/

The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More

Territory acknowledgement

Current students
Faculty and staff
Alumni
Email
News and events

Admissions
Academics
Research
Student Supports
Community
About U of M

Current students
Faculty and staff
Alumni
Email
News and events

Libraries
LibGuides
Blogs
Blog

Blog

Showing 1 of 1 Results

5 on 5 Kidney Health

02/05/2025

Gail Matheson

No Subjects

Our February 5 on 5 comes in this month by request with 5 resources on Kidney Health.

Canadian Journal of Kidney Health and Disease - the official journal of the Canadian Society of Nephrology, is an open access, peer-reviewed online journal.
Kidney Community Kitchen - From the Kidney Foundation information and tools to help you manage your renal diet.
BC Renal Health Professional Resources - Clinical, Professional and patient resources.
Alberta Health Services. Chronic Kidney Disease in Diabetes Mellitus 2 (CKD in DM2) Primary Care [Team] Pathway for Optimizing Kidney and Cardiovascular Outcomes: For use in Stable Ambulatory Patients over 18 years of age. 2024.
MERCK Manual – Treatment of Chronic Kidney Disease

Back to MHIKNET

Search Blog

Subjects

No Subjects...

Tags

No Tags...

By Month

September 2025

1

August 2025

1

July 2025

1

June 2025

1

April 2025

1

March 2025

1

February 2025

1

November 2024

1

October 2024

1

September 2024

1

August 2024

1

June 2024

1

May 2024

1

April 2024

1

February 2024

1

December 2023

1

See more...

Recent Posts

5 on 5: Loneliness

Our September 5 on 5 has come in by request and looks at the impact of loneliness on health. 1. World Health Organization. Social Isolation and Loneliness. "High-quality social connections are essential to our mental and physical health and our well-being. Social isolation and loneliness are important, yet neglected, social determinants for people of all ages – including older people. Social isolation and loneliness are widespread, with around 16% of people worldwide – one in six – experiencing loneliness. While the latest estimates suggest that loneliness is most common among adolescents and younger people, people of all ages experience loneliness – including older people, with around 11.8% experiencing loneliness. A large body of research shows that social isolation and loneliness have a serious impact on physical and mental health, quality of life, and longevity." 2. Canadian Alliance for Social Connection and Health. Social Connection Guidelines. "Like food and exercise, social connection is a fundamental determinant of our health, happiness, and longevity. Our recommended public health guidelines for social connection provide evidence-based guidance for fostering healthy social lives at the individual and community levels." 3. Canadian Mental Health Association. A way forward podcast blog series: Understanding Loneliness. “What is loneliness? What does being lonely truly mean? And, how do we address it? Loneliness isn't about being alone but can also occur within social groups where people feel disconnected. In the seventh edition of A Way Forward Blog Podcast Blog Series, presented by Beem Credit Union, we explore the complexities of loneliness and its far-reaching effects. From Episode 7 - Loneliness of A Way Forward Podcast: Conversations on Mental Health.” 4. UBC Connects at Robson Square event presented on June 4, 2025 All the lonely people: The search for belonging in an uncertain world. "Make our world's smaller" is one of the messages from a University of British Columbia panel discussion on the epidemic of loneliness in our society and how to fix it. Social isolation is a public health risk with consequences for individuals, communities and for our social systems. This episode examines the issue from perspectives of men's and women's health, interpersonal relations, the climate change emergency and public policy.” 5. Systematic reviews on loneliness indexed in Pubmed. ...

5 on 5: Health Worker Burnout

1. Ontario Medical Association. Could you be burned out? “The following resources will help you to assess various aspects of burnout and well-being, including professional fulfillment and quality of life, happiness, engagement and dimensions of distress. Use these tools to get a sense of where you are right now.” 2. Canadian Medical Association. Health Worker Burnout Toolkit. “The Health Worker Burnout Toolkit includes evidence-informed strategies to improve mental health among health care workers. The toolkit includes resources for interventions at the system, organization, team and individual levels.” 3. College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario. Physician Wellness. Physician wellness content including: programs, services, information hubs, courses, activities and mindfulness resources. 4. Canadian Health Workforce Network (CHWN), the Mental Health Commission of Canada (MHCC), and the University of Ottawa (uOttawa). Psychological health and safety toolkit for primary care teams and training programs. “This toolkit aims to empower comprehensive primary care teams and training programs to promote psychological health and safety through a set of curated, evidence-informed resources focused on team-based activities, policies, and practices.” 5. Evidence-based resources from PubMed on Mindfulness and healthcare workers. ...

5 on 5: Nature and Health

Our July 5 on 5 has come in by request and looks at the impact of nature on health. 1. Ontario Psychological Association. The impact of nature on mental health. An article that looks at the psychological benefits of nature and ecotherapy. 2. National Collaborating Centre for Indigenous Health. Healthy land, healthy people collection. “The Healthy Land, Healthy People Collection is a selective repository of resources that profile connections between land and health for Indigenous peoples, and the importance of these connections to attain the best possible health outcomes for First Nations, Inuit, and Métis peoples living in urban, rural, remote and northern communities across Canada. Health, well-being, and healing are closely tied to land-based experiences, cultural practices, artistic expressions, and Indigenous language use and revitalization. This collection includes specific information around these themes and their relationship to better health outcomes for Indigenous Peoples.” 3. Children Nature Network – Research Library “The world’s largest collection of peer-reviewed literature about nature’s benefits for children” 4. World Health Organization. Improving health and well-being through nature. “Nature plays a crucial role in human health and well-being. Exposure to natural environments has been linked to numerous physical and mental health benefits, including reduced stress, improved mood, enhanced cognitive function and lower risk of chronic diseases. Green spaces, forests and bodies of water provide opportunities for physical activity, social interaction and relaxation, all of which contribute to overall health.” 5. For more evidence-based information PubMed has a number of additional resources on the impact of nature on health. ...

5 on 5: 2SLGBTQIA+ Health

Happy Pride month! In celebration of Pride MHIKNET has 5 places where you can find resources in support of 2SLGBTQIA+ health. 1. College of Family Physicians of Canada. CFPC Pride "The CFPC recognizes the importance of offering sensitive, gender-affirming care to people in 2SLGBTQ+ communities. Many people from these communities face significant barriers when accessing primary care. More than one million people in Canada identify as 2SLGBTQ+. It’s likely every family physician cares for one or more 2SLGBTQ+ patients in their practice. It’s important for family doctors to have easy access to appropriate resources to address the unique health needs of people in these communities." 2. Two-Spirited People of Manitoba Inc "Our organization began in 1986 in Winnipeg, when a group of concerned community members came together to support each other and plan community events for our 2Spirit relatives. After many years of small-scale community support, we became a non-profit organization in September 2007. Two-Spirited People of Manitoba is a community-based organization that focusses on helping 2Spirit & Indigenous LGBTQQIA+ holistically improve their circumstances. We currently do this by providing awareness workshops, advocating to prevent homo/trans phobia and other forms of discrimination, hosting community events, as well as collaborating and partnering with other organizations and initiatives to enhance their services." 3. National Resource Centre on 2SLGBTQI Aging "The National Resource Centre on 2SLGBTQI Aging is a resource centre focused on the lived experiences of 2SLGBTQI older adults and aging issues in Canada. The site is a storehouse of information, research and resources for 2SLGBTQI older adults, their communities, and for those who provide social service and care to these groups. The information here is a compilation and distilling of cutting-edge research and resources, which spotlight current issues facing 2SLGBTQI older adults and their communities, thus creating opportunities for collaboration, consultation and engagement on these topics. The NRCA is a collaboration between Egale Canada and the National Institute on Ageing." 4. The ArQuives "The ArQuives was established to aid in the recovery and preservation of our histories. Its mandate is to: Acquire, preserve, organize, and give public access to information and materials in any medium, by and about LGBTQ2+ people, primarily produced in or concerning Canada; and Maintain a research library, international research files, and an international collection of queer and trans periodicals. The ArQuives is the largest independent LGBTQ2+ Archives in the world and since 1973 the only LGBTQ2+ archives in Canada with a national scope, read further about our history and mission." 5. A list of systematic reviews indexed in PubMed on 2SLGBTQIA+ ...

Subscribe

Stay tuned with our latest news! Subscribe now and get notified when a new post is uploaded.

Email

Provided email address is invalid.

Comment

Field is required.

Powered by Springshare.

All rights reserved.

Login to LibApps

Report a problem.

Conditions of Access: https://umanitoba.ca/libraries/conditions-access