Blog

This month's 5 on 5 is in honour of the World Health Organization’s World Prematurity Day on November 15, 2025. 

“World Prematurity Day is a global moment to raise awareness of the challenges and impact of preterm birth. The day shines a spotlight on the urgent need to improve care for babies born too soon while providing practical and emotional support for their families.

1. Canadian Paediatric Society. Preterm Birth Resources. 

2. Lall R, et al. Inequalities in preterm birth among immigrants to Canada by race and time since immigration: A population-based repeated cross-sectional study. International Journal of Gynecology & Obstetrics. 2025. 

3. Sherris A, et al. Wildfire-specific fine particulate matter and preterm birth: a US ECHO Cohort analysis. The Lancet Planetary Health. 2025.

4. Canadian Premature Babies Foundation, Our Kids Health. Preemies Hub.

“Introducing a new resource to share translated, adapted, evidence-based health information for preemie families.”

5. Association of Women’s Health Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses. Resources and Information.

“Essential tools and knowledge with Nurse Resources, Research & Evidence-based Practice, Practice Alerts, JOGNN and Nursing for Women’s Health, and the AWHONN Insights podcast. Find practical and clinical resources, the AWHONN Standards, and more.”

More resources can also be found on PubMed. 

Our September 5 on 5 has come in by request and looks at the impact of loneliness on health.

1. World Health Organization. Social Isolation and Loneliness.

"High-quality social connections are essential to our mental and physical health and our well-being. Social isolation and loneliness are important, yet neglected, social determinants for people of all ages – including older people.

Social isolation and loneliness are widespread, with around 16% of people worldwide – one in six – experiencing loneliness. While the latest estimates suggest that loneliness is most common among adolescents and younger people, people of all ages experience loneliness – including older people, with around 11.8% experiencing loneliness. A large body of research shows that social isolation and loneliness have a serious impact on physical and mental health, quality of life, and longevity."

2. Canadian Alliance for Social Connection and Health. Social Connection Guidelines.

"Like food and exercise, social connection is a fundamental determinant of our health, happiness, and longevity. Our recommended public health guidelines for social connection provide evidence-based guidance for fostering healthy social lives at the individual and community levels."

3. Canadian Mental Health Association. A way forward podcast blog series: Understanding Loneliness.

“What is loneliness? What does being lonely truly mean? And, how do we address it? Loneliness isn't about being alone but can also occur within social groups where people feel disconnected. In the seventh edition of A Way Forward Blog Podcast Blog Series, presented by Beem Credit Union, we explore the complexities of loneliness and its far-reaching effects. From Episode 7 - Loneliness of A Way Forward Podcast: Conversations on Mental Health.”

4. UBC Connects at Robson Square event presented on June 4, 2025 All the lonely people: The search for belonging in an uncertain world. 

"Make our world's smaller" is one of the messages from a University of British Columbia panel discussion on the epidemic of loneliness in our society and how to fix it. Social isolation is a public health risk with consequences for individuals, communities and for our social systems. This episode examines the issue from perspectives of men's and women's health, interpersonal relations, the climate change emergency and public policy.”

5. Systematic reviews on loneliness indexed in Pubmed.

1. Ontario Medical Association. Could you be burned out?

“The following resources will help you to assess various aspects of burnout and well-being, including professional fulfillment and quality of life, happiness, engagement and dimensions of distress. Use these tools to get a sense of where you are right now.”

2. Canadian Medical Association. Health Worker Burnout Toolkit.

“The Health Worker Burnout Toolkit includes evidence-informed strategies to improve mental health among health care workers. The toolkit includes resources for interventions at the system, organization, team and individual levels.”

3. College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario. Physician Wellness. 

Physician wellness content including: programs, services, information hubs, courses, activities and mindfulness resources.

4. Canadian Health Workforce Network (CHWN), the Mental Health Commission of Canada (MHCC), and the University of Ottawa (uOttawa). Psychological health and safety toolkit for primary care teams and training programs. 

“This toolkit aims to empower comprehensive primary care teams and training programs to promote psychological health and safety through a set of curated, evidence-informed resources focused on team-based activities, policies, and practices.”

5. Evidence-based resources from PubMed on Mindfulness and healthcare workers. 

Our July 5 on 5 has come in by request and looks at the impact of nature on health.

1. Ontario Psychological Association. The impact of nature on mental health.

An article that looks at the psychological benefits of nature and ecotherapy.

2. National Collaborating Centre for Indigenous Health. Healthy land, healthy people collection. 

“The Healthy Land, Healthy People Collection is a selective repository of resources that profile connections between land and health for Indigenous peoples, and the importance of these connections to attain the best possible health outcomes for First Nations, Inuit, and Métis peoples living in urban, rural, remote and northern communities across Canada. Health, well-being, and healing are closely tied to land-based experiences, cultural practices, artistic expressions, and Indigenous language use and revitalization. This collection includes specific information around these themes and their relationship to better health outcomes for Indigenous Peoples.”

3. Children Nature Network – Research Library

“The world’s largest collection of peer-reviewed literature about nature’s benefits for children”

4. World Health Organization. Improving health and well-being through nature.

“Nature plays a crucial role in human health and well-being. Exposure to natural environments has been linked to numerous physical and mental health benefits, including reduced stress, improved mood, enhanced cognitive function and lower risk of chronic diseases. Green spaces, forests and bodies of water provide opportunities for physical activity, social interaction and relaxation, all of which contribute to overall health.” 

5. For more evidence-based information PubMed has a number of additional resources on the impact of nature on health.

Happy Pride month!

In celebration of Pride MHIKNET has 5 places where you can find resources in support of 2SLGBTQIA+ health.

1. College of Family Physicians of Canada. CFPC Pride

"The CFPC recognizes the importance of offering sensitive, gender-affirming care to people in 2SLGBTQ+ communities. Many people from these communities face significant barriers when accessing primary care.

More than one million people in Canada identify as 2SLGBTQ+. It’s likely every family physician cares for one or more 2SLGBTQ+ patients in their practice. It’s important for family doctors to have easy access to appropriate resources to address the unique health needs of people in these communities."

2. Two-Spirited People of Manitoba Inc

"Our organization began in 1986 in Winnipeg, when a group of concerned community members came together to support each other and plan community events for our 2Spirit relatives. 

After many years of small-scale community support, we became a non-profit organization in September 2007.  Two-Spirited People of Manitoba is a community-based organization that focusses on helping 2Spirit & Indigenous LGBTQQIA+ holistically improve their circumstances. We currently do this by providing awareness workshops, advocating to prevent homo/trans phobia and other forms of discrimination, hosting community events, as well as collaborating and partnering with other organizations and initiatives to enhance their services."

3. National Resource Centre on 2SLGBTQI Aging

"The National Resource Centre on 2SLGBTQI Aging is a resource centre focused on the lived experiences of 2SLGBTQI older adults and aging issues in Canada. The site is a storehouse of information, research and resources for 2SLGBTQI older adults, their communities, and for those who provide social service and care to these groups.  

The information here is a compilation and distilling of cutting-edge research and resources, which spotlight current issues facing 2SLGBTQI older adults and their communities, thus creating opportunities for collaboration, consultation and engagement on these topics.  

The NRCA is a collaboration between Egale Canada and the National Institute on Ageing."

4. The ArQuives

"The ArQuives was established to aid in the recovery and preservation of our histories. Its mandate is to: Acquire, preserve, organize, and give public access to information and materials in any medium, by and about LGBTQ2+ people, primarily produced in or concerning Canada; and Maintain a research library, international research files, and an international collection of queer and trans periodicals.

The ArQuives is the largest independent LGBTQ2+ Archives in the world and since 1973 the only LGBTQ2+ archives in Canada with a national scope, read further about our history and mission."

5. A list of systematic reviews indexed in PubMed on 2SLGBTQIA+ 

Our April 5 on 5 comes in by request! 5 Resources for Menopause/Perimenopause care.

1. Pocket Guide Menopause Management: A practical tool for healthcare professionals summarizes guidelines from the Canadian Menopause Society, the International Menopause Society, the North American Menopause Society, and the Endocrine Society.
2. Menopause preparedness toolkit: A woman’s empowerment guide from The Society for Women’s Health Research.
3.  Menopauseandu.ca run by The Society of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists of Canada and has free resources for patients on menopause.
4. A list of Menopause guidelines indexed in PubMed.
5. British Menopause Society Resources for healthcare professionals.

In honour of International Women’s Day on March 8, 2025 we are showcasing information on women’s health.

1. Women’s health coalition “is a network of Women who have faced health challenges, Professionals who care for women, People who care about women and women's health, Businesses and Associations engaged to address women's health.”

Past webinars

Clinical Resources

2. The Society of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists of Canada.

Resources for Healthcare Professionals

Public Resources

Women’s Health Podcast

3. Women’s Health Research Cluster.

“The Women’s Health Research Cluster is an international multidisciplinary network of researchers, clinicians, community partners and trainees that work together to advance the health outcomes of girls and women worldwide. Throughout our platforms, we use the terms female/male to indicate biological sex, and we use women/men to encompass the terms sex and gender.”

Women’s Health Interrupted Podcast.

4. Centre of Excellence for Women’s Health “The Centre of Excellence for Women’s Health is focused on improving girls' and women’s health and increasing gender equity, through applying SGBA+ and gender transformative approaches, and advancing sex and gender science.”

Publications

Webinars & Courses

5. From First Period to Last Period “co-hosted by Rescripted Co-Founder Kristyn Hodgdon and Fertility Specialist Dr. Jenna Kahn, is a science-backed health and wellness podcast dedicated to shining a light on the women’s health topics that matter most – from periods and fertility to pregnancy and menopause.”

Our February 5 on 5 comes in this month by request with 5 resources on Kidney Health.

1. Canadian Journal of Kidney Health and Disease - the official journal of the Canadian Society of Nephrology, is an open access, peer-reviewed online journal. 
2. Kidney Community Kitchen - From the Kidney Foundation information and tools to help you manage your renal diet.
3. BC Renal Health Professional Resources - Clinical, Professional and patient resources.
4. Alberta Health Services. Chronic Kidney Disease in Diabetes Mellitus 2 (CKD in DM2) Primary Care [Team] Pathway for Optimizing Kidney and Cardiovascular Outcomes: For use in Stable Ambulatory Patients over 18 years of age. 2024. 
5. MERCK Manual – Treatment of Chronic Kidney Disease 

For the month of November we have 5 resources for Respiratory Health!

1. Canadian Journal of Respiratory Therapy.

The CJRT is a peer-reviewed, open-access journal owned and published by the Canadian Society of Respiratory Therapists (CSRT), published continuously since 1965.

2. Canadian Thoracic Society. Guideline Library.

3. Chronic respiratory disease in Indigenous peoples: a framework to address inequity and strengthen respiratory health and health care globally. Please request the full-text from mhiknet@umanitoba.ca

Indigenous peoples around the world bear a disproportionate burden of chronic respiratory diseases, which are associated with increased risks of morbidity and mortality. Despite the imperative to address global inequity, research focused on strengthening respiratory health in Indigenous peoples is lacking, particularly in low-income and middle-income countries. Drivers of the increased rates and severity of chronic respiratory diseases in Indigenous peoples include a high prevalence of risk factors (eg, prematurity, low birthweight, poor nutrition, air pollution, high burden of infections, and poverty) and poor access to appropriate diagnosis and care, which might be linked to colonisation and historical and current systemic racism. Efforts to tackle this disproportionate burden of chronic respiratory diseases must include both global approaches to address contributing factors, including decolonisation of health care and research, and local approaches, co-designed with Indigenous people, to ensure the provision of culturally strengthened care with more equitable prioritisation of resources. Here, we review evidence on the burden of chronic respiratory diseases in Indigenous peoples globally, summarise factors that underlie health disparities between Indigenous and non-Indigenous people, propose a framework of approaches to improve the respiratory health of Indigenous peoples, and outline future directions for clinical care and research.

4. Machealth. Radon.

Radon is the second leading cause of lung cancer after smoking and is linked to 3,000+ deaths annually. For those who smoke, the lung cancer risk is increased. All homes in Canada have some level of radon – a colourless, odourless, radioactive gas. What matters is how much. Simple home testing and reducing high levels are the key to risk reduction.
Be prepared to discuss the health risks of radon with your patients. Take this free, 15-minute self-paced course designed for primary care providers, specialists, other allied health professionals, and health professions trainees, and access patient and provider resources.

5. NIH. Lung Health Resources.
Learn how the lungs work and how to keep them healthy, and find resources for living with lung conditions such as asthma, COPD, and more.

In support of Breast Cancer Awareness month, here are 5 places to find patient and professional resources on breast cancer.

1. NIH. Breast Cancer – Patient Version – Health Professional Version

2. Systematic Reviews and Guidelines published in the last 5 years on Breast Neoplasms

3. National Comprehensive Cancer Network. NCCN Guidelines – Breast Cancer.

4. Canadian Breast Cancer Network. Publications & Resources.

5. CDC Cancer. Breast Cancer Awareness.