of information on all aspects of social work and social care. It includes legislation, government documents, practice and guidance, systematic reviews, research briefings, UK grey (informally-published) literature, reports, and journal articles. The database is updated daily and contains numerous records from the 1980s onward.
Please note: Due to COVID-19, and in support of the move to online learning, the publisher has provided temporary access to this resource until June 30, 2021.

Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa consists of more than 190,000 pages of documents and images, including periodicals, nationalist publications, records of colonial government commissions, local newspaper reports, personal papers, correspondence, UN documents, out-of-print and other particularly relevant books, oral histories, and speeches. The collection’s materials were selected with the guidance of national advisory committees consisting of leading scholars, archivists, and public intellectuals in the six countries, as well as scholars from outside the region.
New
A library of mental health simulation videos, Symptom Media’s films provide viewers with visual guideposts to better understand mental health diagnoses and decrease the stigma for those facing psychological issues. The collection includes the DSM 5 and ICD 10 Guided Video collection.
New
Please note: Users can create a "My Research" account to save searches, documents, and citations (up to 4000). Citations can be exported up to 1000 at a time.

Database of working documents of the British government for all areas of social, political, economic, and foreign policy. It covers Bills, Reports of Royal Commissions, Reports of Select Committees, Accounts and Papers and other materials from the House of Commons and House of Lords.
Please note: Due to COVID-19, and in support of the move to online learning, the publisher has temporarily removed the simultaneous user limit for this resource until June 30, 2021.

World Heritage Sites: Africa links visual, contextual, and spatial documentation of African heritage sites. The collection includes more than 57,000 objects including photographs, 3D models, GIS data, site plans, aerial and satellite photography, images of rock art, excavation reports, manuscripts, traveler’s accounts, historical and antiquarian maps, books, articles, and other scholarly research. The collection is made up of materials including the Heinz Rüther Collection from the University of Cape Town, the Kilwa Archive from the British Institute in Eastern Africa (BIEA), and the Smithsonian Heritage Collection.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...