Skip to main content

HMEC 2030W - 2011 Summer Session: Annotated Bibliography

Key resources to work on Paper #1, #2, & #3 of the course.

Online Assignment #3

Online Assignment #3

Assignment #3 consists of two parts.

Part 1:

Post your draft annotated bibliography (at least 3 sources included) in Angel.  Post it by clicking on the "Communicate" and "Post Your Draft / Working Annotated Bibliography" tabs.

Submission Format: Type in subject line, "XXXX's Submission," where XXXX is your first name.

 Due Date: May 13, 2011

 

Part 2:

Skim through your classmates' posts and comment on just two example bibliographies.  Your comments should focus on what you have learned from them as examples of an effective annotated bibliography. (For example, will the sources that your colleagues found be helpful for writing the paper? Do the annotations show how your colleagues will use the sources in their papers?)   

Simply "reply" to the posts on which you are commenting.

Due Date: May 16, 2011

What is an Annotated Bibliography?

What is an Annotated Bibliography?

An annotaetd bibliography is a list of sources (books, journal articles, or any other information sources).  The basic unit of information for an annotated bibliography is the reference/citation of the source you selected and a brief summary indicating the significance of the source.  When you are compiling one, you will pay attention to both the form and the content.

FORM:

Below is an example of anotatedy bibliography with two sources in APA style.  Note that a citation and paragraph is indented in APA. APA Style also uses double spacing throughout the bibliography.


Source: Schira, R. (2011).  Sample APA Annotation.  Retrieved Date: May 1, 2011.  From: http://libguides.brandonu.ca/content.php?pid=26571&sid=197586

 

CONTENT:

The reason for compiling an annotated bibliography varies depending on the nature of the project you are working.  If you are compiling for a course assignment, it's best to clarify the purpose or requirements of the annoated bibliography with your instructor.

For this course, it's part of the exercise to strategically incoporate relevant sources to build your argument in the paper.  You will, therefore, add a paragraph in which you include jist of the source you selected and why it is relevant to your paper, right after the citation of the source.

Please refer to the following sources to explore other reasons for which you might compile an annotated bibliography.

References:

Knott, D., & University of Toronto (n.d.)  Writing an Annotated Bibliography.  Retrieved: May 1, 2011.  From: http://www.writing.utoronto.ca/advice/specific-types-of-writing/annotated-bibliography

Schira, R. (2011). Annotated Bibliographies. Retrieved: May 1, 2011.  From: http://libguides.brandonu.ca/annotated

Purdue Online Writing Lab (2010).  Annotated Bibliographies.  Retrieved: May 1, 2011. From: http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/614/01/

Purdue Online Writing Lab (2010).  Annotated Bibliography Example.  Retrieved: May 1, 2011.  From: http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/614/02/