Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Languages of Native North America by
Publication Date: 1999
This book provides an authoritative survey of the several hundred languages indigenous to North America. These languages show tremendous genetic and typological diversity, and offer numerous challenges to current linguistic theory. Part I of the book provides an overview of structural features of particular interest, concentrating on those that are cross-linguistically unusual or unusually well developed. These include syllable structure, vowel and consonant harmony, tone, and sound symbolism; polysynthesis, the nature of roots and affixes, incorporation, and morpheme order; case; grammatical distinctions of number, gender, shape, control, location, means, manner, time, empathy, and evidence; and distinctions between nouns and verbs, predicates and arguments, and simple and complex sentences; and special speech styles. Part II catalogues the languages by family, listing the location of each language, its genetic affiliation, number of speakers, major published literature, and structural highlights. Finally, there is a catalogue of languages that have evolved in contact situations.
American Indian Languages by
Publication Date: 1997
Native American languages are spoken from Siberia to Greenland, and from the Arctic to Tierra del Fuego. Campbell's project is to take stock of what is currently known about the history of Native American languages and in the process examine the state of American Indian historical linguistics, and the success and failure of its various methodologies.
Lexical Acculturation in Native American Languages by
Publication Date: 1999
Lexical acculturation refers to the accommodation of languages to new objects and concepts encountered as the result of culture contact. This unique study analyzes a survey of words for 77 items of European culture in the vocabularies of 292 Amerindian languages and dialects. Brown's work provides fresh insights into general processes of lexical change and development, including those involving language universals and diffusion.
Indigenous Youth and Multilingualism by
Publication Date: 2013
Bridging the fields of youth studies and language planning and policy, this book takes a close, nuanced look at Indigenous youth bi/multilingualism across diverse cultural and linguistic settings, drawing out comparisons, contrasts, and important implications for language planning and policy and for projects designed to curtail language loss. Indigenous and non-Indigenous scholars with longstanding ties to language planning efforts in diverse Indigenous communities examine language policy and planning as de facto and de jure - as covert and overt, bottom-up and top-down. This approach illuminates crosscutting themes of language identity and ideology, cultural conflict, and linguistic human rights as youth negotiate these issues within rapidly changing sociolinguistic contexts. A distinctive feature of the book is its chapters and commentaries by Indigenous scholars writing about their own communities. This landmark volume stands alone in offering a look at diverse Indigenous youth in multiple endangered language communities, new theoretical, empirical, and methodological insights, and lessons for intergenerational language planning in dynamic sociocultural contexts.
Shea's Library of American Linguistics, a series of 19th century surveys and dictionaries of Native American language groups, are held either in microform or in print format in Dafoe Library. Click here to view titles in this series - titles in this series have "Related Titles: Series: Shea's library of American linguistics, X" in the Details tab.
Indigenous Studies Portal—Language, University of Saskatchewan Library
The Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) is a database of full-text electronic resources such as books, articles, theses and documents as well as digitized materials such as photographs, archival resources, maps, etc. focusing primarily on First Nations and Aboriginals of Canada with a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond. Anyone can use the freely available materials in the iPortal, but some resources are licensed and may be available from University of Manitoba Libraries.
FirstVoices is a suite of web-based tools and services designed to support Aboriginal people engaged in language archiving, language teaching & culture revitalization. The FirstVoices Language Archive contains thousands of text entries in many diverse Aboriginal writing systems, enhanced with sounds, pictures and videos.
Cree Literacy Network
The Cree Literacy Network was created in 2010 to promote Cree language and cultural literacy, through the publication of literacy materials (in Cree and English) that use Standard Roman Orthography for writing Cree.
Aboriginal Languages—Language Learning
Teachers and learners will find courses, exercises, phrase books, sound files and other resources for learning Aboriginal languages through the Language Portal of Canada.
Site for Language Management in Canada—Native Peoples and Languages
Published by the University of Ottawa, this webpage contains statistical information on Indigenous languages and speakers in Canada.
Native Languages of the Americas
A compendium of online materials about more than 800 indigenous languages of the Western Hemisphere and the people that speak them.
Interactive ALR (American Language Reprint) This link opens in a new window
A searchable database of early Native American vocabularies. The Interactive ALR is an online resource for the comparative study of Native American languages. Built from the ever-expanding catalog of the American Language Reprint (ALR) series, The Interactive ALR puts a growing 12,000 word linguistic database and search capabilities into the hands of scholars, allowing for comparison of dozens of historical vocabularies. It represents 400 years of linguistic data, and over 40 languages scattered throughout more than 70 different documents.
The Cree Language Resource Project (CLRP) dictionary will have the ability to translate words from English to Cree in Syllabics and Roman Orthography (Cree written in English) with explanation of how it fits in a sentence. The translated word will be associated with a picture, sound and a video clip. The online dictionary will have the ability to accommodate different regional Cree dialects.
Aboriginal Languages—Glossaries and Dictionaries
Find definitions and equivalent terms in languages such as Inuktitut, Mushuau, Sheshatshiu, Cree, and Innu through the Language Portal of Canada.
Algonquian Linguistic Atlas
The Algonquian Linguistic Atlas allows you to listen to various phrases spoken in many different Algonquian languages like Cree, Innu, Ojibwe, etc.
Words of the Elders: Saving Aboriginal Languages
Arvid Charlie is among the last generation raised speaking Hul'qumi'num, the Coast Salish language. This documentary demonstrates how First Nations communities are struggling to preserve their language and culture.
First Speakers: Restoring the Ojibwe Language
Minnesota’s Ojibwe language is endangered. Now a new generation of Ojibwe scholars and educators are racing against time to save the language.
This short documentary tells the story of Marie Wilcox, the last fluent speaker of the Wukchumni language and the dictionary she created in an effort to keep her language alive.
The Oblates of Western Canada fonds
Located in the UM Archives, the fonds consists of photocopies of rare manuscripts, dictionaries, grammars, vocabularies, and other studies dealing with several North American Aboriginal languages, including the following: Algonquin, Cree, Chipewyan, Saulteaux, Ojibwa, Assiniboine, Dakota, Siksika, and Blackfoot.