Skip to main content
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the Métis Nation. More

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Please note: Due to COVID-19, and in support of the move to online learning, the publisher has temporarily removed the simultaneous user limit for this resource until December 31, 2020.

19th Century British Pamphlets is a corpus of primary sources for the study of sociopolitical and economic factors impacting 19th-century Britain. Created by Research Libraries UK (RLUK) with funding from the JISC Digitisation Programme, the collection is comprised of more than 26,000 important pamphlets held in research libraries in the United Kingdom.
Access to this database is part of a trial period, from June 23- July 23, 2020.

AccessPhysiotherapy provides PT students with instant access to videos, self-assessment, and leading physical therapy textbooks that will establish an important foundation for learning, and allows physical therapists to brush up on their knowledge or access quick answers as the need arises.
  • Alumni Access Permitted
  • A Canadian resource
New
A commercial directory of contemporary Canadian artists, art galleries and art-related businesses. Intended to provide marketing and communication opportunities, members create profiles of their work with links to their websites/galleries. Searchable by artist name, location, and artist technique/genre.
New
Coverage: University of Manitoba Libraries access does not include ASME Standards.

The ASME Digital Collection (American Society of Mechanical Engineers) provides access to many of ASME's publications from a single interface: journals, conference proceedings, and eBooks. Users can search across multiple publication types at once, refine searches by topic, citation, etc., or choose from ASME's Topic Collections. Content is peer-reviewed and covers all engineering disciplines, with archival content back to the 1950s for select titles.
The Biomedical & Life Sciences Collection is a collection of commissioned multimedia lectures presented by world experts on a range of topics from basic science to therapeutic intervention, from the level of the single molecule to entire populations at both introductory and advanced levels.
  • A Canadian resource
New
Created in partnership with the Electronic Text Centre at the University of New Brunswick Libraries, this collection contains the full text of more than 19,000 poems by 177 poets including Bliss Carman, Isabella Valancy Crawford, Archibald Lampman, Charles G. D. Roberts and Duncan Campbell Scott, offering a comprehensive survey of Canadian poetry from the eighteenth century to the early twentieth.
  • A Canadian resource
New
Please note: This resource restricts the use of PDFs: PDF printing is disabled by the publisher; PDFs cannot be viewed off-campus. The PDF format can only be accessed on-campus, view and download only.

Please Note: University of Manitoba Libraries does not have access to standards that are in process or not yet adopted by the CSA.

Please note: Users are encouraged to create a free personal account to use additional functions such as highlighting and adding notes to PDFs.

The new platform for CSA Standards, CSA OnDemand is a searchable library of standards from the Canadian Standards Association. It provides continually updated standards for online viewing; PDF format is disabled off-campus. French-language standards are included when available, as well as archives of past standards. Subjects include construction, engineering, electrical, energy, environmental, health & safety, information technology, infrastructure, mechanical & industrial equipment, and business management systems.
Please note: Due to COVID-19, and in support of the move to online learning, the publisher has provided temporary access to this resource until July 31, 2020.

Each week the Current Digest presents a selection of Russian-language press materials, carefully translated into English. The translations are intended for use in teaching and research. They are therefore presented as documentary materials without elaboration or comment, and state the opinions and views of the original authors, not of the publisher of the journal.
New
Coverage: 1500 - 1990 (approx.)

English Poetry is a comprehensive collection of poetry in English from the 8th century to the early 20th. It contains hundreds of thousands of poems by over a thousand poets, drawn from numerous printed sources.
Please note: Due to COVID-19, and in support of the move to online learning, the publisher has provided temporary access to this resource until July 31, 2020.

East View has assembled a selection of eBooks on hundreds of topics from premier scholarly publishers in Russia, Ukraine, and more.
Access to this database is part of a trial period, from June 24 - July 24, 2020.

Online athletic training resource. Includes full text of athletic training books and extensive video library, AT case studies.
Access to this database is part of a trial period, from June 24 - July 24, 2020.

Online physical therapy resource. Includes full text physical therapy books and extensive video library, PT case studies.
FTSE Russell ESG Ratings allows investors to understand a company's exposure to, and management of, Environmental, Social, and Governance issues in multiple dimensions, measuring performance on 7,200 securities across 47 Developed and Emerging markets.
FTSE Market Maps is a suite of monthly and quarterly publications created by the FTSE Global Markets Research (GMR) team. This series of reports covers a wide range of timely observations and analysis of global capital-market trends for better investment decision-making, and now features regular commentary on Coronavirus market impact.
Please note: Due to COVID-19, and in support of the move to online learning, the publisher has temporarily removed the simultaneous user limit for this resource until December 31, 2020.

Consisting of nearly 3 million objects, Global Plants is the largest community-contributed database in which herbaria share their plant type specimens and experts determine and update plant names. The collection also includes partner-contributed reference works and primary sources, such as collectors’ correspondence and diaries, paintings, drawings, and photographs. The database is an essential resource for institutions supporting research and teaching in botany, ecology, and conservation studies.
  • Alumni Access Permitted
New
Please note: For off-campus access use the Virtual Private Network (VPN). For alumni, on-campus access only.

IncFact.org is an open-access platform for company research that provides comprehensive profiles on public and private companies in the U.S. Its research features revenues and revenue histories, growth rates, industry segments (i.e., NAICS definitions), and SWOT analysis on demand.
Please note: Due to COVID-19, and in support of the move to online learning, the publisher has temporarily removed the simultaneous user limit for this resource until December 31, 2020.

JSTOR Sustainability is a collection of academic and open policy research on environmental stresses and their impact on society. This collection was built in collaboration with librarians, scholars, and policy researchers, and looks at sustainability and resilience through a broad lens spanning more than 30 disciplines.
New
Latin American Women Writers is a searchable collection of prose, poetry, and drama composed by women writing in Mexico, Central America, and South America.
New
A collection of fiction, poetry, and plays that represent the Chicano culture and the different ethnicities of Latin American writers with a Hispanic background working in the United States. Most of the works are in English, with some in Spanish.
National Theatre Collection, a collaboration with the U.K.'s National Theatre, brings the stage to life through access to high definition streaming video of world-class productions and unique archival material offering significant insight into theatre and performance studies.
  • New Resource
New
PharmacyLibrary features APhA's authoritative textbooks, PharmacotherapyFirst, an interactive NAPLEX® review, Active Learning Exercises adaptable for a variety of educational settings, case studies, and information from a variety of news sources, on one searchable platform.
Please note: Simultaneous users = 3

The R2 Digital Library is an eBook platform for health science collections. It offers full text access to numerous medical, nursing, and allied health eBooks.
Please note: Due to COVID-19, and in support of the move to online learning, the publisher has provided temporary access to this resource until July 31, 2020.

Official daily of the government of Russia. The only publication authorized to be the first to publish new laws and executive enactments before they come into force.
Please note: Due to COVID-19, and in support of the move to online learning, the publisher has temporarily removed the simultaneous user limit for this resource until December 31, 2020.

Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa consists of more than 190,000 pages of documents and images, including periodicals, nationalist publications, records of colonial government commissions, local newspaper reports, personal papers, correspondence, UN documents, out-of-print and other particularly relevant books, oral histories, and speeches. The collection’s materials were selected with the guidance of national advisory committees consisting of leading scholars, archivists, and public intellectuals in the six countries, as well as scholars from outside the region.
New
Please note: Users can create a "My Research" account to save searches, documents, and citations (up to 4000). Citations can be exported up to 1000 at a time.

Database of working documents of the British government for all areas of social, political, economic, and foreign policy. It covers Bills, Reports of Royal Commissions, Reports of Select Committees, Accounts and Papers and other materials from the House of Commons and House of Lords.
Click Here for Mobile Access
Please Note:
Please use the Instructions for Off Campus download and activation for mobile access.


Visible Body: Human Anatomy Atlas is a 3D visualization and learning tool that includes over 5,000 interactive, medically accurate male and female anatomical structures covering systemic anatomy, regional anatomy, senses, muscle action, and 25 cross-sections.
However, this resource has some strict system requirements, these include:

  • this platform will only work on 64-bit Windows machines

  • this platform requires iOS 12.0 or later

  • this platform requires Android 5 or later

Please note: Due to COVID-19, and in support of the move to online learning, the publisher has temporarily removed the simultaneous user limit for this resource until December 31, 2020.

World Heritage Sites: Africa links visual, contextual, and spatial documentation of African heritage sites. The collection includes more than 57,000 objects including photographs, 3D models, GIS data, site plans, aerial and satellite photography, images of rock art, excavation reports, manuscripts, traveler’s accounts, historical and antiquarian maps, books, articles, and other scholarly research. The collection is made up of materials including the Heinz Rüther Collection from the University of Cape Town, the Kilwa Archive from the British Institute in Eastern Africa (BIEA), and the Smithsonian Heritage Collection.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...